skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1856 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
256 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To S. P. Woodward   27 May [1856]

Summary

Thanks for answer to query. "I see … that there is no hope of comparing the same genus at two different periods, and seeing whether the tendency to vary is greater at one period in such genus than at another period."

Inclined to dispute SPW’s doctrine that islands are generally ancient. Doubts that they are remnants of continents.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Date:  27 May [1856]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections DC AL 1/5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1879

To John William Lubbock   28 [June 1856 – January 1865?]

Summary

Regrets he cannot accept dinner invitation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John William Lubbock, 3d baronet
Date:  28 [June 1856 - Jan 1865]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (LUB: D26)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1880

To W. B. Tegetmeier   31 May [1856]

Summary

Wants good rabbit specimens. Will be in London on 21 June and can pick up some pigeons.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  31 May [1856]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1882

From Edward William Vernon Harcourt   31 May 1856

Summary

Extensive notes on Madeiran birds: when and where seen on the island and under what conditions.

Author:  Edward William Vernon Harcourt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 May 1856
Classmark:  DAR 166: 100
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1883

To John Lubbock   [14 January 1856]

Summary

Inquires about a Mr Smith, who might prove helpful "in the domestic bird line".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [14 Jan 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 6 (EH 88206455)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1884

To J. D. Hooker   1 June [1856]

thumbnail

Summary

CD (and Emma) had a good laugh over JDH’s mortified response to a misinterpretation (in print) concerning his position on multiple creation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  1 June [1856]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 164
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1885

To E. W. V. Harcourt   1 June [1856]

Summary

Thanks for the very detailed information sent by EWVH.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward William Vernon Harcourt
Date:  1 June [1856]
Classmark:  Bodleian Libraries, Oxford (MS. Harcourt dep. adds. 346, fols. 250–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1885F

To S. P. Woodward   3 June [1856]

Summary

Comments on SPW’s book [Manual of Mollusca (1851–6)].

Mentions questions he has for SPW [see 1890].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Date:  3 June [1856]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.129)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1886

To W. D. Fox   4 June [1856]

Summary

Thanks WDF for specimen of Dorking cock.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  4 June [1856]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.130)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1887

To W. B. Tegetmeier   4 June [1856]

Summary

Reports safe arrival of rabbit sent by WBT.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  4 June [1856]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1888

From S. P. Woodward   4 June 1856

thumbnail

Summary

SPW and Waterhouse agree on island faunas; gives Australia and Tasmania as examples. The "stream of migration" from Asia to Tasmania.

Looks forward eagerly to the publication of CD’s "specific" researches.

Invites CD to send his memoranda [on Manual of Mollusca].

Author:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 June 1856
Classmark:  DAR 205.3: 303
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1889

To S. P. Woodward   [after 4 June 1856]

Summary

Queries from CD on the distribution of molluscan genera referring to SPW’s Manual of the Mollusca [pt 3 (1856)], with SPW’s answers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Date:  [after 4 June 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 72: 59–61
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1890

From Hewett Cottrell Watson   5 June 1856

Summary

Answers CD’s questions about plants common to U. S. and Britain and their distribution in Europe.

Variability of agrarian weeds.

Author:  Hewett Cottrell Watson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 June 1856
Classmark:  DAR 181: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1891

To W. B. D. Mantell   5 June [1856–9]

Summary

Thanks WBDM for the particulars on the iceberg.

Will look up the barnacle specimen to which he refers at British Museum.

WBDM should remember when he returns to New Zealand that aboriginal rat and frog are "great desiderata in Natural History".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell
Date:  5 June [1856-9]
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (MS-Papers-0083-268)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1892

To T. V. Wollaston   6 June [1856]

Summary

Comments on TVW’s book [On the variation of species with special reference to the Insecta (1856)].

On TVW’s Unitarianism. Predicts TVW will fall further away from Christianity.

[Letter sent by TVW to Charles Lyell.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Vernon Wollaston
Date:  6 June [1856]
Classmark:  Edinburgh University Library, Centre for Research Collections (Gen. 1999/1/30)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1893

To Edgar Leopold Layard   8 June [1856]

Summary

Admires ELL’s plan to visit Madagascar.

Asks about fertility of hybrid cats, crosses among dogs in Africa, and appearance of feral pigeons at Ascension. Doubts existence of N. African greyhound.

Asks for specimens of pigeons and ducks from the Cape of Good Hope.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edgar Leopold Layard
Date:  8 June [1856]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.143)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1894

To W. D. Fox   8 [June 1856]

Summary

The responses to his queries on domestic variations are coming in from all over; believes he will make an interesting collection. At present concerned with rabbits and ducks.

Has told Lyell of his views on species and CL urges CD to publish a preliminary essay. Has begun to work on it, with fear and trembling at its inadequacies.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  8 [June 1856]
Classmark:  University of British Columbia Library, Rare Books and Special Collections (Pearce/Darwin Fox collection RBSC-ARC-1721-1-10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1895

To John Lubbock   [8 June 1856]

Summary

Wishes to borrow fly pincers for his son George.

Discusses T. V. Wollaston’s book on insect variation [On the variation of species (1856)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [8 June 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 4 (EH 88206452)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1896

From E. L. Layard   [September–October 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Preference of stallions for hybrid mares.

Author:  Edgar Leopold Layard
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Sept–Oct 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 83: 185–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1897

From H. C. Watson   10 June 1856

Summary

Evidence relevant to E. Forbes’s land-bridge theory.

Author:  Hewett Cottrell Watson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 June 1856
Classmark:  DAR 181: 33
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1898
Document type
letter (256)
Correspondent
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Hooker, J. D. (39)
Tegetmeier, W. B. (24)
Lyell, Charles (12)
Lubbock, John (10)
Woodward, S. P. (10)
Fox, W. D. (9)
Gray, Asa (8)
Huxley, T. H. (8)
Watson, H. C. (8)
Harcourt, E. W. V. (7)
Blyth, Edward (6)
Henslow, J. S. (6)
Wollaston, T. V. (6)
Bunbury, C. J. F. (5)
Dana, J. D. (5)
Bentham, George (4)
Darwin, W. E. (4)
Eyton, T. C. (4)
Mantell, W. B. D. (4)
Berkeley, M. J. (3)
Birch, Samuel (3)
Edmondston, Laurence (3)
Gray, J. E. (3)
Lubbock, J. W. (b) (3)
Andersson, C. J. (2)
Bosquet, J. A. H. de (2)
Daniell, W. F. (2)
Darwin, G. H. (2)
Davidson, Thomas (2)
Davy, John (2)
Gosse, P. H. (2)
Herbert, J. M. (2)
Higgins, John (2)
Layard, E. L. (2)
Murray, John (b) (2)
Phillips, John (2)
Babington, C. C. (1)
Bakewell, R. H. (1)
Brent, B. P. (1)
Covington, Syms (1)
Dickie, George (1)
Elliot, Walter (1)
Everest, Robert (1)
Falconer, Hugh (1)
Galton, Francis (1)
Gardeners’ Chronicle (1)
Gulliver, George (1)
Gurney, J. H. (1)
Hancock, Albany (1)
Harvey, W. H. (1)
Holland, Miss (1)
Horner, K. M. (1)
Horner, Leonard (1)
Hutton, Thomas (1)
Lowe, R. T. (1)
Lubbock, Harriet (1)
Lyell, K. M. (1)
Morris, John (1)
Norman, Ebenezer (1)
Oldfield, H. A. (1)
Reed, G. V. (1)
Richardson, John (1)
Robillard, Victor de (1)
Royal Society of London (1)
Sabine, Edward (1)
Secretary, Royal Society (1)
Spencer, Herbert (1)
Stainton, H. T. (1)
Thompson, John (1)
Thwaites, G. H. K. (1)
Unidentified (1)
Wallace, Peter (1)
Wedgwood, F. E. E. (1)
Wedgwood, Godfrey (1)
Westwood, J. O. (1)
Yarrell, William (1)
Date
1856
01 (19)
02 (10)
03 (15)
04 (20)
05 (24)
06 (33)
07 (26)
08 (19)
09 (18)
10 (14)
11 (34)
12 (24)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter