skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1867 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
193 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Athenæum   1 January 1867

Summary

Expresses his support for new books being sold with the pages cut.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  1 Jan 1867
Classmark:  Athenæum, 5 January 1867, pp. 18–19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5343F

To [?]   22 [March? 1867]

Summary

CD must decline his correspondent’s kind offer [unspecified], but he is out of health and has passed the part about dogs in a work now at the printer’s [Variation].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  22 [Mar? 1867]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5453

To Charles Kingsley   13 December [1867]

Summary

Discusses the reception of CD’s views at Cambridge and elsewhere.

Variation delayed by the index, but will appear at the end of the year.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Kingsley
Date:  13 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  Quaritch (dealers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5728F

To A. C. L. G. Günther   21 December [1867]

Summary

Thanks AG for information.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Date:  21 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.339)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5735

To F. Du C. Godman   23 December [1867]

Summary

Will be pleased to receive FCG’s paper. Already has that of [G. R.] Crotch. Encourages further independent work.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederick Du Cane Godman
Date:  23 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  Joseph R. Sakmyster, ADS Autographs (dealer)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5738F

To Roland Trimen   24 December [1867]

Summary

Invites RT to come to Down for a week-end.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Roland Trimen
Date:  24 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  Royal Entomological Society (Trimen papers, box 21: 61)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5739

To John Smith   26 December [1867]

Summary

CD is obliged for a note by JS on crossing the Victoria regia, just received from Hooker; encourages JS to further experiments, saying there is much to be learned on self-fertilisation of plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Smith
Date:  26 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5740

To John Murray   31 December [1867]

Summary

Introduces Clair Grece who wishes to translate a work on English grammar from the German.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  31 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42153 ff. 64–65)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5743

To A. R. Wallace   7 March [1867]

Summary

Grateful for addresses of informants, especially that of Rajah James Brooke.

Dispatch of queries on expression. Answers will make interesting appendix to his "Essay on man" [Descent].

Protective adaptation of female butterflies believed probable.

Believes in sexual selection as applied to man.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  7 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 46434 ff. 20–20v)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5992

To J. J. Moulinié   16 May [1867]

Summary

Sheets dispatched. Book [French edition of Variation] not so large as expected.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Date:  16 May [1867]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66, f. 8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6176

To Francis Darwin   30 August [1867–70]

Summary

Asks FD to check whether a Latin sentence is correct.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  30 Aug [1867-70]
Classmark:  DAR 271.3: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7312

To B. D. Walsh   23 March [1867]

Summary

Thanks for Agassiz’s Lectures. Lyell does not believe a word about glacial action of any kind in lowlands of Brazil. Agassiz’s view of glacial movement has been given up by physicists.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Date:  23 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago (Walsh 9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5455

To J. D. Hooker   24 [March 1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Returns Charles Naudin’s letter with its case in support of CD’s view of impregnation.

Twits JDH for trying to wriggle out of error made in his lecture and admires his "candour in letting the rat out of the bag". [See 5449 and 5451.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  24 [Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5457A

To Fritz Müller   25 March [1867]

Summary

Thanks for facts on orchids.

Friedrich Hildebrand’s new book on fertilisation of plants [Die Geschlechten-Vertheilung bei den Pflanzen (1867)].

CD correcting proofs of Variation.

FM likes Ernst Haeckel’s book [Generelle Morphologie (1866)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  25 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 14)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5458

To John Lubbock   26 March [1867]

Summary

Close inbreeding and factors acting against it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  26 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 65 (EH 88206509)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5463

To V. O. Kovalevsky   26 March [1867]

Summary

Answers VOK’s questions regarding the size of forthcoming Variation and gives his consent to a translation.

But if Origin has not yet been translated into Russian, CD thinks it would be a better book to undertake.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky (Владимир Онуфриевич Ковалевский)
Date:  26 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  Institut Mittag-Leffler
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5464

To William Erasmus Darwin   27 [March 1867]

Summary

Thanks WED for a present.

Discusses the Duke of Argyll’s Reign of law [1867].

Is busy revising proofs [of Variation].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  27 [Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 121
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5466

To M. T. Masters   [28 March – 5 April 1867]

Summary

Discusses the orchid specimens received from MTM. Remarks on the self-sterility of Cypripedium and other orchids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Date:  [28 Mar – 5 Apr 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 34–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5468

To J. D. Hooker   29 [March 1867]

Summary

Anxious for news about baby.

Will remember to save all foreign plants for JDH when he has finished experimenting with them.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  29 [Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5469

To William Ogle   29 March [1867]

Summary

Thanks WO for information on inheritance of deficient phalanges [Variation 2:73] and for interesting case of the occurrence of anomalous fingers and teeth in twins[Variation 2: 253].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  29 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 1 (EH 88205899)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5470
Document type
letter[X]
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1867
01 (25)
02 (21)
03 (26)
04 (18)
05 (17)
06 (13)
07 (8)
08 (16)
09 (5)
10 (13)
11 (13)
12 (18)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter