skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1867::03 in date [X]
60 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3

To John Lubbock   26 March [1867]

Summary

Close inbreeding and factors acting against it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  26 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 65 (EH 88206509)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5463

To V. O. Kovalevsky   26 March [1867]

Summary

Answers VOK’s questions regarding the size of forthcoming Variation and gives his consent to a translation.

But if Origin has not yet been translated into Russian, CD thinks it would be a better book to undertake.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky (Владимир Онуфриевич Ковалевский)
Date:  26 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  Institut Mittag-Leffler
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5464

From Andrew Smith   26 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

On Hottentot ideas of beauty in women; their preference for women with large posteriors. [See Descent 2: 345–6.]

Author:  Andrew Smith
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 85: A103–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5465

To William Erasmus Darwin   27 [March 1867]

Summary

Thanks WED for a present.

Discusses the Duke of Argyll’s Reign of law [1867].

Is busy revising proofs [of Variation].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  27 [Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 121
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5466

From Maxwell Tylden Masters   28 March 1867

Summary

Forwards some plant specimens to CD for his comments.

Author:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 96: 34–5, Gardeners’ Chronicle, 6 April 1867, p. 350.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5467

To M. T. Masters   [28 March – 5 April 1867]

Summary

Discusses the orchid specimens received from MTM. Remarks on the self-sterility of Cypripedium and other orchids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Date:  [28 Mar – 5 Apr 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 34–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5468

To J. D. Hooker   29 [March 1867]

Summary

Anxious for news about baby.

Will remember to save all foreign plants for JDH when he has finished experimenting with them.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  29 [Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5469

To William Ogle   29 March [1867]

Summary

Thanks WO for information on inheritance of deficient phalanges [Variation 2:73] and for interesting case of the occurrence of anomalous fingers and teeth in twins[Variation 2: 253].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  29 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 1 (EH 88205899)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5470

To Hermann Müller   29 March [1867]

Summary

Has learned that Fritz Müller is HM’s brother.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Date:  29 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 428
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5471

From John Lubbock   29 March 1867

Summary

Thanks CD for information.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 170: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5472

From W. B. Tegetmeier   29 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Answers CD’s queries about polygamous birds. Does not think appearance of cock makes any difference to female. Dyeing the male has no effect on female.

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 30–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5473

From H. W. Bates   29 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Working on sexual differences in collection of horned beetles and will send CD results.

Answers CD’s questions [sent on behalf of Miss Tollet of Betley Hall, Staffs.] on mimicry – how it helps prevent extinction, the modifications occurring with a change of habitat until mimicry occurred.

Also gives some cases of sexual differences.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 205.10: 95 (Letters)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5474

To W. B. Tegetmeier   30 March [1867]

Summary

Believes beauty of male bird important for attracting mate in wild. Will be interested to hear how a dyed male pigeon is received by the hens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  30 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5475

From C. W. Nägeli   31 March 1867

Summary

Summarises his 12-page letter in which he responds to CD’s criticisms of his theory of ‘perfectibility’.

Author:  Carl Wilhelm von Nägeli
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Mar 1867
Classmark:  On permanent loan to KULTURAMA Zurich (Inv. 5109_L)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5475F

To H. W. Bates   30 March [1867]

Summary

Would like tabulation of horned beetles if not too troublesome, but would easily settle for general remarks.

On the subject of other species mocking Heliconidae, asks whether full-coloured ones were mocked. Expresses full belief in HWB’s theory.

Encloses a copy of A. R. Wallace’s letter to the Field requesting observations on which caterpillars birds devour.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  30 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection), FF7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5476

From J. D. Hooker   31 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Baby’s situation hopeless.

E. Perceval Wright on way to Seychelles for collecting.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 156
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5477

From George Gibbs   31 March 1867

Summary

Finds that after 12 years among north-western Indians he can answer positively only one of CD’s queries about expression. They do blush from shame or anger.

Author:  George Gibbs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 165: 37
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5479

From A. R. Wallace   2 March [1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Pleased that CD approves his idea about caterpillars.

Thinks CD is right about selection in butterflies, but still believes protective adaptation has kept down colours of females.

Cannot yet see action of natural selection in forming the races of man.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 85: A98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5968

To A. R. Wallace   7 March [1867]

Summary

Grateful for addresses of informants, especially that of Rajah James Brooke.

Dispatch of queries on expression. Answers will make interesting appendix to his "Essay on man" [Descent].

Protective adaptation of female butterflies believed probable.

Believes in sexual selection as applied to man.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  7 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 46434 ff. 20–20v)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5992

To George Robert Waterhouse   5 March [1867?]

Summary

Wishes to know the correct name for the British Museum’s specimen of an Abyssinian wolf described by Wilhelm Rueppell, Neue Wirbelthiere zu der Fauna von Abyssinien [1835–40] .

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Waterhouse
Date:  5 Mar [1867?]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Archives DF PAL/100/9/22)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1394
Document type
letter (60)
Date
1867
03
01 (1)
02 (2)
03 (1)
04 (2)
05 (3)
06 (1)
07 (2)
09 (1)
11 (2)
12 (2)
14 (1)
15 (2)
16 (1)
17 (1)
18 (2)
19 (2)
20 (3)
21 (1)
22 (3)
23 (3)
24 (1)
25 (3)
26 (6)
27 (1)
28 (2)
29 (6)
30 (2)
31 (3)
Page: Prev  1 2 3
letter