skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1867::10 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
14 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Fritz Müller   [8 October 1867]

Summary

Has CD ever considered that the colour of seeds of Amarantaceae would attract the attention of birds?

Describes case of a climbing Chamissoa of the local flora.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [8 Oct 1867]
Classmark:  Möller ed. 1915–21, 2: 132
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5620A

From Ferdinand von Mueller   8 October 1867

Summary

Forwards answers from Charles Walter to some of CD’s queries about expression.

Author:  Ferdinand Jakob Heinrich (Ferdinand) von Mueller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 181: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5626

From A. R. Wallace   1 October [1867]

Summary

Informs CD of his reply to Argyll and the North British Review criticisms [in "Creation by law", Q. J. Sci. 4 (1867): 471–88]. Cites "the predicted Madagascar moth" and Angraecum sesquipedale.

Birth of Herbert Spencer Wallace.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Oct [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 106: B43–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5637

From J. V. Carus   5 October 1867

Summary

Asks CD’s help in translating names and descriptions of fowls [in Variation].

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 61
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5641

From J. V. Carus   7 October 1867

Summary

Some sheets of Variation have gone astray.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 62
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5643

From J. J. Moulinié   11 October 1867

Summary

Has received more Variation sheets; some are missing. In a few days the first six chapters of the French translation will be printed.

Author:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 171: 268
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5646

From J. V. Carus   16 October 1867

Summary

Anxious to read the second volume [of Variation].

Appreciates "the way in which you [CD] teach us all how to look on, and how to study, nature".

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 63
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5650

From J. D. Hooker   18 October 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Must cut short visit to Down because of domestic problems.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 180–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5651

From William Houghton   18 October 1867

Summary

Studying freshwater Planariae. Did CD find they had nervous systems?

News of T. C. Eyton and [William?] Owen.

Author:  William Houghton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 166: 271
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5652

From Joseph Plimsoll   21 October 1867

Summary

Seeks to save CD’s soul.

Author:  Joseph Plimsoll
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 174: 51
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5655

From A. R. Wallace   22 October [1867]

Summary

Response to CD’s comments on "Creation by law" [see 5637].

The limits of variation discussed.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Oct [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 106: B46–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5656

From Hermann Müller   23 October 1867

Summary

Thanks for German version of Origin [1867].

Dipterous insects are adapted to eating pollen rather than only to sucking nectar. He describes such adaptations in two dipteran species.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 171: 291
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5657

From J. V. Carus   30 October 1867

Summary

Asks CD for exact title of Variation for German advertisement.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Oct 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 64
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5658

From John Lubbock   27 October [1867]

Summary

Wants information on Fuegian harpoons. Must prepare second edition of Prehistoric times.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Oct [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6433
Document type
letter (14)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1867
10
01 (1)
05 (1)
07 (1)
08 (2)
11 (1)
16 (1)
18 (2)
21 (1)
22 (1)
23 (1)
27 (1)
30 (1)
letter