skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1863::01 in date [X]
70 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4  Next

From Friedrich Rolle   26 January 1863

Summary

Pleased that his book, Ch. Darwin’s Lehre [1863], has CD’s approval.

FR formerly a geologist, now a dealer in natural history objects.

Most active supporter of CD’s theory is Gustav Jäger in Vienna.

FR regards fossil Hipparion as a link between horse and pachyderms.

Author:  Friedrich Rolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 176: 201
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3947

To Francis Trevelyan Buckland   26 January [1863]

Summary

Asks FB’s help in identifying an article in The Field about the fins of fishes growing again after being cut off, and inquiring whether he has heard of the re-growth of organs in the mammalia or birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Trevelyan (Frank) Buckland
Date:  26 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Christie’s, London (dealers) (23 June 1993, lot 146)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3948F

From W. B. Tegetmeier   [after 26 January 1863]

Summary

Does not believe in regeneration of monstrous toe.

Pigeon and poultry experiments.

Peculiar pigeon at Philoperisteron [pigeon fanciers’ club].

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 26 Jan 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3949

From Asa Gray   27 January 1863

Summary

Discusses the ill-will between England and U. S.

Considers the bases for deciding which plant species are "high" and which "low".

Comments on Alphonse de Candolle’s paper on oaks ["Étude sur l’espèce", Ann. Sci. Nat. (Bot.) 4th ser. 18 (1862): 59–110].

Encloses S. H. Scudder’s letter on Lepidoptera and fertilisation of orchids which identifies a butterfly with Platanthera pollinia adhering to it. Jokingly applies natural selection to butterflies acted on by orchid pollinia.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 165: 129, 130
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3950

To Journal of Horticulture and Cottage Gardener   [before 27 January 1863]

Summary

Remarks on the influence of pollen of one species or variety on the seed and fruit of another while still attached to the female plant. Refers to a remarkable case previously given by D. Beaton and asks whether Beaton will repeat the details.

[CD’s letter is followed by notes by D. Beaton in which he answers CD’s question, dissociating himself from some of his remarks, and in particular denying C. F. v. Gärtner’s claim that colour of one variety of pea can be changed by the direct action of the pollen of a different variety.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Journal of Horticulture
Date:  [before 27 Jan 1863]
Classmark:  Journal of Horticulture and Cottage Gardener n.s. 4 (1863): 70
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3951

From Thomas Francis Jamieson   28 January 1863

Summary

Grateful for CD’s commendation of his Glen Roy paper ["Parallel roads of Glen Roy", Q. J. Geol. Soc. Lond. 19 (1863): 235–59].

Reading Justus Liebig [trans. William Gregory, Animal chemistry or organic chemistry (1842)] has suggested that pattern of evolutionary succession might depend on differential need for soil minerals.

Author:  Thomas Francis Jamieson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 168: 45
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3952

To J. D. Hooker   30 January [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Naudin has not answered CD’s letter.

Reactions of Candolle, Naudin, Decaisne, and Gaston de Saporta to Origin.

CD’s new hothouse.

CD’s Linum paper.

JDH’s work on Welwitschia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  30 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 180
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3953

To Friedrich Rolle   30 January [1863]

Summary

Thanks FR for sketch of progress of evolutionary theory in Germany.

Compliments to Gustav Jäger.

Comments on FR’s book [Ch. Darwin’s Lehre (1863)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friedrich Rolle
Date:  30 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Senckenberg Forschungsinstitut und Naturmuseum, Frankfurt (SNG-Archiv: Malakol.: Nachlass Rolle)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3954

From Thomas Rivers   30 January 1863

Summary

Asks CD’s views on TR’s observations that leaves breathe from their under-surfaces.

Peach-trees in hothouses cannot be kept in health unless fresh air is admitted so as to make its way under the leaves.

Continues his observations on the effect of environment on men – those migrating to America gradually assuming Indian-like features.

Author:  Thomas Rivers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 176: 162
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3955

To Roland Trimen   31 January [1863]

Summary

Thanks RT for his letter and MS.

Is astonished by the different forms of orchids he describes.

Urges RT to describe and experiment with two or three of the more distinct genera.

"I believe, or am inclined to believe in one or very few primordial forms, from community of structure and early embryonic resemblances in each great class."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Roland Trimen
Date:  31 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Royal Entomological Society (Trimen papers, box 21: 78)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3956

To Alphonse de Candolle   31 January [1863]

Summary

CD thinks that he believes in as much migration as AdeC, only he does not believe nearly so much in continental extensions. CD also believes more in modification in form though he suspects the difference is not so great.

Thanks AdeC for information on melons, oranges,

and Swiss lake-habitation discoveries.

CD is almost tired of his book on variation under domestication, for his knowledge is insufficient to treat the plant part well, but he has done so much that he will finish it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alphonse de Candolle
Date:  31 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Archives de la famille de Candolle (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3957

From A. R. Wallace   [23 January 1863?]

thumbnail

Summary

Now recalls a Melastoma visited by some small Cetoniadae and bees (Xylocopa) in Malay Archipelago.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [23 Jan 1863?]
Classmark:  DAR 205.8: 70 (Letters)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4390

From E. A. Darwin   [1863–6?]

Summary

Has signed for the shares. Fears CD’s "good time" has not lasted long.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1863–6?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B34
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4726

To T. H. Huxley   23 January [1863 or 1864]

Summary

THH’s efforts to obtain Copley Medal for CD fail. Thanks THH for kind words of sympathy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  23 Jan [1863-4]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 254)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2662

From Erasmus Alvey Darwin   21 [January 1863]

Summary

Will be glad to have CD.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 [Jan 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B15–16
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3399

To [Friedrich Emil Suchsland]   [after 19 January 1863]

Summary

Returns book by Friedrich Rolle. Author has sent copies.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friedrich Emil Suchsland
Date:  [after 19 Jan 1863]
Classmark:  J. A. Stargardt (catalogue 618, item 441)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3772

To Daniel Oliver   20 [January 1863]

Summary

Has been copying out references from Natural History Review [possibly D. Oliver, "The structure of the stem in dicotyledons; being references to the literature of the subject", Nat. Hist. Rev. n.s. 2 (1862): 298–329].

Suggests DO study high incidence of separate sexes in freshwater plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  20 [Jan 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 38 (EH 88206021)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3776

To Thomas Henry Huxley   10 [January 1863]

Summary

CD overwhelmed by THH’s praise.

Agrees with his reservations about species theory but not wholly about sterility and gives his reasons for differing.

On Natural History Review, Hugh Falconer, and R. Owen.

Has written a review [Collected papers 2: 87–92] of H. W. Bates’s paper ["Contributions to an insect fauna of the Amazon valley", Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 23 (1862): 495–566].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  10 [Jan 1863]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 183)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3852

From J. D. Hooker   [12 January 1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Huxley’s lectures [Man’s place in nature (1863)]; he would be a scientific H. T. Buckle, if he were more careful.

Asks CD what the evidence is for inheritance of acquired characteristics.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [12 Jan 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3892

To Asa Gray   2 January [1863]

Summary

Thanks AG for Cypripedium and Mitchella.

Plans to investigate pollination of Cypripedium.

Has finished Linum paper [Collected papers 2: 93–105].

Would welcome facts on "bud-variations".

Hears that Cinchona is dimorphic.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  2 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (56)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3897
Document type
letter (70)
Date
1863
01
01 (2)
02 (1)
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (1)
06 (3)
07 (2)
08 (2)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (1)
12 (3)
13 (1)
14 (4)
15 (2)
16 (2)
17 (4)
18 (1)
19 (2)
20 (3)
21 (3)
22 (3)
23 (3)
24 (3)
25 (2)
26 (7)
27 (2)
28 (1)
30 (3)
31 (4)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4  Next
letter