skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1863::01 in date [X]
70 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4  Next

To Joseph Dalton Hooker   3 January [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Indignant over Owen’s conduct as described in Hugh Falconer’s article on elephants ["On the American fossil elephant of the regions bordering the Gulf of Mexico", Nat. Hist. Rev. (1863): 43–114].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  3 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 178
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3898

From Hugh Falconer   3 January [1863]

Summary

Describes an astounding "sort of mis-begotten-bird-creature", the Archaeopteryx, a grand Darwinian case.

His elephant paper is out in Natural History Review [(1863): 43–114].

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3899

To John Lubbock   4 January [1863]

Summary

Praises JL’s article ["North American archaeology", Nat. Hist. Rev. n.s. 3 (1863): 1–26]

and Hugh Falconer on the American fossil elephant [Nat. Hist. Rev. n.s. 3 (1863): 43–114].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  4 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3900

To Hugh Falconer   5 [and 6] January [1863]

Summary

His admiration for HF’s paper on American fossil elephant.

Notes "temporary irruption of S. American forms into N. America".

Rejoices that HF has "smashed" case of Mastodon on Timor.

Shares HF’s anger at Owen.

He is eager to hear about fossil bird [Archaeopteryx].

Comments on criticisms of species theory by [Johann Andreas?] Wagner.

Describes research on fertilisation of Melastomataceae.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  5 and 6 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 144: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3901

From J. D. Hooker   6 January 1863

thumbnail

Summary

Falconer’s elephant paper.

Owen’s conduct.

Falconer’s view of CD’s theory: independence of natural selection and variation.

JDH on Tocqueville,

the principles of the Origin,

and the evils of American democracy.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 101: 88–91
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3902

From John Lubbock   6 January [1863]

Summary

Is pleased by CD’s praise of his article.

Hugh Falconer’s is certainly interesting.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3903

From John Scott   6 January 1863

Summary

Sends Primula scotica and P. farinosa.

So far cannot fertilise Gongora atropurpurea although it is similar to Acropera luteola.

Experimenting on intergeneric hybrids to test CD’s view that sterility is not a special endowment.

Scott’s personal history.

Acropera capsule grows.

Plans for experiments CD has suggested on Primula, peloric Antirrhinum, and Verbascum.

Asks about Gärtner’s experiments on maize.

Aware of Anderson-Henry’s failures.

Through kindness of J. H. Balfour and James McNab, enjoys facilities for research. JS is in charge of the propagating department. Balfour almost engaged him to be superintendent of the Madras Horticultural Garden.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 177: 81, 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3904

To James Dwight Dana   7 January [1863]

Summary

Responds to JDD’s letter [3845].

Discusses his own poor health.

"Man is our great subject at present."

Lyell’s book [Antiquity of man (1863)] sold 4000 copies on day of sale.

"The fossil bird [Archaeopteryx] … is a grand case for me." Wishes a skeleton could be found in the "so-called red sandstone foot-step beds".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Dwight Dana
Date:  7 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Yale University Library: Manuscripts and Archives (Dana Family Papers (MS 164) Series 1, Box 2, folder 44)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3905

To Thomas Rivers   7 January [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for parcel of shoots with several interesting cases of "bud-variation".

Asks for information about roses.

Strange that great changes in peaches are less rare than slight ones and no case seems recorded of new apples or pears or apricots by "bud-variation". "How ignorant we are!"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Rivers
Date:  7 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 81
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3906

From Hugh Falconer   8 January [1863]

Summary

Comments on his elephant paper

and CD’s observations on dimorphism in Melastomataceae.

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3908

To John Scott   8 January [1863]

Summary

CD’s respect for JS’s indomitable work and interesting experiments increases steadily.

His gratitude for the primulas and the astonishing Gongora specimen.

Asks JS’s opinion about crossing a primrose with the pollen of a wild cowslip and of a cultivated polyanthus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  8 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Transactions of the Hawick Archæological Society (1908): 67
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3908F

From Hugh Falconer   9 January 1863

Summary

Answers CD’s query on the free digits of Archaeopteryx.

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 164: 12
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3909

To Thomas Rivers   11 January [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for "rich and valuable" letter [missing].

Has read TR’s paper in Gardeners’ Chronicle ["Seedling fruits – plums", (1863): 27] – "a treasure to me".

Questions about seedling peaches that approach almonds.

Asks whether TR has ever observed varieties of plants growing close to other varieties for several generations without being affected by crossing.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Rivers
Date:  11 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 82
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3910

To Henry Walter Bates   12 January [1863]

Summary

Asa Gray will try to get HWB’s paper reviewed.

Also mentions that he (CD) wrote a short review of it for Natural History Review [Collected papers 2: 87–92].

Asks whether bees or Lepidoptera visit flowers of Melastomataceae.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  12 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3911

From George Varenne Reed   12 January 1863

Summary

Sorry CD considers Horace Darwin unfit for school.

Author:  George Varenne Reed
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 176: 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3912

To J. D. Hooker   13 January [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Acquired characteristics.

Huxley’s lectures: good on induction, bad on sterility, obscure on geology.

Asa Gray on slavery.

Falconer’s partial conversion.

Alphonse de Candolle on Origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  13 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 179
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3913

To Smith, Elder & Company   14 January [1863]

Summary

Asks for account of sales of Geology of "Beagle". Willing to consider offer for remaining stock in order to close account.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Smith, Elder & Co
Date:  14 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (Ms.23181, ff.1-5 (S. E. & Co. work slip, ff.1-2, letter ff.3-4, address envelope f.5))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3914

From Alfred Russel Wallace   14 January [1863]

Summary

Health.

Is sending information about Timor fossils to be forwarded to Hugh Falconer.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 106: B7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3915

From J. P. Thom   14 January 1863

Summary

Thanks for a gift of £20.

Author:  J. P. Thom
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 178: 107
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3916

To Alphonse de Candolle   14 January [1863]

Summary

Thanks AdeC for his memoir ["Étude sur l’espèce", Ann. Sci. Nat. (Bot.) 4th ser. 18 (1862): 59–110].

CD astonished at the amount of variability in the oaks.

CD differs from most contemporaries in thinking that the vast continental extensions of Forbes, Heer, and others are not only advanced without sufficient evidence but are opposed to much weighty evidence.

AdeC’s comment on CD’s work [Origin] is generous.

CD is satisfied at the length AdeC goes with him and is not surprised at his prudent reservations. He remembers how many years it took him to change his old beliefs. The great point is to give up immutability. So long as species are thought immutable there can be no progress in "epiontology" [see ML 1: 234 n.]. CD is sure to be proved wrong in many points but the subject will have "a grand future".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alphonse de Candolle
Date:  14 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Archives de la famille de Candolle (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3917
Document type
letter (70)
Date
1863
01
01 (2)
02 (1)
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (1)
06 (3)
07 (2)
08 (2)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (1)
12 (3)
13 (1)
14 (4)
15 (2)
16 (2)
17 (4)
18 (1)
19 (2)
20 (3)
21 (3)
22 (3)
23 (3)
24 (3)
25 (2)
26 (7)
27 (2)
28 (1)
30 (3)
31 (4)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4  Next
letter