skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1862::05 in date [X]
54 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3

From G. C. Oxenden   [before 30 May 1862]

Summary

Has looked for [Ophrys] arachnites for CD, but it is too early in the season.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 30 May 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 173.1: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3526

From J. D. Hooker   [17 May 1862]

Summary

Discusses Leschenaultia, finds no stigmatic surface in the indusium.

Gives information on where to obtain paper for drying plants and where to obtain a microscope.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [17 May 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 28 (EH 88206079)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3527

To J. B. Innes   1 May [1862]

Summary

Quiz has had to be killed because he became vicious.

Horace Darwin strangely ill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  1 May [1862]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3528

To J. D. Hooker   1 May [1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Asks JDH to look at stigma of Leschenaultia biloba; it seems certain there is no stigma within the bud. Case would be important.

Singular case of peculiar structure now remodified into the functional condition of a Campanula.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  1 May [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 153
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3529

From J. D. Hooker   [16 May 1862]

Summary

Has dissected Leschenaultia biloba flowers. Finds no stigmatic surface in the indusium. Describes what is the apparent stigma but has found no pollen-tubes to confirm it as the real one.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [16 May 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 27 (EH 88206079))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3530

To John Murray   2 May [1862]

Summary

Has returned last page of index [of Orchids]. Hopes JM will reconsider price – 10s seems high. Suggests two reviewers likely to be favourable. Sends list for presentation copies.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  2 May [1862]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 118–119)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3531

To H. W. Bates   4 May [1862]

Summary

Thanks for letter and "valuable" extracts.

If S. American Carabi differ more from other species than do those from other distant locations (e.g., Siberia, Europe, etc.), CD agrees that difference would be too great to have occurred in the recent glacial age; CD also rejects independent origin. Plants seem to migrate more readily than animals. HWB should not underrate length of glacial period; CD also believes they will be driven to an older glacial period.

Sorry about news of British Museum – hopeless to contend against anyone supported by Owen.

CD dearly wishes HWB could find a situation in which he could give time to science.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  4 May [1862]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection).
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3532

From J. B. Innes   5 May [1862]

Summary

About Quiz and [Horace Darwin’s] health.

Asks whether CD has tried W. B. Tegetmeier’s beehives.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 May [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 167: 9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3534

From T. H. Huxley   6 May 1862

Summary

Glad to receive CD’s pat on back for address.

Wants to know what CD thinks of the argument on geological contemporaneity.

On his poor health.

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 May 1862
Classmark:  DAR 166.2: 293
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3535

From J. D. Hooker   [5 May 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Household problems – stolen silver, maids. His house for some months has had reputation for being not a little disreputable.

On Cameroon plants.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [5 May 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 33, 134a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3537

From Hugh Falconer   7 May [1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Wanted to talk with CD about the astonishing new Pliocene fossil discoveries in North America reported by Leidy. One horse fossil’s dentition, if it could be believed, would be of great interest to CD’s views.

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 May [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 205.9: 380
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3538

To Hugh Falconer   [8 May 1862]

Summary

Will try to call tomorrow. What HF tells him about horses makes him eager to come.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  [8 May 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3539

To Leonard Jenyns   24 May [1862]

Summary

Thanks LJ for Memoir of Henslow; thinks it will be invaluable as an example to other clergymen.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  24 May [1862]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3569

From Leonard Jenyns   28 May 1862

Summary

Pleased with CD’s opinion of the Henslow Memoir [L. Jenyns, Memoir of the Rev. John Stevens Henslow (1862)]

Author:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 May 1862
Classmark:  DAR 168: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3573
Document type
letter (54)
Date
1862
05
01 (2)
02 (1)
04 (1)
05 (2)
06 (1)
07 (1)
08 (2)
09 (2)
10 (1)
12 (2)
14 (3)
15 (6)
16 (2)
17 (4)
18 (3)
19 (5)
22 (1)
23 (2)
24 (2)
25 (1)
26 (1)
28 (1)
29 (1)
30 (5)
31 (2)
Page: Prev  1 2 3
letter