skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1868::01 in date [X]
67 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4  Next

From Charlotte Maria Cooper Darwin   25 January [1868]

Summary

Expresses her pleasure at seeing George Darwin’s name as Second Wrangler.

Author:  Charlotte Maria Cooper Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 99: 34–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5799

To Francis Galton   25 January [1868?]

Summary

FG’s congratulations [on publication of Variation] have given CD pleasure.

Trusts that FG is well again.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Galton
Date:  25 Jan [1868?]
Classmark:  UCL Library Services, Special Collections (GALTON/1/1/9/5/7/7)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5800

From Henry Bonham-Carter   26 January 1868

Summary

Congratulates CD on George’s success at Cambridge.

Author:  Henry (Carter, Henry Bonham) Bonham-Carter
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 245
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5801

From John Maurice Herbert   26 January 1868

Summary

Congratulates CD on George’s success.

Author:  John Maurice Herbert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 166: 185
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5802

To Benjamin Dann Walsh   27 January [1868]

Summary

Is sending a copy of Variation [to be published in a few days]. It cost more labour than it is worth.

George Darwin is Second Wrangler.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Date:  27 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5803

To J. D. Hooker   27 [January 1868]

Summary

Grieved by Wollaston’s troubles. Offers contribution of £100. "How foolish men are in their investments."

Delight about George’s success.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  27 [Jan 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 41–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5804

From Henry Holland   27 January [1868]

Summary

Congratulations on George Darwin’s success at Cambridge.

Has still not discovered the author of "Darwinian theory examined".

Author:  Henry Holland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 248
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5805

From Edward Cresy   27 January 1868

Summary

Congratulations on George’s being Second Wrangler at Cambridge.

Author:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 250
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5806

From J. D. Hooker   28 January 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Wollaston’s situation hopeless; he must go to Boulogne or Jersey to live. A friend will keep his collection and books together.

JDH’s opinion of Wollaston’s Coleoptera Hesperidum [1867].

Cannot read Duke of Argyll.

CD’s view of Asa Gray as foreign member of Royal Society; compares him to Candolle.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 189–190
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5807

To Julius von Haast   28 January [1868]

Summary

Thanks JvH for J. Stack’s answers [to queries about expression]. Though few, they are the best and clearest he has received. Sends a corrected printed version of queries.

Belatedly thanks JvH for his splendid report on glaciers [missing].

CD lives "in constant state of overwork and fatigue".

Everyone astonished by Dinornis photos.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Francis Julius (Julius) von Haast
Date:  28 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (Haast family papers, MS-Papers-0037-051-3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5808

From Julius Victor Carus   28 January 1868

Summary

Queries concerned with translating vol. 2 of Variation.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 66
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5809

From Alfred Newton   29 January 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks CD for present [of Variation].

Congratulates CD on success of his son George in mathematical tripos.

Author:  Alfred Newton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 186: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5810

From Alexander F. Boardman   29 January 1868

Summary

Gives his speculative thoughts on geographical, political, and biological factors in the origin and development of human races.

Author:  Alex F Boardman
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 228
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5811

From James Paget   29 January 1868

Summary

Thanks for Variation. Expects to be made more ashamed by his ignorance of the "influence of inheritance on the variations and mixtures of disease".

Author:  James Paget, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 174: 7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5812

To Edward Cresy   29 January [1868]

Summary

Thanks for note about George Darwin’s gaining Second Wrangler.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  29 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 326
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5813

From Thomas Henry Huxley   [before 30 January 1868]

Summary

Congratulations on George’s attaining Second Wrangler.

Variation has just arrived. Wishes he had two heads or a body that needed no rest.

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 30 Jan 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 313
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5814

To J. M. Herbert   30 January [1868]

Summary

Thanks JMH for his congratulations.

Recalls gift of microscope [from JMH in 1831]. [See 99].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Maurice Herbert
Date:  30 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.344)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5815

To Fritz Müller   30 January [1868]

Summary

Sends Variation and would like to hear what FM thinks of Pangenesis.

Thanks for information on expression.

Dimorphic plants;

differences in seed production in cross- and self-fertilised plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  30 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 20)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5816

To T. H. Huxley   30 January [1868]

Summary

Thanks for congratulations.

Doubts THH’s response to Pangenesis will give him pleasure. "Oh Lord what a blowing up I may receive."

Still thinks THH has been too "sharp sighted" on hybridism.

Sends Mrs Huxley Queries about expression.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  30 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5817

From John Lubbock   30 January 1868

Summary

Many thanks for the book [Variation].

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 170: 61
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5818
Document type
letter (67)
Date
1868
01
01 (5)
02 (3)
03 (1)
04 (1)
05 (2)
06 (3)
08 (4)
09 (1)
10 (2)
11 (1)
13 (1)
14 (2)
15 (2)
16 (2)
20 (1)
21 (2)
23 (1)
24 (3)
25 (3)
26 (3)
27 (4)
28 (3)
29 (4)
30 (6)
31 (7)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4  Next
letter