skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1858 in date [X]
209 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To ?   26 March [1858?]


Returns the Greenland catalogue, which he has kept too long.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  26 Mar [1858?]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.34)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2246

To a librarian   [1858 or later]


Will return Benjamin Jowett’s Epistles of St Paul (Jowett 1855) and requests several books, of which the latest is Hugh Miller’s Cruise of the Betsey (Miller 1858).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [1858 or later]
Classmark:  Yale University: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (James Marshall and Marie-Louise Osborn Collection: Edward G. and Hortense R. Levy Autograph Collection, Part 2 (OSB MSS 137) Box 25, folder 1188)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2199F

To A. A. Gould   6 April [1858]


Thanks AAG for procuring an authoritative answer from T. M. Brewer on the habits of the [American] cuckoo. Surprised William Yarrell erred so much.

Wishes AAG had time to give an account of Japanese shells, which would be interesting from the geographical point of view.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Augustus Addison Gould
Date:  6 Apr [1858]
Classmark:  Lehigh University Libraries Special Collections (Honeyman Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2448

To Hugh Falconer   15 October [1858]


Cannot come to London until Tuesday. Arriving about 11: 15.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  15 Oct [1858]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 34
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4636

From J. Burningham   [10 September 1858?]


Reports his observations on an ants’ nest.

Author:  James Burningham
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [10 Sept 1858?]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 186 (fragile)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4891

To James Paget   19 December [1858]


Asks JP to remember him if anything occurs to him "in regard to inheritance at corresponding or rather earlier ages". Sends JP a few examples for his "Chronometry of life". CD is sure he often met with striking facts but he disregarded them. "Deviations alone would have struck me."

Effects of different climates on breeding periods.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Paget, 1st baronet
Date:  19 Dec [1858]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection (MS.5703/28)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5314

From W. D. Fox   11 June [1858]


Discusses instinct in ducks and turkeys.

Reports a case of the inheritance of an acquired characteristic in a pig.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 June [1858]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 194
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7815

To J. S. Henslow   4 August [1858]


CD and his family have come to the seashore, driven from home by scarlet fever at Down, death [of Charles Waring Darwin], and other family illness. Sorry to miss seeing JSH.

Would be grateful to hear his objections to CD’s species speculations.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  4 Aug [1858]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A53–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2320

To Asa Gray   11 August [1858]


Species migration since the Pliocene. Effect of the glacial epoch. Present geographical distribution, especially similarities of mountain floras, explained by such migration; mountain summits as remnants of a once continuous flora and fauna.

Cross-fertilisation in Fumariaceae.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  11 Aug [1858]
Classmark:  Archives of the Gray Herbarium, Harvard University (42 and 9a)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2321

From Charles Moore   11 August 1858


Encloses a list of British perennials which seed in New South Wales and explains the source of his information. Lists plants which have become weeds in the country.

Author:  Charles Moore
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Aug 1858
Classmark:  DAR 171: 232
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2322

To Trenham Reeks?   13 August [1858]


Has been asked to set a price on slate relief slabs [see 2236]. Would appreciate advice from correspondent as he would like to buy pictures with the money.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Trenham Reeks
Date:  13 Aug [1858]
Classmark:  British Geological Survey Archives (GSM 1/501)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2323

To John Phillips   1 September [1858]


Explains that he cannot serve as President of the Zoological Section at the BAAS meeting [1858].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  1 Sept [1858]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.157)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2324

To W. B. Tegetmeier   8 September [1858]


Has finished with and is disposing of his pigeons.

Invites WBT to Down; would like to see his bees’ cells.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  8 Sept [1858]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2325

From Henry Coe   18 September 1858


Cannot explain impurity of his alleged pure lines.

Author:  Henry Coe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Sept 1858
Classmark:  DAR 161: 194
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2326

To W. E. Darwin   22 [September 1858]


Discusses domestic affairs.

Is working at the abstract of his book [Origin].

Asks WED to examine birds’ feet for dirt sticking to them, as this may represent a means of seed dispersal across seas.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  22 [Sept 1858]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2328

To the Secretary, Royal Society   28 September 1858


Recommends W. B. Carpenter’s latest part of memoir on Foraminifera be published in Philosophical Transactions [R. Soc. Lond. 149 (1859): 1–41].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Secretary, Royal Society
Date:  28 Sept 1858
Classmark:  The Royal Society (RR3: 41)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2330

To John Lubbock   [November 1858]


Praise for abstract of JL’s paper on insects ["On the ova and pseudova of insects", Proc. R. Soc. Lond. 9 (1857–9): 574–83].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [Nov 1858]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 25 (EH 88206474)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2331

To W. B. Tegetmeier   2 October [1858]


Ask some questions on pigeons.

Remarks on the discussion of bees’ cells at the Leeds BAAS meeting. CD fancies he has the true theory with regard to their construction.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  2 Oct [1858]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2332

To T. C. Eyton   4 October [1858]


Comments on TCE’s skeletons.

Must get advice from Hugh Falconer on names of some bones.

Preparing his abstract [Origin].

Asks about colours of horses and stripes on asses.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Date:  4 Oct [1858]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.158)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2333

To [J. D. Hooker]   [before 6 October 1858]


Asks whether there are dogs in Spain like English pointers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [before 6 Oct 1858]
Classmark:  Tim Lewens (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2333F
Document type
letter (209)
01 (15)
02 (21)
03 (20)
04 (20)
05 (12)
06 (24)
07 (15)
08 (9)
09 (6)
10 (25)
11 (29)
12 (13)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next