skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1839 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
56 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3  Next

To A. Y. Spearman   27 May 1839

Summary

Presents the account of Smith, Elder & Co. for the now published second and third numbers of the first part of the Zoology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  27 May 1839
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-512A

To William Sharp MacLeay   29 May 1839

Summary

Introduces Syms Covington and recommends him for employment in Australia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Sharp Macleay
Date:  29 May 1839
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-513

To T. L. Mitchell   31 May [1839]

Summary

CD’s servant [Syms Covington] will work his passage to Australia.

Returns a curious stone, of which he hopes to publish an account. [See Volcanic islands, p. 38.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Livingstone Mitchell
Date:  31 May [1839]
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (A 295/1 pp.1–3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-515

To William Herbert   26 June 1839

thumbnail

Summary

CD is led to believe there are no true permanently inbreeding, sexually reproducing beings. Thanks for replies to breeding questions.

Asks for clarification of Hippeastrum crosses: is selfing or crossing with individual of same species intended and was increased fertility due to constitution of foreign parent or due to the pollen coming from another plant? Has WH known any hybrid or mongrel to revert or to vary in a manner unlikely to be effect of soil?

Sends Journal of researches.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Herbert, dean of Manchester
Date:  26 June 1839
Classmark:  DAR 185: 65–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-523

To Thomas Green   [after 30 June 1839]

Summary

Returns proof sheets and requests revises. Gives his opinion of Mr Walkers’s work.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Green
Date:  [after 30 June 1839]
Classmark:  Bonhams, New York (dealers) (21 September 2015)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-524F

To A. Y. Spearman   13 July 1839

Summary

Transmits, as on former occasions, the Smith, Elder & Co. account for the now published third number of the third part of the Zoology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  13 July 1839
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-525A

To William Henry Smyth   7 August [1839]

Summary

Asks for details of Smyth’s Island discovered by WHS – particularly whether the islets form a ring surrounding a lagoon. [See Coral reefs, p. 158].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Henry Smyth
Date:  7 Aug [1839]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-530

To William Shoberl   16 August [1839]

Summary

Gives his opinion of a MS on geology. It is not really a scientific work. It might sell well, but CD’s opinion on success of sale is worthless.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Shoberl
Date:  16 Aug [1839]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-531

To W. J. Broderip   19 January [1839]

Summary

Hopes Richard Owen will have time to do CD’s shells in spirits.

Doubts WJB’s suggestion that moles may play a part in formation of mould.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William John Broderip
Date:  19 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-488

To Richard Owen   [1839 – April 1840]

Summary

Delighted by RO’s discussion in this sheet. RO should return revises to printer and get remaining ones.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [1839 – Apr 1840]
Classmark:  Charles Hamilton (dealer) (13 June 1974)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-397

To Woodbine Parish   [January 1839?]

Summary

Likes WP’s book [Buenos Ayres and the province of La Plata (1838)]. Thinks it will interest all "who care for graver things than what the traveller eats and says to the Señoritas".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Woodbine Parish
Date:  [Jan 1839?]
Classmark:  Shuttleworth 1910, p. 412 n.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-398

To Charles Babbage   [February 1839 – August 1842]

Summary

Asks permission to bring Fanny Allen to CB’s party.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  [Feb 1839 – Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37191: 298)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-470

To John Phillips   [18 March 1839]

Summary

Will send JP a map as requested. Asks for a ticket to one of JP’s lectures.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  [18 Mar 1839]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History Archive Collections (John Phillips collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-473

To Charles Babbage   [October 1839 – August 1842]

Summary

Regrets he cannot accept invitation. "My health will not at present stand going out in the evenings."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  [Oct 1839– Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37191: 296)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-474

To Charles Babbage   [1839 – August 1842]

Summary

Is so unwell today that he is unable to come [to CB’s party].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  [1839 – Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 37191: 297)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-476

To John Maurice Herbert   [January 1839 – September 1842]

Summary

Suggests the names of two bird-preservers for JMH’s friend.

In reference to an earlier letter, replies: "As for Birds of Paradise from the West Indies, tell that to the marines, as we used to say on board the Beagle".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Maurice Herbert
Date:  [Jan 1839 – Sept 1842]
Classmark:  Bonhams, New York (dealers) (11 December 2013)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-476A

To Charles Stokes   [1839 – September 1842]

Summary

Sends observations he made on Fungia during Beagle voyage. Asks CS to make corrections in style or names of parts as he sees fit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Stokes
Date:  [1839 – Sept 1842]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-478

To Charles Babbage   19 [February 1839 – August 1842]

Summary

Asks to be allowed to bring his sister to CB’s party "that she may see the World".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  19 [Feb 1839 - Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37191: 299)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-479

To Charles Lyell   [c. 9 January 1839]

Summary

Discusses his Glen Roy paper [(1839), Collected papers 1: 87–137], which he is sending to CL.

Remarks on Charles MacLaren’s treatment of alluvium. Comments on alluvial action in Lochaber.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [c. 9 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-480

To William Whewell   4 [January 1839]

Summary

Informs him of J. B. Jukes’s plans concerning the Newfoundland survey post.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Whewell
Date:  4 [Jan 1839]
Classmark:  Trinity College, Cambridge (Add c 88: 5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-483
Document type
letter (56)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Darwin, Emma (1)
Wedgwood, Emma (1)
Date
1839
01 (15)
02 (4)
03 (4)
04 (3)
05 (7)
06 (4)
07 (2)
08 (2)
10 (9)
11 (6)
Page: Prev  1 2 3  Next
letter