skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1851 in date [X]
100 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next

To John Richardson   30 December [1851]

Summary

Will send JR’s box of cirripedes on Thursday.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Richardson
Date:  30 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  Louisiana State University Libraries, Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (James E. Murdoch Papers, Mss. 667)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1466H

To James Dwight Dana    15 June [1851]

Summary

Thanks for note of 13 May and tracings of the "curious Bopyrid".

Is astonished at amount of work JDD does and frightened it will cause ill-health, such as CD has experienced.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Dwight Dana
Date:  15 June [1851]
Classmark:  Gilman 1899, p. 310
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2107

To J. S. Dismorr   6 May [1851]

Summary

Congratulates JD on discovery of fossil footsteps near Port Philip, Australia. Richard Owen would be glad to examine them. J. B. Jukes most likely to know geology of Port Philip.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Stewart Dismorr
Date:  6 May [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 385
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1427

To J. S. Dismorr   15 May [1851]

Summary

Comments on concretionary bodies found by JD. Encourages him to continue geological study.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Stewart Dismorr
Date:  15 May [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 386
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1428

To A. S. Horner   25 May [1851]

Summary

Thanks for her sympathy on the death of Annie Darwin, and sends news of Emma Darwin and the baby Horace.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Anne Susanna Horner
Date:  25 May [1851]
Classmark:  Cheffins (dealers) (10 January 2019, lot 209)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1428F

To Robert Ball   26 May [1851]

Summary

Obliged for letter about cirripedes attached to turtles’ backs. Genus is Chelonobia, Leach. Cirripedes do not penetrate skin, but surrounding tissue grows up around them.

Asks RB to send S. American Balanus. Already has specimens from Irish coast.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Ball
Date:  26 May [1851]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (Fellows’ Papers 54.ii)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1429

To A. A. Gould   2 June [1851]

Summary

Thanks for cirripede specimens. Describes progress [on Living Cirripedia].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Augustus Addison Gould
Date:  2 June [1851]
Classmark:  University of New Hampshire, Special Collections and Archives (MC 51, box 1, folder 19 (Amy Cheney Beach’s autograph album, 1880–1901)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1430

To W. B. R. H. Dunker   2 June [1851]

Summary

Collection of recent cirripedes received. The fossil cirripedes have been returned.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Wilhelm Bernhard Rudolph Hadrian Wilhelm (Wilhelm) Dunker
Date:  2 June [1851]
Classmark:  Det Kongelige Bibliotek, Copenhagen (NKS 4941 I, 4to)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1431

To John Higgins   7 June 1851

Summary

Mentions his account. Reduction in rent paid by Mr Hardy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  7 June 1851
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/45)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1432

To Albany Hancock   8 June [1851]

Summary

Asks whether he can borrow from Joshua Alder an article [Sven Ludvig Lovén, "Ny art af Cirripedia Alepas squalicola", Ofers. Kongl. Vetensk. Acad. Förh. 1 (1844): 192–4] in order to have the plate copied. Asks to borrow additional specimen of Ibla.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albany Hancock
Date:  8 June [1851]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1433

To Robert Ball   8 June [1851]

Summary

Thanks for cast and account of cirripede [Chelonobia caretta] burrowing in turtle shell. Believes base of cirripede absorbed by bone below.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Ball
Date:  8 June [1851]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (Fellows’ Papers 54.iii)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1434

To S. P. Woodward   9 June [1851]

Summary

Asks for reference to article by Kölliker, ["Some observations on the structure of two new species of Hectocotyle", Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 22 (1851): 9–22]. Asks for information.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Date:  9 June [1851]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1435

To J. S. Dismorr   13 June [1851]

Summary

Suggests that JD consult with Edward Forbes about dredging.

Delighted he will look for fossil bones.

Asks him to look for Australian cirripedes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Stewart Dismorr
Date:  13 June [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 387
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1436

To Albany Hancock   22 June [1851]

Summary

Thanks AH for assistance and Joshua Alder for his kindness. Ibla specimens offered would not aid him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albany Hancock
Date:  22 June [1851]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections DC AL 1/4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1437

To James Scott Bowerbank   25 June [1851]

Summary

Asks to re-examine specimen of Scalpellum. Discusses publication [of Fossil Cirripedia] by Palaeontographical Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Scott Bowerbank
Date:  25 June [1851]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1438

To James Smith   4 July [1851]

Summary

Discusses the Jura blocks.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Smith
Date:  4 July [1851]
Classmark:  Glasgow City Archives (396/TD1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1438F

To the Palaeontographical Society   [before 31 January 1851]

Summary

Read a letter from CD. Resolved that labels be printed for the backs of each number of monograph printed and forthcoming.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Palaeontographical Society
Date:  [before 31 Jan 1851]
Classmark:  British Geological Survey Archives (Palaeontographical Society minutes)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1439

From J. D. Hooker   [late August – early September 1851]

thumbnail

Summary

James Wilson reports case of salmon hybrids.

Herrings inhabit freshwater lake in Scotland during winter.

JDH will edit juror reports for the Great Exhibition.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [late Aug – early Sept 1851]
Classmark:  DAR 205.10: 98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1440

To Thomas Henry Huxley   17 July [1851]

Summary

Thanks for report [on echinoderms, Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 2d ser. 8 (1851): 1–19]. Wanted to learn about metamorphosis of the class. Agrees with THH’s distinction between individuals and zooids, but thinks zooids will never cease to be called individuals.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  17 July [1851]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1442

To Fanny Mackintosh Wedgwood   [24 April 1851]

Summary

Arrangements for leaving Malvern after death of Anne.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frances Emma Elizabeth (Fanny) Wedgwood
Date:  [24 Apr 1851]
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 310)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1413
Document type
letter (100)
Date
1851
01 (6)
02 (4)
03 (6)
04 (31)
05 (7)
06 (11)
07 (9)
08 (5)
09 (4)
10 (5)
11 (6)
12 (6)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next
letter