skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1862 in date [X]
547 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Daniel Oliver   [17 September 1862]

Summary

Performed a large number of Lythrum crosses before leaving home.

Working on Drosera for amusement. Has tried effect on plants of vegetable substances active on animal nervous systems, e.g., opium; makes Drosera inactive for hours.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  [17 Sept 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 36 (EH 88206019)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3709

To Asa Gray   [3–]4 September [1862]

Summary

Glad AG will publish some separate notes on orchids ["Fertilization of orchids through the agency of insects", Am. J. Sci. 2d ser. 34 (1862): 420–9].

Trimorphism in Lythrum.

Bee behaviour.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  [3–]4 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (68)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3710

From Daniel Oliver   4 September 1862

Summary

Sends flowers with anthers of two colours.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 173: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3711

From Asa Gray   5 September 1862

Summary

Suggests CD try to get Lythrum hyssopifolia from France.

Dimorphic flowers.

Differences between newly opened and older orchids.

Flowers of Spiranthes and Goodyera.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 111: 81, DAR 165: 117
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3712

To John Lubbock   5 September [1862]

Summary

Finds JL’s facts on the diving insect that remains four hours under water new and interesting [see "On two aquatic Hymenoptera", Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 24 (1864): 135–42].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  5 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 263
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3713

To A. C. Ramsay   5 September [1862]

Summary

On ACR’s paper on glacial origin of lakes. CD thinks it is correct. Suggests further investigation to corroborate it. His only doubt has to do with areas of great activity.

On ACR’s view of cause of glacial period: CD did battle with Hooker on same point.

T. F. Jamieson has smashed CD’s Glen Roy marine theory in splendid style.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Date:  5 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.9: 7 (EH 88205980)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3714

From Edouard Claparède   6 September 1862

Summary

Acknowledges CD’s approval of his review of Origin in Revue Germanique [16 (1861): 523–59; 17 (1861): 232–63]. Praises natural selection;

criticises C.-A. Royer’s [French] translation.

Author:  Jean Louis René Antoine Edouard (Edouard) Claparède
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.1: 149
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3715

From G. C. Oxenden   11 September 1862

Summary

He collected Splachnum luteum north of Spitzbergen 40 years ago. Now an acquaintance has brought the plant back from the identical spot.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 173: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3716

To W. D. Fox   12 September [1862]

Summary

WDF’s information on turkeys will be useful when CD resumes his half-finished volume [see Variation 1: 292].

Illness in the family.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  12 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 134)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3717

From Daniel Oliver   13 September 1862

Summary

Has given directions to save seeds of Lythrum hyssopifolium.

CD’s diagram of Lythrum salicaria is very remarkable. [See Collected papers 2: 107.]

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 111 (ser. 2): 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3718

From Edward Cresy   13 September 1862

Summary

Walter White [Asst.-Sec. and Librarian, Royal Society] has introduced EC to Richard Kippist of the Linnean Society, who has made little progress toward accepting Origin.

Author:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.2: 240
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3719

To Daniel Oliver   14 September [1862]

Summary

Asks DO to name enclosed Lythrum received from CD’s sister-in-law [Sarah Elizabeth Wedgwood]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  14 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 37 (EH 88206020)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3720

To J. D. Hooker   11 September [1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Has passed the time by dissecting flowers of Cruciferae. Sends results, with diagrams, to JDH.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  11 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 162
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3721

From Daniel Oliver   14 April 1862

Summary

Discusses primrose ovules,

Atlantis paper [Nat. Hist. Rev. (1862): 149–70],

plant migrations;

Corydalis.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Apr 1862
Classmark:  DAR 101: 54–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3722

To John Lindley   14 September [1862]

Summary

Thanks JL for review [of Orchids, Gard. Chron. (1862): 789–90, 863]; CD published almost by accident, having been led on in part by encouragement from JL.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lindley
Date:  14 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Lindley letters, A–K: 192)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3723

To Edward Cresy   15 September [1862]

Summary

Son [Leonard] ill with scarlet fever. Also Mrs Darwin.

Intends to give up work on Drosera until Variation is done.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  15 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 322
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3724

From J. D. Hooker   16 September 1862

thumbnail

Summary

Wife’s health better.

Visited Duke of Argyll.

Thanks CD for Cruciferae diagram; will ponder it.

Staggered by complexity of Welwitschia.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 101: 56–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3725

From C. C. Babington   16 September 1862

Summary

Hopes to have Lythrum hyssopifolium seeds to send soon.

BAAS is meeting in Cambridge and all eminent Cambridge men are wanted present. If his health were reliable, CD would be in chair of Botany and Zoology Section.

Author:  Charles Cardale Babington
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3726

From Philip Gidley King   16 September 1862

Summary

PGK’s brother is coming to England and will call on CD.

He is impressed but not absolutely convinced by the Origin.

Raises a question about which CD wrote years ago: why do sheep degenerate in Australia, necessitating periodic importation?

Author:  Philip Gidley King
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 169: 26
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3727

From G. C. Oxenden   17 September [1862]

Summary

Strongly recommends Condy’s "Ozonised Disinfectant" as a cure for scarlet fever.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Sept [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 173: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3728
Document type
letter (547)
Correspondent
Date
1862
01 (55)
02 (40)
03 (34)
04 (35)
05 (54)
06 (55)
07 (51)
08 (32)
09 (42)
10 (49)
11 (48)
12 (52)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter