skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1863 in date [X]
497 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From J. J. Aubertin   3 September 1863

Summary

Thanks CD for his letter and geological report on the stones JJA sent.

Encloses postage stamps for CD’s son.

Author:  John James Aubertin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 159: 124
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4289

From J. B. Innes   4 September [1863]

Summary

Explains "Duke Darwinii" reference [in 4283].

Family news.

Writes of Scottish immorality and pious talk.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Sept [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 167: 12
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4290

From John Lubbock   4 September 1863

Summary

Has returned from trip to Norway, Sweden, and Denmark.

Has been made President of the Ethnological Society.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 170: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4291

To W. D. Fox   4 [September 1863]

Summary

His bad health has caused him to return to Malvern.

Emma cannot find the gravestone of their child, Anne. Asks WDF whether he can remember its location.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  4 [Sept 1863]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 140)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4292

To Hugh Falconer   4 [September 1863]

Summary

Sends address.

Comments on BAAS meeting at Newcastle.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  4 [Sept 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 33
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4293

From Edward Levett Darwin   7 September 1863

Summary

Glad to find they are cousins.

Sends his book [High Elms (pseud.), The game-preserver’s manual (1858)].

Author:  Edward Levett Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 99: 17–18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4295

From W. D. Fox   7 September [1863]

Summary

Gives directions to CD’s daughter’s [Anne’s] grave.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Sept [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 180
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4296

From W. F. Kirby   8 September [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Describes some cases of geographical distribution of butterflies. Raises the perplexing question of the distribution of Pyrameis atalanta in Europe and P. calliroe in the Canaries.

Author:  William Forsell Kirby
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Sept [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 205.3 (Letters): 280
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4297

From Hugh Falconer   10 September 1863

Summary

Is having E. Suess’s essay [see 4284] translated; will forward it as soon as it is done.

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 164: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4298

From the secretary of the Philosophical Institute of Canterbury, New Zealand   14 September 1863

Summary

CD elected an honorary member of the Society.

Author:  Philosophical Institute of Canterbury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 230
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4298A

From Edward Blyth   21 September 1863

Summary

Sends some original observations on British ferns [not found].

Has secured a small pension and hopes to acquire a house near Kew.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 160: 206
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4300

From John Scott   21 September [1863]

Summary

Sends Primula MS, which CD has promised to communicate to Linnean Society [see 4213].

Will soon send results on peloric Antirrhinum.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Sept [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4301

From G. H. K. Thwaites   24 September 1863

thumbnail

Summary

Sends information on the flowers of Cassia roxburghii; will send flowers of all the species of Cassia for CD to study with a view to discovering the law which operates to bring about the differences.

Author:  George Henry Kendrick Thwaites
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 48: 74
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4303

From Joanna B. Horner   24 September 1863

Summary

News of C. J. F. Bunbury and the Lyells.

Author:  Joanna Baillie Horner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 166.2: 269
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4305

From J. D. Hooker   15 September 1863

thumbnail

Summary

Pleased CD accepts continental extension for New Zealand, whose flora has many genera like Rubus with great diversity and connecting intermediates. Suggests geological uplifting creates more space, hence opportunities for preservation of intermediates. Sees clash with CD on causes of extreme diversity of form in a group.

JDH’s attitude toward democratisation of science.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 101: 163–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4306

From A. R. Wallace   26 September 1863

thumbnail

Summary

Encloses flowers of Melastoma from Singapore.

Acclimatisation of plants.

Striped horses in London.

Bees’ cells; has been promised information from the East.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 47: 146–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4308

From J. D. Hooker   [28 September 1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Grieves over the death of his second daughter [Maria Elizabeth].

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Sept 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 159
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4309

To A. R. Wallace   [29? September 1863]

Summary

Baffling problems with Melastoma. Appreciates ARW’s help with it and the "gorze case".

Has read report of ARW’s paper [to Newcastle BAAS meeting, "On the geographical distribution of animal life"] in the Reader [2 (1863): 352–3].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  [29? Sept 1863]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add. MS. 46434: 36–7b)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4310

From Louis Agassiz   29 September 1863

Summary

Introduces J. P. Lesley, "the most accomplished geologist of the United States".

Author:  Jean Louis Rodolphe (Louis) Agassiz
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 159: 9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4311

From H. W. Bates   29 September 1863

Summary

HWB’s concern over CD’s poor health.

Gives accounts of reviews of his book in the Times and in the Revue des Deux-Mondes by E.-D. Forgues ["Un naturaliste sous l’équateur", Rev. Deux-Mondes 46 (1863): 703–37].

Thanks CD for the A. Gray review of his paper [see 4022].

Reports his current work is a monograph on Mantidae.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Sept 1863
Classmark:  DAR 160: 77
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4313
Document type
letter (497)
Correspondent
Date
1863
01 (70)
02 (73)
03 (59)
04 (64)
05 (76)
06 (34)
07 (37)
08 (29)
09 (24)
10 (8)
11 (17)
12 (6)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter