skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1847 in date [X]
107 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To J. D. Hooker   [6 November 1847]



Now plans to come to Kew for an hour’s farewell if his stomach permits.

Congratulations on JDH’s Flora Antarctica [1847].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [6 Nov 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 109
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1133

To J. D. Hooker   [8 November 1847]



CD too unwell to see JDH. Encloses Emma’s farewell note.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [8 Nov 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 110
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1134

To George Grey   13 November 1847


Responding to GG’s offer to aid CD’s natural history researches on New Zealand, CD suggests that limestone caverns should be examined for fossils and that observations on the presence and range of erratic boulders in New Zealand would be very valuable.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Grey
Date:  13 Nov 1847
Classmark:  Auckland Public Library (Grey collection GL D8 (2))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1135

To Henri Milne-Edwards   18 November [1847]


Offers HM-E some specimens of Lernaea, a crustacean parasite on Balanus elongatus.

Mentions opinion of Harry Goodsir about a form CD believes to be the larva of Lernaea.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henri Milne-Edwards
Date:  18 Nov [1847]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.66)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1136

To Abraham Clapham   [29 October 1847?]


Accepts AC’s offer to conduct hybridisation experiments, and offers suggestions.

Sends book [Journal of researches, 2d ed. (1845)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Abraham Clapham
Date:  [29 Oct 1847?]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.47)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1137

To John Higgins   11 December [1847]


Discusses account. Glad that all is prosperous.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  11 Dec [1847]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/7)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1138

To J. E. Gray   18 December 1847


Seeks permission from the Trustees of the British Museum to borrow the cirripede specimens in the public collection. Explains his intention to produce a monograph of the Cirripedia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  18 Dec 1847
Classmark:  British Museum (Central Archive ‘Original Papers’, vol. XXXVIII)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1139

To J. C. Ross   31 December 1847


Asks JCR to collect cirripedes for him on forthcoming expedition [to the Arctic in search of Sir John Franklin].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Clark Ross
Date:  31 Dec 1847
Classmark:  The Royal Society (Sa: 384)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1140

To John Edward Gray   [18 December 1847]


Discusses loan of cirripede specimens from the British Museum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Edward Gray
Date:  [18 Dec 1847]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.71)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1146

To William Baxter    2 October [1847?]


Reorders six 2–oz bottles with corks.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Baxter
Date:  2 Oct [1847?]
Classmark:  Lehigh University Libraries Special Collections
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13775

To Charles Lyell   [1847 or 1848]


Replies to note from CL asking about views of glaciers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [1847 or 1848]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 329
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13825F

To Richard Owen   [November 1847 – 51]


"I had not heard before of Whench [Whewell?] having scolded you; I am rather glad of it …

What a grand number of novelties Hooker no doubt will bring home".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [Nov 1847–51]
Classmark:  John K. Lattimer (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13833

To Richard Owen    23 December [1847–54]


Is searching for a tooth of Carcharias which he might have left with RO.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  23 Dec [1847-54]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13834

To Adolf Wilhelm Hermann Kolbe   5 May [1847]


Sends parcel of specimens for R. W. Bunsen.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adolf Wilhelm Hermann Kolbe
Date:  5 May [1847]
Classmark:  Herzog-August-Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel (Briefsammlung Viewig 346, 346a)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1569

To Richard Owen   [6 March 1847]


A specimen of Machairodus offered for sale by F. J. Muñiz.

Discusses possible publication in England of paper by Muñiz describing the skeleton.

Sends pamphlet on scarlatina in the Pampas.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [6 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections Owen correspondence 9/192)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-938

To J. D. Hooker   [5 October 1847]



Mystified by the origin of coal-plants.

Milne’s Glen Roy theory is absurd but, oddly, it has staggered CD in favour of Agassiz’s ice-lake theory.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [5 Oct 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 108
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1123

From Robert Chambers   5 October 1847


Supposition that glaciers made Glen Roy is a dream. Has received three letters from CD on river terraces. Reports on trip to terraces at Belleville. Comparison with Glen Roy.

Author:  Robert Chambers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Oct 1847
Classmark:  DAR 161: 131
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1124

To Joseph Beete Jukes   8 October [1847]


Flattered by JBJ’s discussion of coral reefs [in Voyage of H.M.S. "Fly" 1 (1847): 347–8]. CD has always thought his Coral reefs "too bold and speculative", so he is gratified "when anyone who has had opportunities of observation does not give his verdict against it".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Beete Jukes
Date:  8 Oct [1847]
Classmark:  University of Oklahoma Libraries History of Science Collections
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1125

To Charles Lyell   [11 October 1847]


Discusses enclosed figures on elevation of terraces in several Scottish glens as surveyed by William Kemp and David Stevenson. Comments on Robert Chambers’ view of the terraces. Mentions a letter on the terraces, originally written for publication, which he has asked Robert Jameson [editor of the Edinburgh New Philos. J.] to destroy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [11 Oct 1847]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.64)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1126

To J. D. Hooker   [6 or 13 October 1847]



Difficulty of scheduling visit before JDH departs on Himalayan expedition.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [6 or 13] Oct 1847
Classmark:  DAR 114: 105
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1127
Document type
letter (107)
01 (15)
02 (9)
03 (13)
04 (6)
05 (10)
06 (9)
07 (5)
08 (9)
09 (8)
10 (13)
11 (5)
12 (5)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next