skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1867::03 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
34 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From Edward Blyth   [2–30 March 1867]

Summary

Discussion of origin of domestic sheep races. Some comments on the yak and the wild ancestors of the llama and alpaca.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [2–30 Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 208
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5337

From E. A. Darwin   22 [March 1867]

Summary

Is sending a copy of [John] Shaw’s book, which Lady Bell says is based on Charles Bell’s papers [possibly C. Bell, A treatise on diseases of the urethra, 3d ed. with notes by John Shaw (1822)].

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 [Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5342

From Alfred Newton   1 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Male dotterels take care of young and are less brilliantly coloured than females.

Author:  Alfred Newton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 28–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5426

From E. A. Darwin   3 March 1867

Summary

He has promised Mark [coachman to R. W. Darwin and Susan] that CD will continue the payment of £20 a year after EAD’s death; the house is rent free.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 105: B57–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5428

From Fritz Müller   4 March 1867

Summary

Reports observations on fertility of orchids he has self-pollinated and crossed with pollen of other species.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 142: 102
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5429

From John Traherne Moggridge   6 March [1867]

Summary

Observations on Ophrys plants and Thymus vulgaris. Encloses sketch of different forms of T. vulgaris [see Forms of flowers, p. 302].

Author:  John Traherne Moggridge
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 109: A90–1, DAR 111: B47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5433

From F. W. Farrar   7 March [1867]

Summary

On improving the educational system.

Author:  Frederic William Farrar
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 38
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5434

From Francis Trevelyan Buckland   9 March 1867

Summary

Has been hunting for an otter-hound for CD.

Hopes CD will visit his museum at the Horticultural [Society].

Author:  Francis Trevelyan (Frank) Buckland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 160: 362
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5435

From A. R. Wallace   11 March [1867]

Summary

ARW responds to CD’s list of queries about expression. Suggests acquiring informants through publishing the queries in newspapers. His doubts about their importance.

Has submitted caterpillar question to Entomological Society.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 106: B24, B45; DAR 82: A22
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5437

From Henry Walter Bates   11 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Sexual ornamentation of insects: coloration of Epicalia genus [of tropical S. American butterflies];

horned genera of lamellicorn beetles [see Descent 1: 370, 388].

Wallace brought CD’s question about gay-coloured caterpillars before the Entomological Society. Members now seeking explanations.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 82: A36–9, A46–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5438

From Benjamin Clarke   12 March 1867

Summary

Requests CD’s subscription to his On systematic botany and zoology [1870]. "Progressive development" is a leading principle of his work.

Author:  Benjamin Clarke
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 157/1, 158
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5439

From J. D. Hooker   14 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Has been persuaded to accept BAAS Presidency.

On Charles Naudin’s discovery of seeds of Chamaerops fertilised by the date-palm.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 145–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5441

From Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky   15 March 1867

Summary

Thanks CD for permission to translate Variation into Russian. The translation will be guided by his brother Alexander, a follower of Darwin,

whose articles on the affinity of ascidians and vertebrates he forwards.

Author:  Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky (Владимир Онуфриевич Ковалевский)
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 169: 71
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5443

From J. T. Moggridge   15 March [1867]

Summary

Sends several plants with abortive anthers or bad pollen.

Author:  John Traherne Moggridge
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 204
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5444

From Friedrich Hildebrand   18 March 1867

Summary

Intends to begin a journal reviewing the botanical literature.

Sends his book [Die Geschlechter-Vertheilung bei den Pflanzen (1867)].

Author:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 166: 206
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5447

From John Murray   19 March [1867]

Summary

Agrees that new title of Variation is an improvement. Now thinks 1500 copies a safe number to print.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Mar [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 347
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5448

From J. D. Hooker   20 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Sends Naudin’s letter.

Pangenesis.

Benjamin Clarke is mad.

Interested in CD’s Ipomoea experiment.

Scott’s experiments are all in CD’s favour.

Clarifies a sentence in "Insular floras".

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 147–50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5449

From E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung   22 March 1867

Summary

Agrees to publish German edition of Variation.

Discusses publication of third German ed. of Origin.

Thanks CD for portrait.

Author:  E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 177: 75
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5454

From J. D. Hooker   23 March 1867

thumbnail

Summary

More on Naudin’s hybrid; the wonder lessened slightly.

JDH’s view that insular plants [distantly] related to those of continents are common came to him only after the lecture was in print; has not yet thought it out fully.

Moroccan flora may throw some light on Madeira flora.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 151–3; Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Directors’ Correspondence 143: 643)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5456

From Hermann Müller   23 March 1867

Summary

The Origin converted him from a Linnean interpretation of flowers and mosses.

Glad that CD appreciates his continuing work on mosses, in support of natural selection.

Plans to repeat CD’s orchid experiments.

Sends interpretation of the floral anatomy of Lopezia miniata.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Mar 1867
Classmark:  DAR 171: 290, 290/1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5457
Document type
letter (34)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1867
03
01 (1)
02 (2)
03 (1)
04 (1)
06 (1)
07 (1)
09 (1)
11 (2)
12 (1)
14 (1)
15 (2)
18 (1)
19 (1)
20 (1)
22 (2)
23 (2)
25 (2)
26 (4)
28 (1)
29 (3)
31 (3)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter