skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1860::11 in date [X]
37 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To Edward Cresy   [12 November 1860]


Thanks for information about the weight of water.

Describes experiments on Drosera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [12 Nov 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2620

From Charles Lyell   [before 20 November 1860]


Discusses the possibility of a land-bridge connecting Biscay with Ireland and the consequent occurrence in southern Ireland of Asturian plants which are absent from England.

Asks if Hooker or anyone has criticised Edward Forbes’ botanical migration of five floras in the British Isles ["On the connexion between the distribution of existing fauna and flora of the British Isles, and the geological changes which have affected their area", Mem. Geol. Surv. G. B. 1 (1846): 336–432].

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 20 Nov 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 170.2: 80
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2902

To T. H. Huxley   1 November [1860]


THH’s term "Pithecoid Man" is a theory in itself.

CD is convinced that his doctrine of a mundane period of glaciation is correct.

Henrietta’s serious illness.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  1 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 141)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2972

To Edward Cresy   2 November [1860]


Thanks for pamphlet by A. S. Taylor.

"… we have had a terrible week with my poor girl [Henrietta] on the point of death".

Discusses experiments involving placing solutions of ammonia and other substances on leaves of plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  2 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2973

To Edward Cresy   2 November [1860]


Discusses pamphlet by A. S. Taylor

and note by A. W. v. Hofmann concerning iodine solution.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  2 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2974

To Daniel Oliver   3 November [1860]


DO’s candidacy for Professorship of Botany [at University College, London].

Henrietta’s health is better.

Paper in Botanische Zeitung [T. Nitschke, "Über die Reizbarkeit der Blätter von Drosera rotundifolia", 18: 229–34, 237–45, 245–50] missed leading point that plants close longer over animal substances. Carbonate of ammonia works on Lemna and Euphorbia roots.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  3 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 24 (EH 88206008)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2975

To J. M. Rodwell   5 November [1860]


Comments on relationship between eye-colour and deafness in cats [discussed in Origin]. Asks for more information.

Mentions criticism of Origin.

Thanks for information about horses.

Hopes JMR writes his book on language. Mentions Hensleigh Wedgwood’s work [A dictionary of English etymology, 3 vols. (1859–65)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Medows Rodwell
Date:  5 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 328; Bradford Museums and Galleries: Cliffe Castle Museum, Keighley (NH.6.40 p. 641)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2976

To Daniel Oliver   7 November [1860]


Congratulations on Professorship.

Homologies between Drosera and Dionaea. Carbonate of ammonia on roots. Wants W. H. Fitch to make drawings of Dionaea. Will copy minute structure of hairs from Trécul [see 2965].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  7 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 25 (EH 88206009)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2977

To W. E. Darwin   [9 November 1860]


Discusses Henrietta’s illness and their plans to return to Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [9 Nov 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2978

To T. H. Huxley   10 November [1860]


On the prospectus of Natural History Review. Suggests it might offer information on whether subjects that correspondents may wish to investigate have been done already.

Henrietta still very seriously ill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  10 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 143)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2979

From Edward Cresy   10 November 1860


Explains discrepancies in weights and measures caused by changes since 1836 in apothecaries’ measures.

EC has found that a discrepancy in A. W. von Hofmann’s experiments with iodine solutions resulted from an error in Hofmann’s use of decimals.

Reports S. P. Woodward’s opinion of the Origin: "a very sad book, it unsettles all one’s religious principles and the worst of it is so much of it is true".

Author:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Nov 1860
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 7, 9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2980

To J. S. Henslow   10 November [1860]


The stone hatchets are a great muddle. Would like a copy of Jacques Boucher [de Crèvecoeur] de Perthes’s book [Antiquités Celtiques et antédiluviennes (1847–64)].

Is studying action of carbonate of ammonia on Drosera. Asks if this has been done.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  10 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A83–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2981

To G. V. Reed   12 November [1860]


The family was detained at Eastbourne by a setback in Henrietta’s health.

Will send Leonard for tutoring on Thursday morning. Frank is doing capitally at school.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Varenne Reed
Date:  12 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Buckinghamshire Record Office (D.22.39.5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2982

To John Phillips   14 November [1860]


Thanks JP for copy of his Life on the earth [1860].

Is sorry, but not surprised, to see that JP is "dead against" CD on the Origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  14 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History Archive Collections (John Phillips collection))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2983

From Trenham Reeks   15 November 1860



Sends weights of three objects (blotting paper, thread, and hair) to within 1/1000 of a grain.

Author:  Trenham Reeks
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Nov 1860
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 10–11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2984

To Daniel Oliver   16 November [1860]


One thirty-thousandth of a grain of human hair inflects a single Drosera hair. Astonished by his results so he is not publishing until next summer. [Not published until 1875, Insectivorous plants. See ch. 2 for observations on inflection.]

Wants to study effects of acids on live Dionaea. Oliver should do their anatomy. Corresponding with chemical physiologists about carbonate of ammonia on roots.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  16 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 26 (EH 88206010)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2985

To T. H. Huxley   16 November [1860]


Thanks THH for his lecture ["On the study of zoology", Lay sermons, addresses and reviews (1870), pp. 104–31]. Best exposé and classification of the higher objects of natural history he has ever read. On reading and observation.

Henrietta’s lack of improvement.

R. McDonnell’s work on rays and electric organs of fishes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  16 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 145)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2986

To Daniel Oliver   [21 November 1860]


The plant CD’s father called "flycatcher" was not Asclepias.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  [21 Nov 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 27 (EH)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2987

To John Lubbock   [18 November 1860]


Drawing up paper on Drosera but will not publish till results are tested.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [18 Nov 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 39 (EH 88206483)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2988

To John Higgins   19 November 1860


Acknowledges receipt of £244 15s. 11d.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  19 Nov 1860
Classmark:  Dominic Winter Auctioneers (dealers) (10 April 2019, lot 138)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2988F
Document type
letter (37)
01 (1)
02 (2)
03 (1)
05 (1)
07 (1)
09 (1)
10 (3)
12 (3)
14 (1)
15 (1)
16 (2)
18 (1)
19 (1)
20 (3)
21 (2)
22 (4)
23 (1)
24 (2)
25 (1)
26 (3)
28 (1)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next