skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1867 in date [X]
429 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Roland Trimen   31 December 1867

thumbnail

Summary

On ocelli.

Sexual differences and proportion of sexes in butterflies.

Coleoptera.

[See Descent 1: 310; 2: 132.]

Author:  Roland Trimen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 82: A30–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5744

From Mary Elizabeth Barber   [after February 1867]

Summary

Replies to Queries on expression based on observations of the Kaffir and Fingoe tribes in South Africa.

Author:  Mary Elizabeth Barber
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after Feb 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5745

From A. R. Wallace   2 March [1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Pleased that CD approves his idea about caterpillars.

Thinks CD is right about selection in butterflies, but still believes protective adaptation has kept down colours of females.

Cannot yet see action of natural selection in forming the races of man.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 85: A98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5968

To A. R. Wallace   7 March [1867]

Summary

Grateful for addresses of informants, especially that of Rajah James Brooke.

Dispatch of queries on expression. Answers will make interesting appendix to his "Essay on man" [Descent].

Protective adaptation of female butterflies believed probable.

Believes in sexual selection as applied to man.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  7 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 46434 ff. 20–20v)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5992

To J. J. Moulinié   16 May [1867]

Summary

Sheets dispatched. Book [French edition of Variation] not so large as expected.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Date:  16 May [1867]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66, f. 8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6176

From Edward Blyth   [after 24 February 1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Sexual differences in bird species and seasonal variation in plumage.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 24 Feb 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 105–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6403

From John Lubbock   27 October [1867]

Summary

Wants information on Fuegian harpoons. Must prepare second edition of Prehistoric times.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Oct [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6433

From Hensleigh Wedgwood   [1867–72]

Summary

On origin of hand-shaking.

Author:  Hensleigh Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1867–72]
Classmark:  DAR 181: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7041

From Hensleigh Wedgwood   [1867–72]

Summary

Expression: derivation of the term "brown study".

Author:  Hensleigh Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1867–72]
Classmark:  DAR 181: 54
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7042

From Hensleigh Wedgwood   [1867–72?]

Summary

A fragment that may contain information for Expression.

Author:  Hensleigh Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1867–72?]
Classmark:  DAR 181: 53v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7043

From F. J. Wedgwood   [1867–72]

Summary

Sends extract from Charma [Essai sur le langage (1846)] on the origin of nodding and shaking the head [See Expression, p. 273 n. 17].

Author:  Frances Julia (Snow) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1867–72]
Classmark:  DAR 181: 47, DAR 195.1: 52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7060

From F. J. Wedgwood   [1867–72]

Summary

Extract from Seneca’s letters establishes that hiding the face in shame was not a classical gesture.

Author:  Frances Julia (Snow) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1867–72]
Classmark:  DAR 195.1: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7062

To Fritz Müller   26 May [1867]

Summary

Thanks for information on sexual differences.

Orchids; self-sterility and difficulty of getting seeds to germinate.

Dimorphism.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  26 May [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 16)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5551

To J. D. Hooker   26 [May 1867]

Summary

It was foolish of him to say a word about continental extensions so briefly that he thinks JDH misunderstood him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  26 [May 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5552

To George Howard Darwin   27 May [1867]

Summary

CD has come to think a name better than "Pangenesis" is needed. Asks GHD to get a suggestion from a classics scholar. "Cell-genesis wd be perfect if it cd be put into Greek."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  27 May [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5553

To Albert Gaudry   27 May [1867]

Summary

Is much obliged for AG’s two memoirs ["Mémoire sur le reptile découvert par M. Frossard", Nouv. Arch. Mus. Hist. Nat. 3 (1867): 21–40; Bull. Soc. Géol. France 2d ser. 24 (1867): 397–400].

All "inosculating forms" are very interesting to CD.

Agrees with AG on the importance of attempts to affiliate extinct and existing species.

Will send French edition of Variation when published.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albert-Jean (Albert) Gaudry
Date:  27 May [1867]
Classmark:  Museo Civico di Storia Naturale, Milan (Library: Fondo Gaudry b. 7, fasc. 28, doc. 2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5554

From J. T. Moggridge   29 May [1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Wrote to J. B. E. Bornet on CD’s behalf, declining the offer of seeds of Draba. But now Bornet writes that he is sending seeds to CD anyway [see 5592].

Corrects his previous description of the fertilisation of Indigofera.

Author:  John Traherne Moggridge
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 May [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 157a: 101
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5555A

From Frederick F. Geach   June 1867

Summary

Encloses observations on Malays who have not had communication with Europeans [in answer to CD’s queries about expression].

Author:  Frederick F. Geach
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  June 1867
Classmark:  DAR 165: 21
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5557

To Charles Lyell   1 June [1867]

Summary

Comments on a discussion of humming-birds by the Duke of Argyll [in The reign of law (1867)].

Encloses article by Henry Parker on the Duke’s book [Saturday Rev. 23 (1867): 82–4].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  1 June [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.328)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5558

From Fritz Müller   2 June 1867

Summary

Discusses dimorphism in plants, especially the Rubiaceae.

Gives observations on orchids; notes varying degrees of self-sterility and a varying success at crossing distinct species.

Mentions local ferns he is collecting

and considers the phenomenon of apparently mimetic plants.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 June 1867
Classmark:  DAR 110: B113–14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5559
Document type
letter (429)
Date
1867
01 (52)
02 (37)
03 (60)
04 (41)
05 (36)
06 (23)
07 (18)
08 (32)
09 (19)
10 (27)
11 (39)
12 (45)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter