skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1851 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
83 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next

To J. J. S. Steenstrup   4 November [1851]


Asks for reference to publication about Xenobalanus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johannes Japetus Smith (Japetus) Steenstrup
Date:  4 Nov [1851]
Classmark:  Det Kongelige Bibliotek, Copenhagen (NKS 3460 4to)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1461

To Thomas Salt   4 November 1851


Returns the enclosed parchment.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Salt
Date:  4 Nov 1851
Classmark:  Rachel Salt (private collection); sold by Spink’s (dealers), July 2018
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1461F

To T. H. Huxley   22 November [1851]


Proposes to send THH vol. 1 of Living Cirripedia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  22 Nov [1851]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 14)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1462

To John Stevens Henslow   11 December [1851]


Sends cirripede specimens for Ipswich Museum.

Asks how much a village fireworks display would cost.

Comments on the need in education for good habits of expression and accurate observation instead of making "wretched Latin verses".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  11 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A85–A88
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1463

To Christian Ferdinand Friedrich von Krauss   21 December [1851]


Asks to borrow FK’s specimen of Conia rosea. Would like to know if FK collected it himself [in S. Africa] or was given it, because CD has a closely allied species from Australia, which surprises him. [See Living Cirripedia 2: 335.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Christian Ferdinand Friedrich von Krauss
Date:  21 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1465

To Thomas Salt   24 December 1851


Asking Thomas Salt to inform the Executors of Captain Muckleston that he wishes to foreclose the mortgage.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Salt
Date:  24 Dec 1851
Classmark:  Rachel Salt (private collection); sold by Spink’s (dealers), July 2018
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1465F

To Adam White   26 December 1851


Testimonial letter expressing CD’s high opinion of AW’s zoological attainments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adam White
Date:  26 Dec 1851
Classmark:  Testimonials of Adam White, F.L.S., Assistant in the Zoological Department, British Museum [1854], p. 15 (National Library of Scotland, 3.2043(6))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1466

To Thomas Salt   26 December [1851]


Asks Thomas Salt to accept the repayment of a mortgage from Captain Muckleston’s executors, if Josiah Wedgwood agrees.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Salt
Date:  26 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  Rachel Salt (private collection); sold by Spink’s (dealers), July 2018
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1466G

To John Richardson   30 December [1851]


Will send JR’s box of cirripedes on Thursday.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Richardson
Date:  30 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  Louisiana State University Libraries, Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (James E. Murdoch Papers, Mss. 667)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1466H

To James Dwight Dana    15 June [1851]


Thanks for note of 13 May and tracings of the "curious Bopyrid".

Is astonished at amount of work JDD does and frightened it will cause ill-health, such as CD has experienced.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Dwight Dana
Date:  15 June [1851]
Classmark:  Gilman 1899, p. 310
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2107

To Elizabeth Mary Thorley   26 April [1851]


Expresses gratitude to Mrs T’s daughter for devotion to his daughter in final illness.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Elizabeth Mary Thorley
Date:  26 Apr [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 148: 73
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1422

To W. D. Fox   29 April [1851]


His favourite child, Anne, has unexpectedly died.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  29 Apr [1851]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 79)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1425

To J. S. Dismorr   6 May [1851]


Congratulates JD on discovery of fossil footsteps near Port Philip, Australia. Richard Owen would be glad to examine them. J. B. Jukes most likely to know geology of Port Philip.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Stewart Dismorr
Date:  6 May [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 385
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1427

To J. S. Dismorr   15 May [1851]


Comments on concretionary bodies found by JD. Encourages him to continue geological study.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Stewart Dismorr
Date:  15 May [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 386
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1428

To A. S. Horner   25 May [1851]


Thanks for her sympathy on the death of Annie Darwin, and sends news of Emma Darwin and the baby Horace.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Anne Susanna Horner
Date:  25 May [1851]
Classmark:  Cheffins (dealers) (10 January 2019, lot 209)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1428F

To Robert Ball   26 May [1851]


Obliged for letter about cirripedes attached to turtles’ backs. Genus is Chelonobia, Leach. Cirripedes do not penetrate skin, but surrounding tissue grows up around them.

Asks RB to send S. American Balanus. Already has specimens from Irish coast.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Ball
Date:  26 May [1851]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (Fellows’ Papers 54.ii)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1429

To A. A. Gould   2 June [1851]


Thanks for cirripede specimens. Describes progress [on Living Cirripedia].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Augustus Addison Gould
Date:  2 June [1851]
Classmark:  University of New Hampshire, Special Collections and Archives (MC 51, box 1, folder 19 (Amy Cheney Beach’s autograph album, 1880–1901)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1430

To W. B. R. H. Dunker   2 June [1851]


Collection of recent cirripedes received. The fossil cirripedes have been returned.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Wilhelm Bernhard Rudolph Hadrian Wilhelm (Wilhelm) Dunker
Date:  2 June [1851]
Classmark:  Det Kongelige Bibliotek, Copenhagen (NKS 4941 I, 4to)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1431

To John Higgins   7 June 1851


Mentions his account. Reduction in rent paid by Mr Hardy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  7 June 1851
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/45)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1432

To Albany Hancock   8 June [1851]


Asks whether he can borrow from Joshua Alder an article [Sven Ludvig Lovén, "Ny art af Cirripedia Alepas squalicola", Ofers. Kongl. Vetensk. Acad. Förh. 1 (1844): 192–4] in order to have the plate copied. Asks to borrow additional specimen of Ibla.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albany Hancock
Date:  8 June [1851]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1433
Document type
letter (83)
Darwin, C. R.[X]
01 (6)
02 (4)
03 (6)
04 (17)
05 (7)
06 (11)
07 (9)
08 (4)
09 (3)
10 (5)
11 (5)
12 (6)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next