skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1860::04 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
37 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To ?   25 [April 1860?]

Summary

August Laugel has sent him a copy of his review [of Origin] in Revue des Deux-Mondes [26 (1860): 644–71].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  25 [Apr 1860?]
Classmark:  Quaritch (dealers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2768

To Miss Holland   [April 1860]

Summary

Asks for information about birds eating berries of a mountain-ash.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Miss Holland
Date:  [Apr 1860]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2395

To Williams and Norgate   1 April [1860]

Summary

Thanks for information about French dictionaries.

Asks that Westminster Review [of Apr 1860] be sent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Williams & Norgate
Date:  1 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  Swiss National Library, Helvetic Archives (SLA-Rhyn-06-d/02)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2739

To G. R. Waterhouse   1 April [1860]

Summary

Has no drone cells in collection of honeycombs. Discusses construction of cells by bees and ability of bees to judge distances in constructing comb.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Waterhouse
Date:  1 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  The Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR 7)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2740

To F. J. Pictet de la Rive   1 April [1860]

Summary

Thanks FJP for his review which CD has received and read. There have been many reviews in England opposed to CD but FJP’s is "the single one which seems … perfectly fair & just & candid". The only difference between them is that CD "attaches much more weight to the explanation of facts, & somewhat less weight to the difficulties" than FJP. "I always jump at any theory which groups & explains facts".

Would be proud to send FJP a copy of his Journal of researches.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  François Jules Pictet de la Rive
Date:  1 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (MS. fr. 1651, ff. 10–11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2741

To J. S. Henslow   2 April [1860]

Summary

Reminds JSH to send "sketch & account of the wasp’s comb in transitional state from horizontal to vertical, & the country whence procured".

Asks for information on spread of Anacharis [Elodea].

Sedgwick [in criticism of Origin] was not very fair, but Murray says it is splendid for selling copies to "the unfortunate students".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  2 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A65–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2742

To Asa Gray   3 April [1860]

Summary

Thinks AG’s review [of Origin] will aid much in making people think about subject.

Has been savagely and unfairly reviewed by Adam Sedgwick in the Spectator [24 Mar 1860],

but thinks F. J. Pictet’s review in opposition ["Sur l’origine de l’espèce", Arch. Sci. Phys. & Nat. n.s. 7 (1860): 231–55] a very fair one.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  3 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (47)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2743

To John Murray   4 April [1860]

Summary

Has not yet read Huxley’s review of Origin in Westminster Review [Apr 1860].

F. J. Pictet has published an excellent review, though opposed to CD, in Bibliothèque Universelle de Genève [Mar 1860].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  4 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 f. 76)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2745

To Frederick Smith   4 April [1860]

Summary

Variations in sizes of bees’ cells.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederick Smith
Date:  4 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  H. R. Glennie (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2746

To W. B. Carpenter   6 April [1860]

Summary

Comments enthusiastically on WBC’s review ["The theory of development in nature", Br. & Foreign Med.-Chir. Rev. 25 (1860): 367–404].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Benjamin Carpenter
Date:  6 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 261.6: 5 (EH 88205922)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2747

To Albert Way   7 April [1860]

Summary

Asks AW about archaeological evidence concerning the first appearance of dray horses.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albert Way
Date:  7 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.205)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2748

To Maxwell Tylden Masters   7 April [1860]

Summary

Much interested in MTM’s lecture at Royal Institution ["On the relation between the abnormal and normal formations in plants", Notes Proc. R. Inst. G. B. 3 (1860): 223–7].

Asks for information about crossing of varieties of peas. Describes his own experimental results: "the offspring out of the same pod, instead of being intermediate, was very nearly like the two pure parents; yet in one, there was a trace of the cross & the next generation showed still more plainly their mongrel origins".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Date:  7 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  The New York Public Library. Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. The Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2749

To T. H. Huxley   9 April [1860]

Summary

Owen on the branchiae of Balanidae.

The Edinburgh Review article on the Origin [by Owen, 111 (1860): 487–532] full of misrepresentations, with a brutal attack on THH.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  9 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 111)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2751

To John Murray   9 April [1860]

Summary

Asks that a copy of Origin [1860] be sent to R. A. von Kölliker.

A venomous review "manifestly by Owen" has appeared in Edinburgh Review.

Sedgwick has been fierce in Spectator, but fair and open.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  9 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff.90–91)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2752

To William Marshall   9 April [1860]

Summary

Asks for information about Anacharis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Marshall
Date:  9 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 336
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2753

To a bookseller   9 April [1860]

Summary

Orders a copy of Matthew 1831 from a bookseller.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bookseller.
Date:  9 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  Uppsala University Library: Manuscripts and Music (Waller MS alb-54:068)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2753F

To Charles Lyell   10 April [1860]

Summary

W. B. Carpenter’s review of Origin [in Br. & Foreign Med.-Chir. Rev. 25 (1860): 367–404] "very good and well balanced, but not brilliant".

"There is a brilliant review by Huxley" [Westminster Rev. 17 (1860): 541–70].

Asa Gray sends good case of selection producing black pigs in Virginia.

Great blow to CD that CL cannot admit potency of natural selection.

Owen’s review in Edinburgh Review [111 (1860): 487–532] "extremely malignant, clever".

Patrick Matthew has published extract in Gardeners’ Chronicle [7 Apr 1860] from his Naval timber and arboriculture [1831], a complete but not developed anticipation of natural selection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  10 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.206)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2754

To H. G. Bronn   10 April [1860]

Summary

Has received copies of translation of Origin. Thanks HGB for undertaking it.

Comments on review by F. J. Pictet ["Sur l’origine de l’espèce, par Charles Darwin: analyse et critique",Arch. Sci. Phys. & Nat. n.s. 7 (1860): 231–55].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Heinrich Georg Bronn
Date:  10 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2755

To Williams & Norgate   10 April [1860]

Summary

Asks Williams & Norgate to forward one copy of the German translation of Origin (Bronn trans. 1860) to Jan van der Hoeven, and another to Jacob Moleschott.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Williams & Norgate
Date:  10 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  Alexander Autographs (dealers), 20 February 2005, Lot 273
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2755F

To T. H. Huxley   11 April [1860]

Summary

On THH’s lecture at Royal Institution ["On species and races, and their origin", Not. Proc. R. Inst. G. B. 3 (1858–62): 195–200]. Praises eloquence of his conclusion.

Has sent first part of German translation of Origin to THH.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  11 Apr [1860]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 113)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2756
Document type
letter (37)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1860
04
01 (4)
02 (1)
03 (1)
04 (2)
06 (1)
07 (2)
09 (4)
10 (3)
11 (1)
13 (4)
14 (1)
15 (1)
17 (1)
18 (1)
20 (1)
25 (3)
26 (1)
27 (2)
28 (2)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter