skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1863::06 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
19 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From W. E. Darwin   [28 June 1863?]

Summary

Sends description of Chrysosplene, asks about glands.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 June 1863?]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3894F

From Asa Gray   [10–16] June [1863]

Summary

Possible dimorphism in Phlox.

Knows of no U. S. law prohibiting marriage of cousins.

Gives references to papers on phyllotaxy.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [10–16] June [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 165: 136
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4198

From J. T. Austen   3 June 1863

Summary

Does not think Dennen’s transaction was dishonest, but can see no satisfactory explanation for it; feels they must inform their fellow trustees.

Author:  John Thomas Austen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 159: 131, 151
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4201

From John Scott   [3 June 1863]

Summary

Thanks CD for influence used with Hooker to obtain a colonial position. Has offended J. H. Balfour by refusing the Darjeeling post and James McNab has become unfriendly, although his experiments do not detract from his garden work.

Will write Primula paper for Linnean Society as CD suggests.

His Darwinism is unpalatable at Edinburgh Botanic Garden.

Describes results with non-dimorphic Primula species. Such cases do not accord with CD’s view that characters are slowly acquired.

Thanks for criticism of his writing style.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [3 June 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 93
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4202

From P. H. Gosse   4 June 1863

Summary

Thanks CD for his full reply. Sends additional facts derived from further observation, and a possible solution.

Author:  Philip Henry Gosse
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 165: 77
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4203

From S. P. Woodward   5 June 1863

Summary

Has been writing a notice of H. W. Bates’s "capital book" [Naturalist on the river Amazons (1863)].

P. M. Duncan’s coral paper [J. Geol. Soc. Lond. 29 (1863): 406–58] strengthens SPW’s belief in the general diffusion of marine forms westward in the course of time.

Author:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 181: 155
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4204

From G. H. K. Thwaites   8 June 1863

Summary

Dimorphism in Linum.

Situation in some of the lower Algae is analogous to that in phaenogams. In some, conjugation occurs between separate filaments, in others between cells of same filament.

Forwards a letter from S. O. Glenie enclosing specimens of Cassia fistula which show the two forms of the anthers.

Author:  George Henry Kendrick Thwaites
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 178: 121–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4208

From G. H. Darwin   [9–15 June 1863]

Summary

Discusses some angles [relating to phyllotaxy].

The forthcoming school holidays.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [9–15 June 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4209

From J. D. Hooker   10 June 1863

thumbnail

Summary

JDH lays hard treatment of John Scott to J. H. Balfour’s anti-Darwinism.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 101: 149–50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4210

From Booth Bacon   10 June 1863

Summary

On CD’s application to pay up at once his shares in the Penarth Harbour Dock and Railway; directors’ policy is to receive payment on only 50% of shares allotted.

Author:  Booth Bacon
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 160: 12
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4211

From John Scott   16 June [1863]

Summary

Orchid paper in press.

Asks CD to correct MS of his Primula paper [J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 8 (1865): 78–126].

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 June [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 94
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4213

From J. T. Austen   17 June 1863

Summary

Gives G. Dennen’s explanation of why he attempted to lend Percival’s savings at 10%: to assist his brother then repaying a loan made at 10%. Meeting [of trustees] to be called soon.

Author:  John Thomas Austen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 159: 132
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4214

From James Anderson   18 June 1863

thumbnail

Summary

Sends a capsule of Dendrobium cretaceum. [See Orchids, 2d ed.]

Author:  James Anderson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 70: 181
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4215

From J. D. Hooker   19 June 1863

thumbnail

Summary

Has heard from Julius von Haast that some of his letters were lost before leaving New Zealand. Haast’s enclosure for CD has been forwarded.

Haast and James Hector have both sent accounts of their travels in New Zealand.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 101: 151
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4216

From William Allport Leighton   [before 21 June 1863]

thumbnail

Summary

His observations of varieties of Verbascum.

Reference to Abbé Correa in the Life of Sir J. E. Smith.

Author:  William Allport Leighton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 21 June 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 108: 180
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4217F

From Jacques Boucher de Perthes    23 June 1863

Summary

Sends his tranformist book [De la création: essai sur l’origine et la progression des êtres, 5 vols. (1838–41)]; his admiration for CD’s work.

Author:  Jacques Boucher de Crèvecoeur de Perthes (Jacques Boucher de Perthes)
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 160: 257
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4219

From W. E. Darwin   27 June [1863?]

Summary

Spoke to Rosas, and gave him CD’s paper.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 June [1863?]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 17)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4222F

From J. D. Hooker   [2]9 June 1863

thumbnail

Summary

JDH and Oliver impressed with CD’s observations on gyratory motion of plants.

CD pleased with Bentham’s Linnean Society address on the reception of Darwinism [J. Proc. Linn. Soc. Lond. 7 (1863): xi–xxix].

JDH’s social "dogma": "Brains x Beauty = Breeding + wealth".

[Dated 9 June by JDH.]

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [2]9 June 1863
Classmark:  DAR 101: 147–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4224

From W. B. Tegetmeier   29 June – 7 July 1863

Summary

Progress of pigeon and poultry breeding experiments. No loss of fertility observed yet.

Blue-eyed cats and deafness.

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 June – 7 July 1863
Classmark:  DAR 178: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4233
Document type
letter (19)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1863
06
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (1)
08 (1)
09 (1)
10 (3)
16 (1)
17 (1)
18 (1)
19 (1)
21 (1)
23 (1)
27 (1)
28 (1)
29 (2)
letter