skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1848 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
73 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

To ?   [15 or 22 October 1848]

Summary

Thanks for note and enclosure. Has written to [David?] Landsborough to say dried specimen was just what he wanted. Would like some more in spirits.

Very unwell.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [15 or 22] Oct 1848
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1204

To Charles Lyell   [21? June 1848]

Summary

Comments on apology by Chambers for using some of CD’s material without acknowledgment in discussing Glen Roy. His opinion of Chambers’ book [Ancient sea-margins (1848)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [21? June 1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.75)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1181

To Robert Chambers   [June 1848]

thumbnail

Summary

Congratulates RC on his work on Scottish sea-margins [Ancient sea-margins (1848)].

Discusses Glen Roy; Milne staggered him in favour of the glacier view, but now his opinion has reverted.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Chambers
Date:  [June 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 50: C1–C2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1182

To J. F. W. Herschel   6 June [1848]

Summary

Sends two valves of Ibla.

In his chapter [for Manual, Collected papers 1: 227–50], he will strike out any part that JFWH wants struck out, but if much shortening is required it will need rewriting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Frederick William Herschel, 1st baronet
Date:  6 June [1848]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (HS6: 13)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1183

To John Higgins   6 June [1848]

Summary

Mentions his account; visit to Lincolnshire by his sister [Susan Darwin].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  6 June [1848]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/17)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1184

To John Higgins   14 June [1848]

Summary

Discusses possible land transactions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  14 June [1848]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/20)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1185

To Charles Lyell   [16 June 1848]

Summary

Comments on Ann Susan Horner’s escape in a dangerous incident at sea.

Compares addresses by William Buckland and CL, delivered at recent meeting of the Geological Society.

Discusses the views on Glen Roy in Chambers’ Ancient sea-margins [1848].

Speculates that Chambers wrote Vestiges [of creation (1844)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [16 June 1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.73)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1186

To J. E. Gray   28 [June 1848]

Summary

Mentions returning borrowed book by Camillo Ranzani.

Discusses loan of cirripede specimens from British Museum. "In truth never will a mountain in labour have brought forth such a mouse as my book on the Cirripedia. It is ridiculous the time each species takes me."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  28 [June 1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.74)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1187

To Edward Cresy   [5 or 12 July 1848]

Summary

Has written to William Buckland, recommending EC for position.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [5 or 12] July 1848
Classmark:  DAR 143: 306
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1188

To J. S. Henslow   2 July [1848]

Summary

Criticises lecturing system in education and emphasis on classics. Has forgotten all his classical knowledge.

Asks JSH’s help in naming cirripedes, on which he is working. Believes he has made "some very curious points".

Expects a sixth child [Francis] in August.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  2 July [1848]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A18–A20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1189

To Samuel Pickworth Woodward   10 July 1848

Summary

Is pleased to support SPW’s application for a position in the fossil department at the British Museum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Date:  10 July 1848
Classmark:  British Museum (Central Archive Staff Applications and Testimonials: S. P. Woodward CE33/710/45)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1189A

To Edward Cresy   [15 July 1848]

Summary

Encloses note from William Buckland [1190], stating that no appointment of surveyor is to be made. Thinks further recommendation would be unwise, but will write to Sir Henry De la Beche and [Robert?] Hutton if EC wishes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [15 July 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 307
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1191

To Edward Cresy   [20 July 1848]

Summary

Will speak to Richard Owen, Henry De la Beche, and Robert Hutton concerning appointment for EC.

Leaving for sea-side on Saturday.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [20 July 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 308
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1192

To Francis Boott    20 August 1848

Summary

CD will write to A. A. Gould for aid. Thanks for sympathy and assistance about chloroform.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Boott
Date:  20 Aug 1848
Classmark:  James Cummins, Bookseller (website viewed 7 February 2012)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1195

To J. E. Gray   29 August [1848]

Summary

It had been suggested to CD that JEG intended to anticipate some of his work on the Cirripedia. CD doubted this because JEG had suggested that CD commence the work and has assisted throughout; however, CD sought assurances regarding JEG’s intentions as he wished that "what little novelty there yet remained in the subject, should be the reward of my work". CD apologises for having spoken to JEG on the subject and will communicate JEG’s assurances to those who had expressed their opinions regarding JEG’s intentions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  29 Aug [1848]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Archives DF ZOO/205/7/256-257)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1197

To Charles Lyell   [24 September 1848]

Summary

Congratulations on CL’s knighthood.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [24 Sept 1848]
Classmark:  Kinnordy MS (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1198

To Henri Milne-Edwards   1 September [1848]

Summary

Describes his cirripede work. Asks whether HM-E can arrange for him to borrowspecimens, especially of species described in Dumont d’Urville, Voyage of"Astrolabe" [1830–2]. Lists species that interesthim.

Compliments HM-E on his Crustacés [1834–40].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henri Milne-Edwards
Date:  1 Sept [1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.76)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1199

To Augustus Addison Gould   3 September [1848]

Summary

Describes his research on cirripedes. Asks to borrow specimens. Comments on previous work on the subject.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Augustus Addison Gould
Date:  3 Sept [1848]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Augustus A. Gould papers, 1831–66 MS Am 1210: 224)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1200

To William Hellier Baily   5 October 1848

Summary

Send thanks for informing him of barnacles and asks that they be sent, directed to him, to the Geological Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Hellier Baily
Date:  5 Oct 1848
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (12 November 1963)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1201

To J. D. Hooker   6 October [1848]

thumbnail

Summary

CD makes progress with barnacles. Describes "supplemental" males in detail. In working out metamorphosis, their crustacean homologies followed automatically.

CD opposes appending first describer’s name to specific name.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  6 Oct [1848]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 112a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1202
Document type
letter (73)
Date
1848
01 (6)
02 (12)
03 (6)
04 (6)
05 (12)
06 (7)
07 (7)
08 (3)
09 (4)
10 (4)
11 (1)
12 (5)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next
letter