skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1857 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
178 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To A. R. Wallace   22 December 1857

Summary

Comments on agreement of their respective views on distribution.

Reference to differences on subsidence.

Reports on progress of his work and praises ARW’s investigations.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  22 Dec 1857
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2192

From Edward Hewitt   22 December 1857

Summary

Replies to more queries about fowl hybrids.

Author:  Edward Hewitt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Dec 1857
Classmark:  DAR 166: 197
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2193

To J. D. Hooker   25 December [1857]

thumbnail

Summary

Species with marked varieties.

Dana’s pamphlet also too metaphysical for CD.

Natural selection chapter on hybridism completed.

Doubts JDH will resist theory in his introduction to Flora Tasmaniae.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  25 Dec [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 218
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2194

To J. D. Hooker   [June 1857]

thumbnail

Summary

Request for Floras of Pacific Islands and Greenland.

Individual variation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [June 1857]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 222b
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2198

To William Sharpey, Secretary, Royal Society   24 January [1857]

Summary

Feels unqualified to offer advice on research by the expedition; he has never attended to natural history of the region. Suggests collecting Carboniferous plants and studying the geographical extension of sea-borne erratic boulders.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Sharpey
Date:  24 Jan [1857]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (MC17: 336)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2206

To Edward Sabine   16 March [1857]

Summary

Would rather not serve on Royal Society committee [for a North American exploring expedition]. Suggests subjects for geological investigation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Sabine
Date:  16 Mar [1857]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (MM4: 39)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2241

To J. S. Henslow   25 September [1857]

Summary

Thanks JSH for his magnificent present. Hopes Hooker will bring the specimens.

Have water-fowl ever been seen at Ipswich on Mr Ransome’s great tank?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  25 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A58–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2329

To Ferdinand Jakob Heinrich von Mueller   8 December [1857]

Summary

Asks whether British or north European perennial plants can, under cultivation, withstand the climate of S. Australia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ferdinand Jakob Heinrich (Ferdinand) von Mueller
Date:  8 Dec [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 92: A31–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2378

To John Lubbock   [6 March 1857]

Summary

Voting to elect JL [a member of Athenaeum].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [6 Mar 1857]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 71
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2392

To John Lubbock   12 [August 1857]

Summary

Invites JL to dine and meet J. S. Henslow.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  12 [Aug 1857]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 19 (EH 88206468)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2396

To John Lubbock   11 August [1857]

Summary

Asks JL not to call as he has a "very old friend" [J. S. Henslow] coming to visit him.

Yesterday visited poultry show at Crystal Palace.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  11 Aug [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 21 (EH 88206470)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2481

To John Lubbock    25 January [1857]

Summary

Dining with the Lubbocks.

JL’s paper on respiration of insects ["On the distribution of the tracheae in insects", Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 23 (1860–2): 23–50].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  25 Jan [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 20 (EH 88206469)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3413

To Hugh Falconer   [7 March 1857]

Summary

Thinking about HF’s paper on Plagiaulax [Q. J. Geol. Soc. Lond. 13 (1857): 261–82]. Owen might answer that all Purbeck mammals are marsupials.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  [7 Mar 1857]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 26
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3791

From J. Knightly Ince   [1857–61?]

Summary

Translates some German terms describing colour of horses.

Author:  J. Knightly Ince
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1857–61?]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 20 (EH 88206072)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6538

From Victor de Robillard    26 February 1857

thumbnail

Summary

The species of Mollusca at Mauritius are almost all different from those of surrounding islands, which confirms the belief that the islands were elevated from the ocean rather than separated from the continent by volcanic action.

Author:  Victor de Robillard
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Feb 1857
Classmark:  DAR 205.3: 287
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2059

To Asa Gray   [after 15 March 1857]

Summary

Urges AG to generalise from his observations on the flora of the northern U. S.

Expected to find separation of sexes in trees because he believes all living beings require an occasional cross, and none is perpetually self-fertilising. The multitude of flowers of a tree would be an obstacle to cross-fertilisation unless the sexes tended to be separate.

The Leguminosae are CD’s greatest opposers; he cannot find that garden varieties ever cross. Could AG inquire of intelligent nurserymen on the subject?

Thanks AG for information on protean genera; much wants to know whether their great variability is due to their conditions of existence or is innate in them at all times and places.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  [After 15 Mar 1857]
Classmark:  Archives of the Gray Herbarium, Harvard University (8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2060

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   [after 28 February 1857]

Summary

Reports that he fertilised a single pale red carnation with the pollen of a crimson Spanish pink, and a Spanish pink with the pollen of the same carnation. He got seed from both crosses and raised many seedlings. There was no difference between the seedlings from reciprocal crosses, not one plant set a single seed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  [after 28 Feb 1857]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette, 7 March 1857, p. 155
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2061

To Robert Patterson   10 March [1857]

Summary

Asks RP’s help in procuring a specimen of a real Irish rabbit, L. veomicule [Lepus vermicula]?.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Patterson
Date:  10 Mar [1857]
Classmark:  W. E. Praeger 1935, p. 714
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2062

From H. C. Watson   10 March 1857

Summary

HCW is trying to define what CD means by "variable" genera.

Author:  Hewett Cottrell Watson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Mar 1857
Classmark:  DAR 181: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2063

From Richard Hill   12 March 1857

thumbnail

Summary

Comments on transport of ducks to Jamaica by hurricanes,

fish feeding on seeds,

and sterility of birds in captivity.

Author:  Richard Hill
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Mar 1857
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 238
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2064
Document type
letter (178)
Date
1857
01 (16)
02 (18)
03 (10)
04 (15)
05 (11)
06 (16)
07 (17)
08 (8)
09 (14)
10 (14)
11 (17)
12 (22)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter