skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1867 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
429 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To J. P. M. Weale   27 August [1867]

Summary

CD finds the case of Muraltia with irritable stamens curious.

Thanks JPMW for his help with expression queries and would be grateful for any more information. Believes the action of the so-called "grief muscles" is a result of combined action of two muscles.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Date:  27 Aug [1867]
Classmark:  University of Virginia Library, Special Collections (3314 1: 48)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5617

From W. B. Dawkins   27 August 1867

Summary

Thanks for CD’s letter; hopes by his work to add one grain of proof to CD’s theories.

Author:  William Boyd Dawkins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 162: 118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5618

To W. B. Dawkins   30 [August 1867]

Summary

Suggests Dawkins publish a paper on new facts on changes in the skeletal structure of animals kept but not bred in captivity.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Boyd Dawkins
Date:  30 [Aug 1867]
Classmark:  Yale University Medical Historical Library, Harvey Cushing / John Hay Whitney Medical Library (with Rare Book QH9 D25 859)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5618F

From J. D. Hooker   31 August 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Has given up Scotland trip due to his mother’s illness.

Asks for Fritz Müller’s full name – "he can help us much".

Reports on self-impregnated Victoria and impregnation of Chatsworth plants. Difficult to get foreman [of gardens] to keep accurate register.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Aug 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 176–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5619

From Fritz Müller   [8 October 1867]

Summary

Has CD ever considered that the colour of seeds of Amarantaceae would attract the attention of birds?

Describes case of a climbing Chamissoa of the local flora.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [8 Oct 1867]
Classmark:  Möller ed. 1915–21, 2: 132
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5620A

To Hermann Müller   [9 October 1867]

Summary

Müller’s observations on orchids excellent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Date:  [9 Oct 1867]
Classmark:  Krause 1884, p. 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5620F

To J. D. Hooker   2 September [1867]

Summary

Sends Fritz Müller’s address;

disagrees on Mary Barton.

Seeks name of the Mimulus on which he has experimented [see Variation 2: 128].

Requests flowers of yellow variety of Mirabilis jalapa.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  2 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 33–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5621

From Federico Delpino   5 September 1867

Summary

Support CD’s views on variability of species, but believes they must be interpreted "spiritualisticamente".

Cross-fertilisation in the Asclepiadaceae.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 162: 142
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5622

From W. B. Dawkins   7 September 1867

Summary

Variation between individuals of a species.

Author:  William Boyd Dawkins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 162: 119
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5623

From Thomas Rivers   9 September 1867

Summary

Reports on a curious cross in peach varieties, in which the male made a firm large peach into a fruit more almond-like than itself.

Author:  Thomas Rivers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 176: 171
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5624

From J. V. Carus   11 September 1867

Summary

JVC is having difficulty in translating the names of dogs [in Variation]. Also asks CD for help with names of pigeons.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5625

From Ferdinand von Mueller   8 October 1867

Summary

Forwards answers from Charles Walter to some of CD’s queries about expression.

Author:  Ferdinand Jakob Heinrich (Ferdinand) von Mueller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 181: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5626

From J. D. Hooker   [14 September 1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Is going to Norwich again on account of his mother’s health.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 Sept 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 178
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5627

To J. V. Carus   16 September 1867

Summary

Thanks JVC for his biography [of CD].

Has almost finished first proofs of Variation.

Has difficulty in answering JVC’s queries about dogs because of differences in German names and breeds. Refers him to A. E. Brehm’s Illustrirtes Thierleben [1868] and, on pigeons, to Gottlob Neumeister’s book [Das Ganze der Taubenzucht (1837)].

Hopes JVC is not discouraged by first volume. Thinks second will be more interesting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  16 Sept 1867
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 10–13)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5628

From Andrew Murray   16 September 1867

Summary

AM discusses his new journal [J. Travel & Nat. Hist.] of which general opinion seems to be favourable. Has room for the occasional contributor, if CD knows of any.

Author:  Andrew Dickson (Andrew) Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 171: 329
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5629

From John Murray   19 September [1867]

Summary

Sends CD cheque for £250, two-thirds of the profits on the sale of 700 copies of Origin, 4th ed.

Hopes he has found a suitable indexer for Variation.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 350, 524
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5630

From J. D. Hooker   [20 September 1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Would be delighted to see CD at Kew.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [20 Sept 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 179
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5631

To John Murray   20 September 1867

Summary

Thanks for "pleasant remittance" of £250 for 4th edition of Origin.

Glad to see that Orchids sells a little.

Hopes Variation will be more successful.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  20 Sept 1867
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 f. 173)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5632

From John Murray   23 September [1867]

Summary

Schweizerbart anxious to get Variation sheets for German translation. Hopes he has found a good indexer in W. S. Dallas.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 351
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5633

From John Scott   24 September 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Sends seeds of Viola roxburgiana which produces perfect flowers in the cold season and imperfect ones in the rains, all perfectly fertile.

Leersia has not produced a single perfect flower though it grows freely.

Discusses cockatoos eating various seeds. Finds it difficult to make exact and satisfactory observations.

Appends list of Vandellia species which have perfect flowers.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 157a: 106
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5633A
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1867
01 (52)
02 (37)
03 (60)
04 (41)
05 (36)
06 (23)
07 (18)
08 (32)
09 (19)
10 (27)
11 (39)
12 (45)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter