skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1867::02 in date [X]
37 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To A. R. Wallace   26 February [1867]

Summary

ARW’s explanation of protective value of conspicuous coloration is ingenious.

CD still holds to sexual selection with respect to beauty in male butterflies.

Sexual selection and the races of man.

Expression of emotions is another subject he plans to include in his essay [Descent].

Asks ARW to suggest an observer in Malay Archipelago to whom he might send queries [on expression].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  26 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 46434, f. 76)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5420

From Trübner & Co   26 February 1867

Summary

Vladimir Kovalevsky wishes to translate Variation into Russian. He offers £1 per advance sheet.

Author:  Trübner & Co.
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 169: 70
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5421

To J. P. M. Weale   27 February [1867]

Summary

Encloses his queries about expression which he asks JPMW to forward to trustworthy observers who associate with Hottentots and Kaffirs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Date:  27 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  University of Virginia Library, Special Collections (3314 1: 47)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5422

To Julius von Haast   27 February [1867]

Summary

Asks JvH’s assistance in making observations on the expression of emotions. Encloses 17 queries that are being sent to various parts of the world.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Francis Julius (Julius) von Haast
Date:  27 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (Haast family papers, MS-Papers-0037-051-3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5423

To Robert Swinhoe   [27 February 1867]

Summary

CD’s queries on expression as reprinted in Notes and Queries on China and Japan 1 (1867): 105.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Swinhoe
Date:  [27 Feb 1867]
Classmark:  Notes and Queries on China and Japan 1 (1867): 105
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5423F

To Ferdinand von Mueller   28 February [1867]

Summary

Sends his [MS] questionnaire on expression and asks FvM’s help in obtaining answers based on observations of aborigines living in the interior of Australia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ferdinand Jakob Heinrich (Ferdinand) von Mueller
Date:  28 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 92: A33–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5424

From Mary Elizabeth Barber   [after February 1867]

Summary

Replies to Queries on expression based on observations of the Kaffir and Fingoe tribes in South Africa.

Author:  Mary Elizabeth Barber
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after Feb 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5745

From Edward Blyth   [after 24 February 1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Sexual differences in bird species and seasonal variation in plumage.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 24 Feb 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 105–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6403

To William Turner   1 February [1867]

Summary

Thanks for information about rudimentary organs. Asks about rudimentary character of human hair and panniculus carnosus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner
Date:  1 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  Edinburgh University Library, Centre for Research Collections (Dc.2.96/5 folio 3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5386

From William Darwin Fox   1 February [1867]

Summary

Wants to know whether Variation is published and how the other book [CD’s proposed volume on variation in nature] is going.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 185
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5388

From Fritz Müller   2 February 1867

Summary

Thanks for CD’s letter inquiring about capsules produced by the Maxillaria with larger pods [see 5331]. Gives descriptions of Maxillaria and of the other Vandeae.

Describes Oncidium flexuosum.

Tells of botanical results of recent excursion to the German colony Theresopolis. Brought home fine collection of living orchids.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Feb 1867
Classmark:  Möller ed. 1915–21, 2: 109–11; DAR 70: 146
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5389A

From J. D. Hooker   4 February 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Has declined Presidency of BAAS.

Relation of insular and continental genera will always be difficult problem.

On Providence and the "continuity theory".

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 138–142
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5390

From Lydia Ernestine Becker   6 February 1867

Summary

Thanks CD for Lythrum paper [Collected papers 2: 106–31] and "Climbing plants" sent to Manchester Ladies’ Literary Society. Comments on Lythrum.

Author:  Lydia Ernestine Becker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 160: 115
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5391

To W. D. Fox   6 February [1867]

Summary

Has just sent MS of Variation off to printer. Is in darkness about its merits.

News of family and their health. Riding seems to help him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  6 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 147)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5392

To Fritz Müller   7 February [1867]

Summary

CD’s Variation is in printer’s hands.

Orchid self-sterility.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  7 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 12)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5393

From William Henry Kinnaird Gibbons   7 February 1867

Summary

Asks CD whether he has given any thought to the phenomena of spiritualism.

Author:  W. H. S Gibbons
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 165: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5394

To J. D. Hooker   8 February [1867]

Summary

On the Duke of Argyll and a review of his Reign of law.

Asa Gray’s theological view of variation. God’s role in formation of organisms; JDH’s view of Providence.

Insular and continental genera.

Owen on continuity and ideal types

and on bones of Mauritius deer.

On man.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 10–13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5395

From William Turner   8 February 1867

thumbnail

Summary

On muscles in man for moving skin, hair, ears, etc.

Author:  William Turner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 80: B152–3c
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5396

From J. V. Carus   11 February 1867

Summary

Sends CD an English translation of his preface to the revised German edition of Origin and asks his opinion of it.

Asks CD where he might get a specimen of Eozoon.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 55, 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5397

To William Turner   11 February [1867]

Summary

Thanks WT for information.

Will not include chapter on man in Variation but plans separate essay in future.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner
Date:  11 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 148: 155
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5398
Document type
letter (37)
Date
1867
02
01 (3)
02 (1)
04 (1)
06 (2)
07 (2)
08 (2)
11 (2)
12 (2)
13 (1)
17 (1)
18 (1)
19 (2)
22 (4)
23 (3)
24 (3)
25 (1)
26 (2)
27 (3)
28 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter