skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1848 in date [X]
84 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next

To ?   [15 or 22 October 1848]


Thanks for note and enclosure. Has written to [David?] Landsborough to say dried specimen was just what he wanted. Would like some more in spirits.

Very unwell.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [15 or 22] Oct 1848
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1204

To Maria Hooker   [17 December 1848]


Returns letters [from her son, J. D. Hooker, in India].

Asks that B. H. Hodgson’s zoological pamphlets be sent to him at Athenaeum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Maria Hooker
Date:  [17 Dec 1848]
Classmark:  McGill University Library, Department of Rare Books
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1209

To J. W. Lubbock   [December 1848–9]


Obliged for drawings and coins. Cannot tell what the stone is.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John William Lubbock, 3d baronet
Date:  [Dec 1848–9]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1210

To John Higgins   6 December [1848]


Discusses his account. Mentions death of his father and his own inheritance.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  6 Dec [1848]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/23)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1211

To John William Lubbock   [December 1848–9]


Thanks JWL for the use of a schoolroom.

Arranges to meet JWL’s son [John] to discuss use of microscope.

Mentions illness.

Thanks JWL for his paper ["Shooting stars", London Edinburgh & Dublin Philos. Mag. 32 (1848): 81–8, 170–2; 35 (1849): 356–7].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John William Lubbock, 3d baronet
Date:  [Dec 1848–9]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.77)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1212

To Benjamin Waterhouse Hawkins   [1848–51]


Testimonial recommending B. Waterhouse Hawkins [for a teaching post].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Waterhouse Hawkins
Date:  [1848–51]
Classmark:  Library of Congress Manuscript Division (George P. Merrill collection, box 4, file H)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13869

To Edward Cresy   [before May 1848?]


Obliged for account of change in quality of wool. "Some authors will not admit that climate has any perceptible action."

Hopes his health is re-established.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [before May 1848?]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 303
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1545

From Edmund Saul Dixon    [September–October 1848]



He can distinguish varieties of guinea-fowl as soon as birds are hatched.

Behaviour of Malay hens.

Author:  Edmund Saul (Eugene Sebastian Delamer) Dixon
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Sept–Oct 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 205.5: 214
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1621

To Edward Cresy   [before May 1848?]


Agrees that naval expeditions to the Arctic are a waste of money. Believes Sir J. Barrow responsible. "Dr [Richard?] King is quite right in the advantage of Land Expeditions".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [before May 1848?]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 304
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-805

To Daniel Sharpe   23 August [1848?]


Thanks for note.

Glad DS sticks to cleavage and foliation question. Bernhard Studer one of few to take correct view on subject.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Sharpe
Date:  23 Aug [1848?]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-991

To Richard Owen   [April? 1848]


Pleased at RO’s praise of Coral reefs.

Has read with very great interest RO’s "Report on the archetype" [Rep. BAAS 16 (1846): 169–340]. RO should give name to every letter or number in his woodcuts.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [Apr? 1848]
Classmark:  R. S. Owen 1894, 1: 209
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-997

To John Higgins   14 June [1848]


Discusses possible land transactions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  14 June [1848]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/20)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1185

To Charles Lyell   [16 June 1848]


Comments on Ann Susan Horner’s escape in a dangerous incident at sea.

Compares addresses by William Buckland and CL, delivered at recent meeting of the Geological Society.

Discusses the views on Glen Roy in Chambers’ Ancient sea-margins [1848].

Speculates that Chambers wrote Vestiges [of creation (1844)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [16 June 1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.73)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1186

To J. E. Gray   28 [June 1848]


Mentions returning borrowed book by Camillo Ranzani.

Discusses loan of cirripede specimens from British Museum. "In truth never will a mountain in labour have brought forth such a mouse as my book on the Cirripedia. It is ridiculous the time each species takes me."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  28 [June 1848]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.74)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1187

To Edward Cresy   [5 or 12 July 1848]


Has written to William Buckland, recommending EC for position.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [5 or 12] July 1848
Classmark:  DAR 143: 306
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1188

To J. S. Henslow   2 July [1848]


Criticises lecturing system in education and emphasis on classics. Has forgotten all his classical knowledge.

Asks JSH’s help in naming cirripedes, on which he is working. Believes he has made "some very curious points".

Expects a sixth child [Francis] in August.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  2 July [1848]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A18–A20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1189

To Samuel Pickworth Woodward   10 July 1848


Is pleased to support SPW’s application for a position in the fossil department at the British Museum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Date:  10 July 1848
Classmark:  British Museum (Central Archive Staff Applications and Testimonials: S. P. Woodward CE33/710/45)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1189A

From William Buckland   15 July [1848]


Will forward recommendation of Edward Cresy to Edwin Chadwick, but thinks there will be no further need of engineers.

Author:  William Buckland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 July [1848]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1190

To Edward Cresy   [15 July 1848]


Encloses note from William Buckland [1190], stating that no appointment of surveyor is to be made. Thinks further recommendation would be unwise, but will write to Sir Henry De la Beche and [Robert?] Hutton if EC wishes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [15 July 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 307
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1191

To Edward Cresy   [20 July 1848]


Will speak to Richard Owen, Henry De la Beche, and Robert Hutton concerning appointment for EC.

Leaving for sea-side on Saturday.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [20 July 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 308
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1192
Document type
letter (84)
01 (7)
02 (13)
03 (7)
04 (6)
05 (12)
06 (7)
07 (9)
08 (4)
09 (6)
10 (5)
11 (3)
12 (5)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next