skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1848 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
74 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4

To John Phillips   [7 or 14 April 1848]

Summary

Some geologists (especially H. T. De la Beche) doubt boulders have really been carried above their parent rock, but rather thought they were left behind as a result of denudation. Asks JP’s view of this, which he can quote. Supposes he will be well abused for his paper, but is resolved "not to show a white feather".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  [7 or 14] Apr 1848
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History Archive Collections (John Phillips collection))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1170

To Edward Cresy   [May 1848]

Summary

May go to Paris next summer about barnacles.

Unable to appreciate second volume of Alexander von Humboldt’s Cosmos [1848].

Recommends review by Sir John Herschel [Edinburgh Rev. 87 (1848): 170–229].

Recommends book by Mary Somerville [Physical geography (1848)].

Mentions article [on species] by M. E. Chevreul [Ann. Sci. Nat. (Bot.) 3d ser. 6 (1846): 142–214].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [May? 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 305
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1171

To John Innes   [8 May 1848]

Summary

Encloses his £3 subscription to JBI’s Sunday School. Asks to reduce it in the future to £2 per annum.

Has been unwell.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  [8 May 1848]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1172

To J. F. W. Herschel   7 May [1848]

Summary

Sends MS of "Geology" for Manual [Collected papers 1: 227–50]. First parcel lost. Asks JFWH to give advice on an unclear note, translated from Élie de Beaumont, on measuring incline of lava-flows.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Frederick William Herschel, 1st baronet
Date:  7 May [1848]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (HS6: 15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1173

To J. D. Hooker   10 May 1848

thumbnail

Summary

Confident of species theory as result of applying it to cirripede sexual systems.

CD’s opinion of E. Blyth. JDH should meet Blyth, inquire about domesticated varieties, study insular flora, solve coal-plant problem.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  10 May 1848
Classmark:  DAR 114: 112
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1174

To J. F. W. Herschel   11 May [1848]

Summary

Describes colour changes from blue to red in valves of operculum of the cirripede genus Ibla.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Frederick William Herschel, 1st baronet
Date:  11 May [1848]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (HS6: 12)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1175

To Emma Darwin   [25 May 1848]

Summary

Anxiety about R. W. Darwin’s health.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [25 May 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 30
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1179

To Emma Darwin   [27–8 May 1848]

Summary

Has been unwell but is improving. His father also very ill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [27-8 May 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1180

To Emma Darwin   [17 November 1848]

Summary

CD fears he must wear Emma with his unwellness and complaints.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [17 Nov 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1208

To John Thomas Quekett   7 September [1848]

Summary

Asks about collection of mollusc specimens he had lent to Richard Owen.

Asks about seeing cirripede collection of the College.

Comments on larva of Scalpellum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Thomas Quekett; Royal College of Surgeons
Date:  7 Sept [1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.62)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1114

To Emma Darwin   [22 May 1848]

Summary

His health not good.

Has been reading John Evelyn’s Life of Mrs Godolphin, and Mme Sévigné.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [22 May 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 28
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1177

To Emma Darwin   [23 May 1848]

Summary

Family news. Finds Shrewsbury too noisy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [23 May 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1178

To Emma Darwin   [20–1 May 1848]

Summary

Reports on his father’s health, and Catherine’s. CD, himself, has been a little sick.

Hensleigh [Wedgwood] thinks he has settled the free-will question – "we have none whatsoever".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [20–1 May 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 27
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1176

To John Russell   [10 July 1848]

Summary

Ask JR to advise the Queen to issue Her Royal Commission of Inquiry into the best methods of securing the improvement of the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin; Nassau William Senior; John Stevens Henslow; Baden Powell; Bonamy Price; Thomas Jodrell Phillips; Thomas Jodrell Phillips-Jodrell; James Heywood; Edmund Walker Head, eighth baronet; Thomas James Agar Robartes; Philip le Breton; George Nugent Grenville, 2d Baron Nugent of Carlanstown; Charles Lyell, 1st baronet; Harry Verney, second baronet; Peter John Locke King; Henry Galgacus Redhead Yorke; Joseph Kay; Edward France Percival; Edward Horsman; Erasmus Alvey Darwin; Hensleigh Wedgwood; Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  John Russell, 1st Earl Russell
Date:  [10 July 1848]
Classmark:  Cambridge Pamphlets, Folio Series, vol. 4: CUL Cam.a.500.5/124
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1188F
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4
letter