skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1839 in date [X]
94 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next

From William Whewell   11 April 1839

Summary

Sends a book [his translation of Goethe’s Hermann u. Dorothea] as a wedding gift.

Author:  William Whewell
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Apr 1839
Classmark:  DAR 204: 175
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-504

From J. S. Henslow   [c. 14 April 1839]

thumbnail

Summary

[Note forwarding 503.]

Lord Fitzwilliam’s gardener does not believe in hybrid ferns.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c.14 Apr 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 63v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-505

To William Whewell   16 April [1839]

Summary

Thanks WW for wedding gift.

Expresses admiration for his History of the inductive sciences [1837].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Whewell
Date:  16 Apr [1839]
Classmark:  Trinity College, Cambridge (Add c 88: 6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-506

To the Secretary of the Geological Society of France   25 April 1839

Summary

Acknowledges, on behalf of the Geological Society, receipt of the Bulletin de la Société Géologique de France, vol. 9, feuilles 29, 34.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Secretary, Soc. Géol. France
Date:  25 Apr 1839
Classmark:  Bibliothèque municipale de Versailles (Autographe Darwin)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-507

From Caleb Burrell Rose   30 April 1839

Summary

Sends fee for admission to the Geological Society and a signed obligation.

Author:  Caleb Burrell Rose
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Apr 1839
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/4/216)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-507A

To G. R. Gray   [June–October 1839]

Summary

Asks for some Anthus skins to examine [for Birds]. Fears they may turn out to be all one species. Sends details from his notes on Falkland Island specimens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Gray
Date:  [June–Oct 1839]
Classmark:  The British Library (Egerton MS 2348: 235–6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-508

From Richard Sutton Ford   6 May 1839

thumbnail

Summary

Answers to [Questions about breeding].

Author:  Richard Sutton Ford
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 May 1839
Classmark:  DAR 186: 44
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-509

From George Tollet   [10 May 1839]

thumbnail

Summary

Replies to [Questions about breeding].

Author:  George Tollet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [10 May 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 186: 51
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-510

To the Secretary of the American Philosophical Society   23 May 1839

Summary

As Secretary of the Geological Society of London, CD formally expresses thanks for the American Philosophical Society’s Proceedings, vol. 1, no. 6.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Secretary, American Philosophical Society
Date:  23 May 1839
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.16)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-511

To Gideon Algernon Mantell   23 May 1839

Summary

Writes, as Secretary of the Geological Society, to thank GAM for his presents, a slab of anthracite with plant impressions (from Philadelphia) and some fossils from Cornwall.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gideon Algernon Mantell
Date:  23 May 1839
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (Mantell papers fMS-Papers-0083-465)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-511A

To A. Y. Spearman   27 May 1839

Summary

Presents the account of Smith, Elder & Co. for the now published second and third numbers of the first part of the Zoology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  27 May 1839
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-512A

To William Sharp MacLeay   29 May 1839

Summary

Introduces Syms Covington and recommends him for employment in Australia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Sharp Macleay
Date:  29 May 1839
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-513

To T. L. Mitchell   31 May [1839]

Summary

CD’s servant [Syms Covington] will work his passage to Australia.

Returns a curious stone, of which he hopes to publish an account. [See Volcanic islands, p. 38.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Livingstone Mitchell
Date:  31 May [1839]
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (A 295/1 pp.1–3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-515

From Robert FitzRoy   [2 or 16 June 1839]

Summary

Has not yet had time to read CD’s Journal of researches attentively. He is sure there is no expression referring to himself personally that he could wish were not in it.

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [2 or 16] June 1839
Classmark:  DAR 204: 144
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-516

From J. M. Herbert   13 January [1839]

Summary

Sends congratulations on CD’s engagement, with a gift.

Author:  John Maurice Herbert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 168
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-487

To W. J. Broderip   19 January [1839]

Summary

Hopes Richard Owen will have time to do CD’s shells in spirits.

Doubts WJB’s suggestion that moles may play a part in formation of mould.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William John Broderip
Date:  19 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-488

To Edwin C. Prince   21 January [1839]

Summary

Asks what generic and subgeneric name John Gould has given to the goatsuckers of the U. S. [for Birds].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edwin C. Prince
Date:  21 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-491

To Charles Stokes   [1839 – September 1842]

Summary

Sends observations he made on Fungia during Beagle voyage. Asks CS to make corrections in style or names of parts as he sees fit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Stokes
Date:  [1839 – Sept 1842]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-478

To Charles Babbage   19 [February 1839 – August 1842]

Summary

Asks to be allowed to bring his sister to CB’s party "that she may see the World".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  19 [Feb 1839 - Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37191: 299)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-479

To Charles Lyell   [c. 9 January 1839]

Summary

Discusses his Glen Roy paper [(1839), Collected papers 1: 87–137], which he is sending to CL.

Remarks on Charles MacLaren’s treatment of alluvium. Comments on alluvial action in Lochaber.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [c. 9 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-480
Document type
letter (94)
Date
1839
01 (23)
02 (6)
03 (7)
04 (6)
05 (10)
06 (11)
07 (6)
08 (4)
09 (1)
10 (12)
11 (7)
12 (1)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next
letter