skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1840 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
53 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3

To A. Y. Spearman   16 January 1840

Summary

Presents the Smith, Elder & Co. account for the first number of the fourth part (now published) of the Zoology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  16 Jan 1840
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-550A

To the Geological Society of London   22 January 1840

Summary

W. B. Clarke’s paper on ashes falling at sea off Cape Verde Islands [Proc. Geol. Soc. Lond. 3 (1839): 145–6] need not be published in Transactions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  22 Jan 1840
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/COM/P/4/2/38)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-551

To J. S. Henslow   [24 January 1840]

Summary

Sends specimens from Indian Ocean atolls.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [24 Jan 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A3–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-552

To Charles Lyell   [19 February 1840]

Summary

Remarks on his illness and treatment.

Discusses MS [of Coral reefs] and changes in his view of coral reefs since Journal of researches. Mentions C. G. Ehrenberg’s observations on coral reefs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [19 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.21)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-554

To Robert FitzRoy   [20 February 1840]

Summary

Poor health has made him give up all geological work.

Profits on their volumes [of Narrative] seem absurdly small.

Looks back on Beagle voyage as the most fortunate circumstance in his life.

Finds marriage a great happiness.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert FitzRoy
Date:  [20 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 117
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-555

To William C. Redfield   24 February [1840]

Summary

Much interested in WCR’s paper on "Whirlwinds excited by fire" [Am. J. Sci. 36 (1839): 50–9; Edinburgh New Philos. J. 27 (1839): 369–79].

Sends a summary account of circular clouds and waterspouts formed during volcanic eruption in the Azores [S. Tillard, "Eruption of a volcano in sea off St Michael", Philos. Trans. R. Soc. Lond. (1812): 152–8].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William C. Redfield
Date:  24 Feb [1840]
Classmark:  Yale University: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Letters to William C. Redfield vol. 2 Scientific 1831-41 (z117 00151 2) pp. 335–8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-556

To Richard Owen   24 [February 1840]

Summary

Asks RO whether he has any MS [of Fossil Mammalia, no. 4] ready and to see that the plates are finished.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  24 [Feb 1840]
Classmark:  The Royal College of Surgeons of England (MS0025/1/5/11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-557

To Benjamin Silliman   26 February 1840

Summary

Asks that a letter on tornados be forwarded to W. C. Redfield. Hopes Silliman received a copy of Journal of Researches.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Silliman, Sr
Date:  26 Feb 1840
Classmark:  Gallery of History (4 December 1996)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-557F

To Mr Folthorp of Smith, Elder & Co.   [6 February 1840]

Summary

Sends MS [of Coral reefs?] to be copied.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Smith, Elder & Co; Folthorp, Mr
Date:  [6 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-553

To Leonard Jenyns   [27 February 1840]

Summary

Has been unwell. Publication of two numbers [of Zoology] has been delayed. Thought first Fish number good.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  [27 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-558

To Leonard Jenyns   5 April [1840]

Summary

Health is improved, but would do anything to get strong again. Is consulting his father; will return to London soon to see B. W. Hawkins.

Will send MS [of Fish, no. 2] to the printer, and be there when LJ comes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  5 Apr [1840]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-563

To Emma Darwin   [5 April 1840]

Summary

An amusing description of his railway journey to Shrewsbury.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [5 Apr 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-564

To John Washington, Secretary, Royal Geographical Society   16 May 1840

Summary

Has much pleasure "in accepting the honour of being proposed as a member of the Council of the Geographical Society".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Washington; Royal Geographical Society
Date:  16 May 1840
Classmark:  Royal Geographical Society
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-568
Page: Prev  1 2 3
letter