skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1856::04 in date [X]
20 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To W. B. D. Mantell   10 April [1856]

Summary

Thanks WBDM for his reply [missing] to CD’s previous letter [1603].

Asks for more details on the erratic blocks.

Asks also if there is good evidence that there formerly existed [in New Zealand] some animal with hair, like an otter or beaver.

Finally, do the uncivilised natives have the same ideal of [human] beauty as Europeans?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell
Date:  10 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (MS-Papers-0083-268)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1663

To Thomas Henry Huxley   2 April [1856]

Summary

Invitation to THH and wife to come to Down to meet H. C. Watson, T. V. Wollaston, and the Hookers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  2 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 46)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1847

To Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell   3 April [1856]

Summary

Reminds WBDM of his promise of information about the quartz boulders and an iceberg with fragment of rock seen in southern ocean.

Sends other questions [on separate sheet (missing)] which WBDM will think ridiculous, but all bear on plants and animals under domestication.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell
Date:  3 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (MS-Papers-0083-268)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1848

From Edward Blyth   [3 April 1856]

Summary

Reports observations on Indian pigeons from David Scott at Hansi. EB adds remarks on Indian breeds he has encountered. Suggests Egypt, Turkey, and Syria would be good places from which to obtain specimens. Believes domestic races are all descended from Columba livia; their calls are all similar and they pair indiscriminately.

Guinea-fowl.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [3 Apr 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 98: A140–A143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1849

From Charles John Andersson   [6 April 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

European men choose partners for different reasons. Savages select more for bodily attraction than facial beauty.

Author:  Charles John (Carl Johann) Andersson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [6 Apr 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 85: A102
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1850

To Joseph Dalton Hooker   8 April [1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Mustering support at Royal Society Council for John Lindley’s Copley Medal. CD thinks Albany Hancock deserves a Royal Medal.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 160
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1851

To Samuel Birch    8 April [1856]

Summary

His thanks for the extracts sent by SB.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Birch
Date:  8 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  British Museum (Department of the Middle East, correspondence 1826–67: 1494)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1851A

To T. H. Huxley   9 April [1856]

Summary

Arrangements for visit of Huxleys to Down on 26 Apr.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  9 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 33)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1852

From Richard Thomas Lowe   12 April 1856

Summary

Discusses the flora of Porto Santo in relation to that of Madeira. While these islands have some 20 endemic species in common, there are 7 or 8 species endemic to Porto Santo alone, and 25 common to Porto Santo and Europe that are not found on Madeira. Believes the great difference in soil and climate is enough to explain this: plants common on one island cannot be made to grow on the other. Believes J. D. Hooker has underestimated the number of species endemic to Madeira. There are some remarkable endemic species of common plants in the Dezertas.

The eel is the only freshwater fish on Porto Santo and Madeira.

Author:  Richard Thomas Lowe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Apr 1856
Classmark:  Kinnordy MS (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1852A

To Henry Tibbats Stainton   13 April [1856]

Summary

Thanks HTS for Entomologist’s Weekly Intelligencer [no. 2, 12 Apr 1856]. Agrees with his remarks [in "Why did Mr Westwood get the Royal Medal?"], but explains that a change in rules for awarding the Royal Medal has been made. Earlier it had to be given for publications in Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, which explains small number of entomologist recipients.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Tibbats Stainton
Date:  13 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR 16)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1853

From C. J. F. Bunbury   16 April 1856

thumbnail

Summary

Is interested by what CD tells him about his researches and speculations on species, variation, and distribution. Hopes he will not give up the idea of publishing his views. Advises CD on need for caution and candour. Raises some difficulties with "specific centre" theory of distribution.

Author:  Charles James Fox Bunbury, 8th baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Apr 1856
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 218
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1854

To Charles Lyell   21 April [1856]

Summary

Speculates about cause of inclination in unusual columns of lava. Suggests CL check with William Hopkins about sliding movements in viscid matter.

Comments on CL’s expedition to Madeira.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  21 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.126)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1855

To C. J. F. Bunbury   21 April [1856]

Summary

CD writes on geographical distribution – "a grand game of chess with the world for a board".

Gives his hypothetical explanation why zoology of Cape [of Good Hope] is not so peculiar as its botany: it was once a group of islands – later united.

Tries hard to set forth the difficulties of his [species] theory.

Tells CJFB in confidence of his theory of the glacial epoch and its effect on plant distribution, such as identical species being found on summits of mountains in the tropics. Invites him to attack his "doctrine".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles James Fox Bunbury, 8th baronet
Date:  21 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Suffolk Record Office, Bury St Edmunds (Bunbury Family Papers E18/700/1/9/6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1856

To Godfrey Wedgwood   21 April [1856]

Summary

Thanks GW for his report about the rabbits at Sandon [Staffs.]. Fears case has broken down, except that it is now known that such a breed has run wild for some years. No need to send bodies since breed is so obscure.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Godfrey Wedgwood
Date:  21 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Barbara and Robert Pincus (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1857

To Edward Sabine   23 April [1856]

Summary

CD and Hooker suggest Sir John Richardson for Royal Medal. Other suggestions are George Bentham, Joseph Prestwich, Albany Hancock.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Sabine
Date:  23 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (Sa: 387)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1858

To John Lubbock   24 April [1856]

Summary

Congratulations on JL’s marriage. Invitation to dine at Down with the Hookers, Huxleys, and T. V. Wollaston.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  24 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 2 (EH 88206448)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1859

To W. B. Tegetmeier   25 April [1856]

Summary

Foresees WBT will work out poultry so well that CD will "be gladly saved the trouble". Would like some eggs from WBT’s Polish fowl and thanks him for acquiring the Indian laughing pigeons.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  25 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1860

To Hugh Falconer    16 April [1856]

Summary

Invites him to visit. JDH and one or two others coming.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  16 Apr [1856]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3509

To Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell   [before 10 April 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

CD asks whether New Zealand tribes have an idea of beauty in women which is "like ours"; WBDM answers, "Yes".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Walter Baldock Durrant Mantell
Date:  [before 10 Apr 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 85: A99
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6520

To R. H. Bakewell   30 April [1856–68]

Summary

Thanks for case of inherited malconformation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Hall Bakewell
Date:  30 Apr [1856-68]
Classmark:  Christie’s (dealers) (4 June 2008)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13770F
Document type
letter (20)
Date
1856
04
02 (1)
03 (2)
06 (1)
08 (2)
09 (1)
10 (2)
12 (1)
13 (1)
16 (2)
21 (3)
23 (1)
24 (1)
25 (1)
30 (1)
letter