skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1848 in date [X]
84 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next

To Robert Ball   25 March [1848]

Summary

Cannot give information about hook. Fuegian women fish without hooks.

Robert Mallet’s suggestion about space for specimens on board men-of-war forwarded to Sir J. Herschel.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Ball
Date:  25 Mar [1848?]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (Fellows' Papers 54.i)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1165

To Richard Owen   [26 March 1848]

Summary

Describes his new microscope and its advantages for dissecting. Suggests RO might discuss topic [in his contribution to J. F. W. Herschel, ed., Manual of scientific enquiry (1849)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [26 Mar 1848]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1166

To William Alexander Baillie Hamilton    28 March [1848]

Summary

Sir John Herschel has not received the parcel of "Scientific Instructions", which was posted on the 15th. He requests an accurate search at the Admiralty.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Alexander Baillie Hamilton
Date:  28 Mar [1848]
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (ADM/5580 009075)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1166A

To John Stevens Henslow   [1 April 1848]

Summary

Thanks JSH for his address [Address delivered in the Ipswich Museum on 9th March 1848]. Questions a sentence which implies that only the practical use of a scientific discovery makes it worth while. The instinct for truth justifies science without any practical results. Cites his work on cirripedes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [1 Apr 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1167

To Richard Owen   [2 April 1848]

Summary

Apologises for length of notes of advice for microscopic work.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [2 Apr 1848]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard (MS Hyde 77: 2. 82. 1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1167F

To A. C. Ramsay   7 April [1848]

Summary

Asks ACR to establish height of Moel Tryfan in Caernarvonshire; "in my notice on this hill [""Ancient glaciers of Caernarvonshire"" (1842), Collected papers 1: 163–71] I give a very much less height than others". [See also another mention of the elevation of Moel Tryfan in "On the transportal of erratic boulders" (1848), Collected papers 1: 218–27.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Date:  7 Apr [1848]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1168

To H. T. De la Beche   7 April [1848]

Summary

CD discusses questions about his coral reef theory that were raised by HTDlaB [in his Geol. Soc. Anniversary Address (1848)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Thomas De la Beche
Date:  7 Apr [1848]
Classmark:  National Museum of Wales, Department of Natural Sciences (De la Beche)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1169

To John Phillips   [7 or 14 April 1848]

Summary

Some geologists (especially H. T. De la Beche) doubt boulders have really been carried above their parent rock, but rather thought they were left behind as a result of denudation. Asks JP’s view of this, which he can quote. Supposes he will be well abused for his paper, but is resolved "not to show a white feather".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  [7 or 14] Apr 1848
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History Archive Collections (John Phillips collection))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1170

To Edward Cresy   [May 1848]

Summary

May go to Paris next summer about barnacles.

Unable to appreciate second volume of Alexander von Humboldt’s Cosmos [1848].

Recommends review by Sir John Herschel [Edinburgh Rev. 87 (1848): 170–229].

Recommends book by Mary Somerville [Physical geography (1848)].

Mentions article [on species] by M. E. Chevreul [Ann. Sci. Nat. (Bot.) 3d ser. 6 (1846): 142–214].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [May? 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 305
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1171

To John Innes   [8 May 1848]

Summary

Encloses his £3 subscription to JBI’s Sunday School. Asks to reduce it in the future to £2 per annum.

Has been unwell.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  [8 May 1848]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1172

To J. F. W. Herschel   7 May [1848]

Summary

Sends MS of "Geology" for Manual [Collected papers 1: 227–50]. First parcel lost. Asks JFWH to give advice on an unclear note, translated from Élie de Beaumont, on measuring incline of lava-flows.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Frederick William Herschel, 1st baronet
Date:  7 May [1848]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (HS6: 15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1173

To J. D. Hooker   10 May 1848

thumbnail

Summary

Confident of species theory as result of applying it to cirripede sexual systems.

CD’s opinion of E. Blyth. JDH should meet Blyth, inquire about domesticated varieties, study insular flora, solve coal-plant problem.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  10 May 1848
Classmark:  DAR 114: 112
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1174

To J. F. W. Herschel   11 May [1848]

Summary

Describes colour changes from blue to red in valves of operculum of the cirripede genus Ibla.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Frederick William Herschel, 1st baronet
Date:  11 May [1848]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (HS6: 12)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1175

To Harriet Lubbock   [December 1848 – 1849]

Summary

Belittles the loss of a book borrowed from CD.

Acknowledges cheque in payment for purchase of microscope for John Lubbock.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Harriet Lubbock
Date:  [Dec 1848–9]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.70)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1041

From Catherine Darwin   [13 November 1848]

Summary

Informs CD of the death of their father and the funeral arrangements.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [13 Nov 1848]
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 279)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1207

To Emma Darwin   [17 November 1848]

Summary

CD fears he must wear Emma with his unwellness and complaints.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [17 Nov 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1208

From Emily Catherine Darwin   [12 November 1848]

Summary

Gives details of the illness of R. W. Darwin.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [12 Nov 1848]
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 279)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1206

To Emma Darwin   [23 May 1848]

Summary

Family news. Finds Shrewsbury too noisy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [23 May 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1178

To Emma Darwin   [25 May 1848]

Summary

Anxiety about R. W. Darwin’s health.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [25 May 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 30
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1179

To Emma Darwin   [27–8 May 1848]

Summary

Has been unwell but is improving. His father also very ill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [27-8 May 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1180
Document type
letter (84)
Date
1848
01 (7)
02 (13)
03 (7)
04 (6)
05 (12)
06 (7)
07 (9)
08 (4)
09 (6)
10 (5)
11 (3)
12 (5)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next
letter