skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1868::06 in date [X]
47 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3  Next

From Henry Baker Tristram   6 June 1868

Summary

Will answer CD’s queries when he returns home in a month.

Author:  Henry Baker Tristram
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 178: 193
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6234

To Bibliographisches Institut, Hildburghausen   8 June 1868

Summary

Discusses possible English translation of A. E. Brehm’s [Illustrirtes] Thierleben [1864–9].

Asks for permission to use 15 of Brehm’s illustrations [in Descent].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bibliogr. Inst. Hildburghausen
Date:  8 June 1868
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.351)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6235

To B. D. Walsh   9 June 1868

Summary

Thanks BDW for new facts about Anthocaris [see 6156].

Asks BDW to observe stridulation apparatus in male and female lamellicorns.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Date:  9 June 1868
Classmark:  Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago (Walsh 13)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6236

From W. S. Dallas   9 June 1868

Summary

F. Müller’s corrections warrant stating that the English translation has "additions and corrections by the author".

Is gratified to hear his index [to Variation] is considered a good one.

Ernst Haeckel’s book [Generelle Morphologie (1868)], though speculative, strikes him as "one of the most remarkable books of our time".

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 21
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6238

To T. H. Huxley   10 June 1868

Summary

W. S. Dallas asks whether Ray Society would publish translation of Haeckel’s Generelle morphologie. If THH thinks suggestion good, he might make inquiries.

Family news.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  10 June 1868
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Dawson 110)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6239

From John Wright   11 June 1868

Summary

Preference of females for particular males certainly exists occasionally.

On the proportion of males to females in horses and in dogs.

Author:  John Wright
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 83: 163–4, DAR 85: B38, DAR 86: A95–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6240

From J. B. Innes   13 June 1868

Summary

Writes about difficulties in which S. J. O. Horsman, curate at Down, has involved himself and others. Horsman has said he would resign. JBI offers to give up his interests in the living at Down.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 167: 16
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6241

To J. B. Innes   15 June [1868]

Summary

CD writes in detail about difficulties with Horsman’s financial accounts and the affairs of the parish.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  15 June [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6242

To J. D. Hooker   15 [June 1868]

Summary

Sends second lot of grass grown from locust dung pellets from Natal.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  15 [June 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 71
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6243

From W. B. Dawkins   15 June 1868

Summary

Variation in recent leonine skeletons.

Miocene fauna of Europe.

Author:  William Boyd Dawkins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 121
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6244

To John Lubbock   15 June [1868]

Summary

Has been looking at the school accounts. Has any interest been paid to S. J. O’H. Horsman this year? CD will keep accounts temporarily; he has not yet received from Horsman the balance in hand from last year.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  15 June [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 120
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6245

From J. D. Hooker   16 June 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Will get name of grass [see 6243] from Gen. William Munro.

Has heard from Charles Wheatstone that CD has Prussian Order of Merit. Rejoices because it is the only distinction worth a fig.

Went to Handel festival; heard Messiah.

Went to poor old N. B. Ward’s funeral.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 216–17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6247

To J. D. Hooker   17 [June 1868]

Summary

On Pour le Mérite; JDH has made him think more highly of it.

Messiah is the one thing he would like to hear again, but thinks his soul might be too dried up now to appreciate it. Sometimes hates science for making him "a withered leaf" for everything else.

Frank [Darwin] now doing botany seriously.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  17 [June 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 72–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6248

From Fritz Müller   17 June 1868

Summary

Again thanks CD for trouble in arranging for translation of Für Darwin.

Sends addition answering critics of his idea of insect metamorphosis [see Möller ed. 1915–21, 1: 259].

Agrees with Charles Lyell’s suggested English title "Facts and arguments in favor of Darwin", although perhaps more accurate to call it "Darwinism tested by Carcinology" or "Carcinology as bearing on the origin of species".

Says any profit should go to CD for his trouble and expense with the translation.

Thanks for seeds of Eschscholtzia.

Gives observations on number of climbing plants, including Dilleniacea, Marantacea, Catasetum.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 June 1868
Classmark:  Möller 1915–21, 2: 141–3; W. S. Dallas trans. 1869, pp. 119–21 n.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6248A

From J. J. Weir   [before 18 June 1868]

thumbnail

Summary

Coloration of linnets.

Sexual behaviour of black hen bullfinch.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 18 June 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 141–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6249

To J. J. Weir   18 June [1868]

Summary

CD thanks JJW for letter about the crimson breast of linnets

and the fate of a pugnacious female bullfinch.

Refers to JJW’s pointing out the number of Jenners and Weirs who have been naturalists, and cites some writings by men of those families about striking cases of birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Jenner Weir
Date:  18 June [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6250

From J. B. Innes   18 June [1868]

Summary

Further discussion of the difficulties with S. J. O’H. Horsman [curate at Down].

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 June [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 167: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6251

From John Lubbock   19 June [1868]

Summary

JL’s Royal Institution lectures.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 June [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 64
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6252

From Osbert Salvin   20 June 1868

Summary

Shot a sandpiper in Norway, the hind toe of which was clasped by a freshwater bivalve.

Sends replies to CD’s queries about sex ratios in humming-birds.

Author:  Osbert Salvin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 18, DAR 205.3: 288 (Letters), DAR 84.2: 79-82, 85–6, DAR 86: C22, C24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6253

From J. D. Hooker   22 June 1868

thumbnail

Summary

The grass [see 6243] is Sporobolus elongatus, common in the tropics.

Visit to Oxford with X Club.

On his forthcoming address.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 218–19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6254
Document type
letter (47)
Date
1868
06
01 (4)
02 (2)
03 (4)
04 (4)
05 (3)
06 (2)
08 (2)
09 (3)
10 (1)
11 (1)
13 (1)
15 (4)
16 (1)
17 (2)
18 (3)
19 (2)
20 (1)
22 (4)
23 (2)
24 (1)
Page: Prev  1 2 3  Next
letter