skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1856 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
letter in document-type [X]
256 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To ?   9 October [1856]

Summary

Thanks for offer of Helix for experiment. Asks for assistance. Mentions failure of his own experiment involving Helix pomatia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  9 Oct [1856]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1972

From T. V. Wollaston   [early November 1856]

Summary

Variability of certain features within insect genera.

Author:  Thomas Vernon Wollaston
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [early Nov 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 181: 138
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2030

To J. A. H. de Bosquet   [before 3 November 1856]

Summary

Discusses shipment of skins of carrier pigeons.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Augustin Hubert de Bosquet
Date:  [before 3 Nov 1856]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.138)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2031

To W. B. Tegetmeier   28 [September 1856]

Summary

Specifies pigeons in which he is interested. Has become almost more interested in rabbits than anything else.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  28 [Sept 1856]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2068

To George Varenne Reed   8 September [1856]

Summary

George is not so low at school as CD anticipated. He keeps at the top of his class, thanks to GVR’s labours.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Varenne Reed
Date:  8 Sept [1856]
Classmark:  Buckinghamshire Record Office (D22/39/1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2139

To Leonard Horner    [1856–7]

Summary

Thanks LH for memorandum [missing] by K. R. Lepsius.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Horner
Date:  [1856–7]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2618

From Bernard Peirce Brent    [after August 1856]

Summary

On his breeding of Jacobin pigeons. How reciprocal crosses to produce mules work among canaries, goldfinches, linnets, and green linnets.

Will soon forward copies of Cottage Gardener for June.

Author:  Bernard Peirce Brent
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after Aug 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 160.2: 298
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2850

To Francis Galton    4 February [1856]

Summary

Can FG use his influence with Rev. [Erhardt] to get information about domesticated poultry in Africa for CD?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Galton
Date:  4 Feb [1856]
Classmark:  UCL Library Services, Special Collections (GALTON/1/1/9/5/7/4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3059

To Hugh Falconer    16 April [1856]

Summary

Invites him to visit. JDH and one or two others coming.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  16 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3509

To E. W. V. Harcourt   23 August [1856]

Summary

Has received [C. L.?] Brehm’s work [unspecified]. Will return it in two or three weeks.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward William Vernon Harcourt
Date:  23 Aug [1856]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4598

To Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell   [before 10 April 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

CD asks whether New Zealand tribes have an idea of beauty in women which is "like ours"; WBDM answers, "Yes".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell
Date:  [before 10 Apr 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 85: A99
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6520

To John Phillips   28 January [1856]

Summary

Thanks JP for beautiful book [? The rivers, mountains and sea-coast of Yorkshire, 2d ed. (1855)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  28 Jan [1856]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History Archive Collections (John Phillips collection))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1828

To William Yarrell   6 [February 1856]

Summary

"The Pigeons are all quite well".

Sends thanks to Mrs Cotton.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Yarrell
Date:  6 [Feb 1856]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1829

To Samuel Birch   6 February [1856]

Summary

Is grateful for SB’s note and assistance. Will call upon him in London in a fortnight.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Birch
Date:  6 Feb [1856]
Classmark:  British Museum (Department of the Middle East, correspondence 1826–67: 1492)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1829A

From Charles James Fox Bunbury   7 February 1856

Summary

Has heard CD is much interested in questions relating to varieties and species. Mentions a case of a seminal variety of Colletia spinosa, described by John Lindley, which appears identical with another wild species of Colletia from S. America. Hopes CD will one day "enlighten us very much" on "the laws of species". There are many different views on the limits of species; M. F. Dunal made 50 species of Solanum which George Bentham considers are all varieties of S. nigrum.

Author:  Charles James Fox Bunbury, 8th baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1856
Classmark:  DAR 160: 374, DAR 205.4: 97
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1830

From Edward Blyth   23 February 1856

Summary

Opposition to EB within the Asiatic Society.

Possibility of establishment of a zoological garden at Calcutta.

Has seen Gallus varius alive for the first time.

Will procure domestic pigeons for CD; could CD pay for them by returning hardy creatures, such as macaws and marmosets, which EB can sell for a high price in India?

Does not recall his authority for genealogy of the asses of Oman. If a genuine wild ass exists EB believes it will be in south Arabia.

Infertility of Irish and Devon red deer.

Details of an unusual species of wild dog.

Fertility of canine hybrids. General tendency toward hybrid sterility.

Has skins of hybrid Coracias and the parent species.

Wide-ranging species; skua found in Europe and Australia, but not in the tropics.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Feb 1856
Classmark:  DAR 98: A128–A132
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1832

From Edward Blyth   26 February 1856

Summary

There is a possibility of establishment of a Government Museum at Calcutta, with which the Asiatic Society Museum would be merged. EB would like the curatorship but fears other possible applicants. Asks CD to represent him to W. H. Sykes.

Discusses the ancients’ awareness of various cats as deduced from the etymology of their names.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Feb 1856
Classmark:  DAR 98: A126–A127
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1833

To Miles Joseph Berkeley   29 February [1856]

Summary

Preparing paper on seed-soaking for Linnean Society ["Action of sea-water on seeds", Collected papers 1: 264–73]. Wants to use MJB’s results. Lost ardour when he found seeds would not float.

Has grown MJB’s purest pea seeds and got a few variants. Gärtner’s experiments suggest direct action of pollen, but CD thinks it is "mere variation".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Miles Joseph Berkeley
Date:  29 Feb [1856]
Classmark:  Shropshire Archives (SA 6001/134/45)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1834

From John Morris   1 March 1856

thumbnail

Summary

Informs CD on age of land, freshwater, and marine Mollusca.

Author:  John Morris
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Mar 1856
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 246
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1835

From M. J. Berkeley   7 March 1856

Summary

Reports on breeding experiments with various seeds: corn, aubergine, kidney beans, sugar-peas. Speculates that cause of changes in seed colour in sugar-peas may be mere variation rather than result of impregnation.

Author:  Miles Joseph Berkeley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Mar 1856
Classmark:  DAR 160: 174
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1836
Document type
letter[X]
Correspondent
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Hooker, J. D. (39)
Tegetmeier, W. B. (24)
Lyell, Charles (12)
Lubbock, John (10)
Woodward, S. P. (10)
Fox, W. D. (9)
Gray, Asa (8)
Huxley, T. H. (8)
Watson, H. C. (8)
Harcourt, E. W. V. (7)
Blyth, Edward (6)
Henslow, J. S. (6)
Wollaston, T. V. (6)
Bunbury, C. J. F. (5)
Dana, J. D. (5)
Bentham, George (4)
Darwin, W. E. (4)
Eyton, T. C. (4)
Mantell, W. B. D. (4)
Berkeley, M. J. (3)
Birch, Samuel (3)
Edmondston, Laurence (3)
Gray, J. E. (3)
Lubbock, J. W. (b) (3)
Andersson, C. J. (2)
Bosquet, J. A. H. de (2)
Daniell, W. F. (2)
Darwin, G. H. (2)
Davidson, Thomas (2)
Davy, John (2)
Gosse, P. H. (2)
Herbert, J. M. (2)
Higgins, John (2)
Layard, E. L. (2)
Murray, John (b) (2)
Phillips, John (2)
Babington, C. C. (1)
Bakewell, R. H. (1)
Brent, B. P. (1)
Covington, Syms (1)
Dickie, George (1)
Elliot, Walter (1)
Everest, Robert (1)
Falconer, Hugh (1)
Galton, Francis (1)
Gardeners’ Chronicle (1)
Gulliver, George (1)
Gurney, J. H. (1)
Hancock, Albany (1)
Harvey, W. H. (1)
Holland, Miss (1)
Horner, K. M. (1)
Horner, Leonard (1)
Hutton, Thomas (1)
Lowe, R. T. (1)
Lubbock, Harriet (1)
Lyell, K. M. (1)
Morris, John (1)
Norman, Ebenezer (1)
Oldfield, H. A. (1)
Reed, G. V. (1)
Richardson, John (1)
Robillard, Victor de (1)
Royal Society of London (1)
Sabine, Edward (1)
Secretary, Royal Society (1)
Spencer, Herbert (1)
Stainton, H. T. (1)
Thompson, John (1)
Thwaites, G. H. K. (1)
Unidentified (1)
Wallace, Peter (1)
Wedgwood, F. E. E. (1)
Wedgwood, Godfrey (1)
Westwood, J. O. (1)
Yarrell, William (1)
Date
1856
01 (19)
02 (10)
03 (15)
04 (20)
05 (24)
06 (33)
07 (26)
08 (19)
09 (18)
10 (14)
11 (34)
12 (24)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter