skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1863::06 in date [X]
Gosse, P. H. in correspondent [X]
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To P. H. Gosse   2 June [1863]

Summary

Can only conjecture that the problem occurs because the plant is not living in its natural conditions. Refers to what he said on Acropera [in Orchids]. Many plants under culture have sexual functions altered.

Asks PHG to look at bee Ophrys at Torquay to see if pollinia are ever removed. "It is my greatest puzzle."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Henry Gosse
Date:  2 June [1863]
Classmark:  Leeds University Library Special Collections (Brotherton Collection: Gosse Correspondence)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4200

From P. H. Gosse   4 June 1863

Summary

Thanks CD for his full reply. Sends additional facts derived from further observation, and a possible solution.

Author:  Philip Henry Gosse
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 165: 77
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4203

To P. H. Gosse   5 June [1863]

Summary

PHG’s hypothesis [regarding the self-fertilising mechanism of Stanhopea] may prove quite true, but CD suggests that PHG should observe another spike to make sure. CD will observe his Stanhopea if it flowers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Henry Gosse
Date:  5 June [1863]
Classmark:  Lieut. Col. James Innes (private collection); sold at Christie‘s New York (dealers), 15 November 2011, lot 55
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4205
Document type
letter (3)
Addressee
Correspondent
Darwin, C. R. (3)
Gosse, P. H.[X]
Date
1863
06
02 (1)
04 (1)
05 (1)
letter