skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1862::07 in date [X]
51 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To William Pamplin   4 [July 1862]

Summary

Requests priced samples of paper for mounting dried plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Pamplin
Date:  4 [July 1862]
Classmark:  Bangor University Archives and Special Collections (Pamplin papers PAMP/40)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13871

To John St Barbe   [before 3 July 1862]

Summary

Wishes to invest some money in railway shares; asks for the advice of the bank’s brokers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Union Bank
Date:  [before 3 July 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3358

To John St Barbe   [16 July 1862]

Summary

Wants to invest some money, as Treasurer of the Down Friendly Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John St Barbe
Date:  [16 July 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 3r
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3360

From Armand de Quatrefages   [after 11 July 1862]

Summary

Their views on transformism differ a great deal, as CD says, but perhaps not as much as CD thinks. Sending his [Physiologie comparée: métamorphoses de l’homme et des animaux (1862)].

Author:  Jean Louis Armand (Armand de Quatrefages) Quatrefages de Bréau
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 11 July 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 175: 8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3524

To W. E. Darwin   [24 July 1862]

Summary

Discusses dimorphic plants, valerian and Erythraea. Would like to look at them; suggests WED draw up a paper on them.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [24 July 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 101
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3632

To Asa Gray   1 July [1862]

Summary

Thanks for notes on Cypripedium and Platanthera hookeri, which is really beautiful and quite a new case.

His son, George, has been observing the insect fertilisation of orchids.

CD has been crossing peloric flowers of Pelargonium, but doubts he will get good results with respect to sterility of hybrids.

Rhexia glandulosa does not appear to be dimorphic. Lythrum is trimorphic.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  1 July [1862]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (69)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3634

From E. A. Darwin   1 July [1862]

Summary

Asks for a note to the Geological Society, since the museum did not have the book Carlyle wanted.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 July [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 105 (ser. 2): 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3635

From John Murray   [1 July – 23 August 1862]

Summary

Account of Orchids.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 July – 23 Aug 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 525
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3635F

From J. D. Hooker   2 July 1862

thumbnail

Summary

Will see to Masdevallia and Bonatea.

Domestic matters.

Lyell’s health.

CD’s eczema.

Hopes CD will solve the mystery of Melastoma.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July 1862
Classmark:  DAR 101: 44–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3636

From Asa Gray   2–3 July 1862

Summary

Discusses dimorphic plants and the occurrence of "precocious fertilisation" in the bud.

Gives some comments on design in nature in the light of the translator’s commentary in the French edition of the Origin.

Reports the recent events of the Civil War.

[Note on verso of envelope:] Utricularia vulgaris is "about as neatly contrived for cross-fertilisation by insects as almost any orchid".

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2-3 July 1862
Classmark:  DAR 165: 110a, 112–12a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3637

From E. A. Darwin   2 July [1862]

Summary

Never mind the letter to the Geological Society; the museum got the book for Carlyle.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 105 (ser. 2): 7–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3638

From Frederick Currey   3 July 1862

Summary

G. B. Wollaston [in "British Orchideae", Phytologist n.s. 1 (1855–6): 225–7] says Ophrys arachnites is a hybrid, which contradicts CD, who says it is a new species.

Author:  Frederick Currey
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 July 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.2: 306
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3639

To George Maw   3 July [1862]

Summary

Thinks GM’s Pelargonium is a case of true correlated characters. Feels secondary sexual characters are only accidental correlations; does not see the same necessity for close simultaneous development of certain characters as GM does.

Will forward a copy of his Orchids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Maw
Date:  3 July [1862]
Classmark:  Royal Horticultural Society, Lindley Library (MAW/1/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3640

To Armand de Quatrefages   3 July [1862]

Summary

Can AdeQ verify the statement that the moths of the several races of the common silkworm are very similar?

When the female moth comes out of the cocoon, are her wings less developed than those of a male moth at the same stage?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Louis Armand (Armand de Quatrefages) Quatrefages de Bréau
Date:  3 July [1862]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque nationale de France, département des Manuscrits (Manuscripts NAF 11824 ff. 68–9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3640F

To W. E. Darwin   4 [July 1862]

Summary

Reports some observations on the fertilisation of wheat which WED might follow up.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  4 [July 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 100
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3641

From William Alexander Wooler   5 July 1862

Summary

Believes, contrary to CD, that when anthers arise from petals the development of the pollen is affected by the amputation of the petal.

Believes interbreeding can be used to combine desirable characters, but that, carried beyond narrow limits, it leads to deterioration of the breed.

Has been experimenting on crossing polyanthus.

Author:  William Alexander Wooler
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 July 1862
Classmark:  DAR 181: 157
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3642

From Charles Giles Bridle Daubeny   5 July 1862

Summary

Sends concluding part of his recent lecture on orchids so CD may see how his inquiries were represented in one of the great centres of clerical influence.

Asks whether insects are attracted to one species of orchids more than another.

Author:  Charles Giles Bridle Daubeny
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 July 1862
Classmark:  DAR 162.1: 115
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3643

From George Maw   7 July 1862

Summary

Thanks CD for sending Orchids.

Reports observations by his uncle relating to the successful breeding of a male mule with a horse.

Author:  George Maw
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1862
Classmark:  DAR 171.1: 96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3644

From W. E. Darwin   8 July [1862]

Summary

WED reports on studying the pollen of grass and Valerian through his microscope.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 July [1862]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3644F

To M. T. Masters   8 July [1862]

Summary

CD has been experimenting on the fertility of peloric flowers, with the forlorn hope of illustrating sterility of hybrids; seeks further plants or seeds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Date:  8 July [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3645
Document type
letter (51)
Date
1862
07
01 (3)
02 (3)
03 (4)
04 (2)
05 (3)
07 (1)
08 (4)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (4)
12 (1)
13 (1)
14 (4)
15 (3)
16 (1)
17 (1)
21 (1)
22 (1)
23 (1)
24 (4)
26 (1)
28 (3)
29 (2)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter