skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1867 in date [X]
429 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Carl Vogt   7 August [1867]

Summary

Thanks for CV’s Mémoire sur les microcéphales [1867]. Curious how CD and CV have come to similar conclusions about atavism.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Vogt
Date:  7 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms fr. 2188, ff. 302–3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5600

To William Bowman   7 August [1867]

Summary

Thanks for reply to queries. Spectroscope an instance of unimagined glorious prospects of science.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bowman, 1st baronet
Date:  7 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 10 (EH 88206062)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5601

From Seth Sutton    8 August 1867

Summary

Reports observations, as requested by CD, on expression in chimpanzees and orangs at Zoological Garden, London [see Expression, p. 95].

Author:  S Sutton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 177: 322
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5602

To Asa Gray   8 August [1867]

Summary

Thanks AG for sending W. M. Canby’s letter on Dionaea. Although already familiar with the facts concerning the secretions, the letter "fires me up to complete and publish on Drosera, Dionæa, etc."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  8 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  J. L. Gray ed. 1893, 2: 557
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5602A

To B. D. Walsh   9 August [1867]

Summary

Is not sure he thinks so much of BDW’s argument in his last paper as of some others he advanced. Is BDW sure Lucanidae use jaws for holding female in copulation rather than for fighting other males?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Date:  9 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago (Walsh 15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5603

From Andrew Murray   12 August 1867

Summary

He is planning a new journal to replace Natural History Review. Unlike the old one, it would be confined to reviews and would include an index of works on travel.

Author:  Andrew Dickson (Andrew) Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 171: 328
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5604

To Fritz Müller   15 August [1867]

Summary

Queries about expressions in crying monkeys.

Has received letter from Hermann Müller on orchid fertilisation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  15 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 18)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5605

From George Henslow   15 August 1867

Summary

Proposes writing a note for Linnean Society ["Note on the structure of Genista tinctoria", J. Proc. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 10 (1869): 468], in part using information CD gave him at Down.

Author:  George Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 166: 163
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5606

From B. J. Sulivan   16 August [1867]

Summary

Discusses a rare shell found by BJS on the Beagle voyage, an account of which has just been written by Davidson [possibly in Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 3d ser. 20 (1867): 81–3].

Author:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 289
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5607

To Hermann Müller   16 August [1867]

Summary

Made aware by Asa Gray of error with respect to Cypripedium. Does not doubt it is self-fertilised.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Date:  16 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 429, Krause 1884
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5608

From J. D. Hooker   17 August 1867

thumbnail

Summary

His opinion of two novels: Mary Barton and North and south [both by Mrs Gaskell].

Sends R. O. Cunningham’s letters.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 174–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5609

From William Angus Knight   20 August 1867

Summary

Offers CD a room for his forthcoming visit to the BAAS meeting at Dundee.

Author:  William Angus Knight
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 169: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5610

To Edouard Bornet   20 August [1867]

Summary

Thanks JBEB for seeds of Draba which he will sow next year.

Describes the results of some crossing experiments with Papaver.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean-Baptiste-Édouard (Édouard) Bornet
Date:  20 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  Muséum national d’histoire naturelle, Bibliothèque de Botanique, Paris (Ms CRY 501, fol. 388)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5611

To Charles Lyell   22 August [1867]

Summary

Thanks CL for comments [on Variation].

Thinks Pangenesis would be important step in biology if admitted as probable.

Introduction to French edition [of Origin] has injured the book.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  22 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.332)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5612

From William Boyd Dawkins   22 August 1867

Summary

On the breeding out of horns in Galloway cattle.

Has a finely graded series linking the dentition of the rhinoceros with that of the Palaeotherium of the Eocene.

Author:  William Boyd Dawkins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 162: 117
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5614

To Cassell, Petter, & Galpin   24 August [1867]

Summary

Letter recommending V. O. Kovalevsky to a publisher.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Cassell, Petter, & Galpin
Date:  24 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.333)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5615

From Thomas Wright   24 August 1867

Summary

Discusses coral reefs and sends CD his paper on "Coral reefs present and past" [Cotteswold Club Proc. 4 (1868): 60–74].

Author:  Thomas Wright
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 181: 179
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5616

To W. B. Dawkins   26 August [1867]

Summary

Thanks for information on Galloway cattle. [See 5614.]

Interested in WBD’s work on descent of the rhinoceros; is pleased to learn that he does not consider species to be immutable.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Boyd Dawkins
Date:  26 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 249: 79
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5616A

To J. P. M. Weale   27 August [1867]

Summary

CD finds the case of Muraltia with irritable stamens curious.

Thanks JPMW for his help with expression queries and would be grateful for any more information. Believes the action of the so-called "grief muscles" is a result of combined action of two muscles.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Date:  27 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  University of Virginia Library, Special Collections (3314 1: 48)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5617

From W. B. Dawkins   27 August 1867

Summary

Thanks for CD’s letter; hopes by his work to add one grain of proof to CD’s theories.

Author:  William Boyd Dawkins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 162: 118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5618
Document type
letter (429)
Date
1867
01 (52)
02 (37)
03 (60)
04 (41)
05 (36)
06 (23)
07 (18)
08 (32)
09 (19)
10 (27)
11 (39)
12 (45)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter