skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1867::03 in date disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
60 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To [?]   22 [March? 1867]


CD must decline his correspondent’s kind offer [unspecified], but he is out of health and has passed the part about dogs in a work now at the printer’s [Variation].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  22 [Mar? 1867]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5453

To George Robert Waterhouse   5 March [1867?]


Wishes to know the correct name for the British Museum’s specimen of an Abyssinian wolf described by Wilhelm Rueppell, Neue Wirbelthiere zu der Fauna von Abyssinien [1835–40] .

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Waterhouse
Date:  5 Mar [1867?]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Archives DF PAL/100/9/22)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1394

From Edward Blyth   [2–30 March 1867]


Discussion of origin of domestic sheep races. Some comments on the yak and the wild ancestors of the llama and alpaca.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [2–30 Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 208
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5337

From E. A. Darwin   22 [March 1867]


Is sending a copy of [John] Shaw’s book, which Lady Bell says is based on Charles Bell’s papers [possibly C. Bell, A treatise on diseases of the urethra, 3d ed. with notes by John Shaw (1822)].

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 [Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5342

To E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung   [19 March 1867]


Offers the German rights of Variation if J. V. Carus is prepared to translate it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung
Date:  [19 Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 33r
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5425

From Alfred Newton   1 March 1867



Male dotterels take care of young and are less brilliantly coloured than females.

Author:  Alfred Newton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 28–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5426

From E. A. Darwin   3 March 1867


He has promised Mark [coachman to R. W. Darwin and Susan] that CD will continue the payment of £20 a year after EAD’s death; the house is rent free.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 105: B57–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5428

From Fritz Müller   4 March 1867


Reports observations on fertility of orchids he has self-pollinated and crossed with pollen of other species.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 142: 102
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5429

To Alfred Newton   4 March [1867]


Thanks for information about the dotterel.

CD had ascertained by dissection that the female of the carrion-hawk of the Falkland Islands is very much brighter coloured than the male. Has inquired about its nidification. Mentions other instances of female birds that are brighter and more beautiful than the males and suggests causes for this anomaly.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Newton
Date:  4 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 89
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5430

To W. B. Tegetmeier   5 March [1867]


Asks whether WBT can carry out poultry mating experiments for him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  5 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5431

To Frederic William Farrar   5 March 1867


Much obliged for lecture [On some defects in public school education (1867)]. Would leave classics to those with zeal and taste for appreciation. Learned nothing at school except by reading and experimenting in chemistry.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederic William Farrar
Date:  5 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 144: 41
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5432

From John Traherne Moggridge   6 March [1867]


Observations on Ophrys plants and Thymus vulgaris. Encloses sketch of different forms of T. vulgaris [see Forms of flowers, p. 302].

Author:  John Traherne Moggridge
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 109: A90–1, DAR 111: B47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5433

From F. W. Farrar   7 March [1867]


On improving the educational system.

Author:  Frederic William Farrar
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 38
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5434

From Francis Trevelyan Buckland   9 March 1867


Has been hunting for an otter-hound for CD.

Hopes CD will visit his museum at the Horticultural [Society].

Author:  Francis Trevelyan (Frank) Buckland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 160: 362
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5435

From A. R. Wallace   11 March [1867]


ARW responds to CD’s list of queries about expression. Suggests acquiring informants through publishing the queries in newspapers. His doubts about their importance.

Has submitted caterpillar question to Entomological Society.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 106: B24, B45; DAR 82: A22
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5437

From Henry Walter Bates   11 March 1867



Sexual ornamentation of insects: coloration of Epicalia genus [of tropical S. American butterflies];

horned genera of lamellicorn beetles [see Descent 1: 370, 388].

Wallace brought CD’s question about gay-coloured caterpillars before the Entomological Society. Members now seeking explanations.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 82: A36–9, A46–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5438

From Benjamin Clarke   12 March 1867


Requests CD’s subscription to his On systematic botany and zoology [1870]. "Progressive development" is a leading principle of his work.

Author:  Benjamin Clarke
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 157/1, 158
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5439

To A. R. Wallace   [12–17] March [1867]


Asks to be kept informed on gaudy caterpillars.

Problems of his work on man; scope and role of sexual selection.

Indulgence of interest in expression is simply a "hobby-horse". Will see whether he can get queries inserted in an Indian newspaper.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  [12–17] Mar [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 46434 ff. 80–83v)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5440

From J. D. Hooker   14 March 1867



Has been persuaded to accept BAAS Presidency.

On Charles Naudin’s discovery of seeds of Chamaerops fertilised by the date-palm.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 145–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5441

From Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky   15 March 1867


Thanks CD for permission to translate Variation into Russian. The translation will be guided by his brother Alexander, a follower of Darwin,

whose articles on the affinity of ascidians and vertebrates he forwards.

Author:  Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky (Владимир Онуфриевич Ковалевский)
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 169: 71
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5443
Document type
01 (1)
02 (2)
03 (1)
04 (2)
05 (3)
06 (1)
07 (2)
09 (1)
11 (2)
12 (2)
14 (1)
15 (2)
16 (1)
17 (1)
18 (2)
19 (2)
20 (3)
21 (1)
22 (3)
23 (3)
24 (1)
25 (3)
26 (6)
27 (1)
28 (2)
29 (6)
30 (2)
31 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next