skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1862 in date [X]
547 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Pickard & Stoneman   1 December [1862]


Asks for information about cases for stove-plants. [Answers recorded in another hand.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  1 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.283)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3839

To Ladies   24 February [1862–9]


Thanks for their kind feelings towards him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  24 Feb [1862-9]
Classmark:  R. M. Smythe & Co., New York
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5418F

To ?   21 August [1862]


Thanks for monstrous floral specimen, but it is a common one.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  21 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  Lawrences Auctioneers, Crewkerne, Somerset, 2009
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3693F

To ?   11 March [1862–9]


Gives permission to insert in his magazine anything from CD’s works.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  11 Mar [1862-9]
Classmark:  Karpeles Manuscript Library Museums
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13877F

To ?   29 March [1862–9]


Declines, regretfully, to contribute to or to have his name appear on a new magazine.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  29 Mar [1862-9]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection (MS.7781/1–32 item 8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13878

From George Chichester Oxenden   5 June [1862 or 1864?]


Sends musk orchid.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 June [1862 or 1864]
Classmark:  DAR 173: 63
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4520

From George Chichester Oxenden   5 July [1862]


His gardener kept an all-night watch on Epipactis palustris but saw no insects visit.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 July [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 173: 64
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4553

From G. C. Oxenden   13 July [1862]


Offers more Epipactis.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 July [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 173: 65
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4565

To John William Salter   28 February [1862]


CD returns a paper he has received through [G. B.?] Sowerby. He wishes he could persuade his correspondent to publish papers on such subjects. The series on brachiopods was very striking.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John William Salter
Date:  28 Feb [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5019

To J. H. Balfour   15 June [1862?]


Thanks JHB for specimen of Corallorrhiza;

would like some seeds of Corydalis claviculata.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Hutton Balfour
Date:  15 June [1862?]
Classmark:  Yale University Library: Manuscripts and Archives (Louis Mayer Rabinovitz Collection (MS 1044) Box 1, folder 2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5122

To Joseph Bullar   27 June [1862]


Thanks JB for "orchid flowers with Diptera".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Bullar
Date:  27 June [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.256)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6806

From Asa Gray   9 December 1862


Has forwarded Mitchella roots and Cypripedium.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Dec 1862
Classmark:  DAR 165: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3850

From Julius von Haast   9 December 1862


Will try to procure specimens of native rat and frog for CD. Will be glad to make observations for him.

Cites case of a species of duck that normally nests on ground but builds in trees if disturbed.

Author:  John Francis Julius (Julius) von Haast
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Dec 1862
Classmark:  LS
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3851

To John Scott   11 December [1862]


Criticises style of JS’s fern paper [Edinburgh New Philos. J. 2d ser. 16 (1862): 209–27].

JS’s remark on "the two sexes counteracting variability in the product of the one" is new to CD.

Does the female [fern?] plant always produce female by parthenogenesis?

They seem to work on same subjects; CD has much material on Drosera.

Does not understand JS’s objections to natural selection.

Offers to suggest experiments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  11 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 93: B37, B49–52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3853

From Edinburgh Royal Medical Society   [before 12 December 1862]


A diploma enrolling CD as an honorary member of the Society.

Author:  Edinburgh Royal Medical Society
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 12 Dec 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 229: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3853F

To William Forsell Kirby   12 December [1862]


CD sends thanks for Manual of European butterflies [1862].

Is pleased that WFK does not believe in immutability of species, "a doctrine perfectly adapted to stop philosophical research", and hopes he will publish further.

Notes WFK’s name is the same as the entomologist’s.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Forsell Kirby
Date:  12 Dec [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3854

To J. D. Hooker   12 [December 1862]



Maintains his view on crossing. Thinks practical breeders would agree with him; doubts that variability and domestication are at all necessarily correlative.

Identical plants in different conditions a heavy argument against "direct action" [of physical conditions].

His 1000-pigeon case is altered if long-beaked are in least degree sterile with short-beaked.

His work on dimorphism inclines him to believe that sterility is at first a selected quality to keep incipient species distinct.

Case of easy modification of Lythrum pollen to favour or prevent crossing.


Has just finished chapter on variations of cultivated plants.

Edinburgh doctors have sent him Diploma of Medical Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  12 [Dec 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 176
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3855

From J. D. Hooker   [21 December 1862]



"Throttled off" Welwitschia paper at Linnean Society [Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 24 (1863): 1–48].

Has read Tocqueville’s Democracy in America [1835–40] – disagrees with it. Tocqueville says democracy in America is a success. Democracy has persisted because there has been no cause for its overthrow (i.e., no struggle for existence, too much mobility).

Sends J. W. Dawson’s unsatisfactory letter.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [21 Dec 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 80–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3856

From A. C. Ramsay   13 December 1862


Sends 3d ed. of catalogue of rocks [A descriptive catalogue of the rock specimens in the Museum of Practical Geology (1862)].

T. F. Jamieson’s paper on the parallel roads of Glen Roy to be read 20 January. Asks whether CD will be a referee.

Author:  Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Dec 1862
Classmark:  DAR 176: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3857

From E. A. Darwin   14 December [1862?]


Describes a box which has come for CD.

Asks for John Price’s address.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Dec [1862?]
Classmark:  DAR 105 (ser. 2): 12
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3859
Document type
letter (547)
01 (55)
02 (40)
03 (34)
04 (35)
05 (54)
06 (55)
07 (51)
08 (32)
09 (42)
10 (49)
11 (48)
12 (52)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next