skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1863::06 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
15 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. D. Hooker   [after 10 June 1863]

Summary

Notes on drops of nectar on sepals of cypripedium.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [after 10 June 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 151: 331
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3585F

To John Scott   20 [June 1863]

Summary

Glad to hear of JS’s orchid paper [Trans. Bot. Soc. Edinburgh 7 (1863): 543–50].

Suggests experiments on peloria.

Wants to count seed of the self-fertile red cowslip with equal stamens and styles.

Can send account of Hottonia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  20 [June 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 93: B53–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4114

To P. H. Gosse   2 June [1863]

Summary

Can only conjecture that the problem occurs because the plant is not living in its natural conditions. Refers to what he said on Acropera [in Orchids]. Many plants under culture have sexual functions altered.

Asks PHG to look at bee Ophrys at Torquay to see if pollinia are ever removed. "It is my greatest puzzle."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Henry Gosse
Date:  2 June [1863]
Classmark:  Leeds University Library Special Collections (Brotherton Collection: Gosse Correspondence)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4200

To P. H. Gosse   5 June [1863]

Summary

PHG’s hypothesis [regarding the self-fertilising mechanism of Stanhopea] may prove quite true, but CD suggests that PHG should observe another spike to make sure. CD will observe his Stanhopea if it flowers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Henry Gosse
Date:  5 June [1863]
Classmark:  Lieut. Col. James Innes (private collection); sold at Christie‘s New York (dealers), 15 November 2011, lot 55
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4205

To John Scott   6 June [1863]

Summary

CD has spoken to Hooker of JS’s scientific merit, but has not suggested him for a colonial appointment.

Advice on style of writing.

Making extensive extract of JS’s orchid paper to communicate to Linnean Society [J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 8 (1865): 162–7].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  6 June [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 93: B38–40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4206

To J. D. Hooker   8 [June 1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Sends Asa Gray letter to JDH. Gray’s "Coolness about England and U. S. beats anything".

John Scott’s difficulties at Edinburgh Botanic Garden.

JS’s paper on Primula crossing experiments.

Sends MS note about closing of stigma in orchids being dependent on affinity of pollen and independent of protusion of pollen-tubes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 [June 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 158
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4207

To John Scott   11 June [1863]

Summary

Hooker is impressed by JS’s MS on closing of stigma.

He will help find him a position. Hooker says if it is known that JS agrees with CD’s views, he will be unpopular in Edinburgh.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  11 June [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 93: B22–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4212

To George Bentham   19 June [1863]

Summary

GB’s address [Proc. Linn. Soc. Lond. (1863): xi–xxix] pleased him as much as Lyell’s book [Antiquity of man] disappointed him on species question. GB has done a "real good turn to the right side".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  19 June [1863]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Bentham Correspondence, Vol. 3, Daintree–Dyer, 1830–1884, GEB/1/3: f. 709–10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4217

To Charles Thomas Whitley   20 June [1863]

Summary

Recalls the long walks in Cambridge with the "expectant senior wrangler". Cannot accept invitation (related to meetings of the BAAS) because of continuing bad health, his own and that of his children.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Thomas Whitley
Date:  20 June [1863]
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4217A

To J. D. Hooker   23 [June 1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Herbert Spencer’s work disappointing – "all words & generalities".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  23 [June 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 196
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4218

To Charles Loring Brace   24 June [1863]

Summary

Discussion of, and thanks for, CLB’s new work, Races of the Old World [1863]. Special interest in p. 388 on colour and constitution; CD mentions questions sent previous year to surgeons serving in tropical countries regarding diseases and colour of hair and skin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Loring Brace
Date:  24 June [1863]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.310)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4220

To J. D. Hooker   25 [June 1863]

thumbnail

Summary

CD describes first observation of gyratory motion of tendrils: explains its adaptive function is to find objects to hold on to.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  25 [June 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 197
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4221

To Asa Gray   26 June [1863]

Summary

Thanks AG for references about phyllotaxy

and information on marriage laws.

Has been looking for dimorphism in Phlox and Euonymus.

Has observed the irritability of tendrils of Echinocystis with great interest. Was also struck by the rotating movements of the leading shoots, which he proposes to investigate.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  26 June [1863]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (82)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4222

To T. H. Huxley   27 June [1863]

Summary

Has caught a frog and examined its possibly rudimentary toe. Asks THH if he will dissect it.

Has heard THH is abused in Edinburgh Review and in Anthropological Review [reviews of Man’s place in nature, Edinburgh Rev. 117 (1863): 541–69 and Anthrop. Rev. 1 (1863): 107–17].

Owen on heterogeny and the aye-aye.

Has been very ill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  27 June [1863]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 225)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4223

To Arthur Rawson   6 June [1863]

Summary

CD thanks the sender of a Cypripedium. He finds its pollination contrivances interesting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arthur Rawson
Date:  6 June [1863]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5563
Document type
letter (15)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1863
06
02 (1)
05 (1)
06 (2)
08 (1)
10 (1)
11 (1)
19 (1)
20 (2)
23 (1)
24 (1)
25 (1)
26 (1)
27 (1)
letter