skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1839 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
38 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2

From Jean Baptiste Armand Louis Léonce Élie de Beaumont   31 July 1839

Summary

Acknowledges receipt of CD’s gift of the Journal of researches. Praises CD’s "ingenious" views.

Author:  Jean-Baptiste-Armand-Louis-Léonce (Léonce) Elie de Beaumont
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 July 1839
Classmark:  DAR 204: 177
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-529

From Carl Friedrich Alexander Hartmann   23 August 1839

Summary

Thanks CD for his Journal of researches, "one of the best scientific travelworks of this time", which CFAH intends to translate into German.

Author:  Carl Friedrich Alexander Hartmann
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Aug 1839
Classmark:  DAR 204: 179
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-532

From J. G. Malcolmson   31 August 1839

Summary

Observations on the geology of Arabia.

Author:  John Grant Malcolmson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Aug 1839
Classmark:  DAR 39: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-533

From Alexander von Humboldt   18 September 1839

Summary

Praises CD’s Journal of researches and comments on some of CD’s observations and conclusions. Considers volcanic activity and its effect on past climate and changes in climate over time. Discusses glacial phenomena. Believes the climate of the coast of Peru is modified by cold sea-currents.

Author:  Friedrich Wilhelm Heinrich Alexander (Alexander) von Humboldt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Sept 1839
Classmark:  DAR 204: 180
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-534

From J. G. Malcolmson   7 October 1839

Summary

Sends notes on soundings made on coral banks in the China Sea.

His recent geological observations.

Finds a difficulty with CD’s erratic block theory.

Author:  John Grant Malcolmson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Oct 1839
Classmark:  DAR 39: 12–14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-535

From J. G. Malcolmson   30 November 1839

Summary

Sends specimens of coralline with vermiform holes.

J. Allan’s observations of Aldabra and the Cormoros [see Coral reefs, p. 186] and news of his experiments on the growth of coral.

Author:  John Grant Malcolmson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Nov 1839
Classmark:  DAR 39: 15–17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-548

From J. G. Malcolmson   [after 7 October 1839]

thumbnail

Summary

Comments on the discussion of erratic blocks in Journal of researches [pp. 619, 621–2].

Author:  John Grant Malcolmson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 7 Oct 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 50: C24–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-559

From J. M. Herbert   13 January [1839]

Summary

Sends congratulations on CD’s engagement, with a gift.

Author:  John Maurice Herbert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 168
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-487

From [Mr Edwards?]   [before end of 1839?]

Summary

Reports on a setter puppy born of apparently pure pointer parents. Any cross must have been far back.

Author:  [–] Edwards
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before end of 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 163: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13803

From Susan Darwin   [c. 24 October 1839]

Summary

Gives some information on Darwin family history.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. 24 Oct 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 25 (on display at Down House in 1991)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-472

From G. R. Waterhouse   [1839 – 10 February 1840]

thumbnail

Summary

Sends John Blackwall’s book [Researches in zoology (1834)]. Discusses his reasons for doubting that there are any marsupials in Java or Sumatra.

Author:  George Robert Waterhouse
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1839 – 10 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 205.3: 295
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-475

From Emma Darwin   [c. February 1839]

Summary

Discusses CD’s religious doubts. Fears his work may lead him to discount what cannot be proved, and advises that there are some things which, "if true are likely to be above our comprehension" and "that there is a danger in giving up revelation".

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. Feb 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-471

From Emma Wedgwood   [3 January 1839]

Summary

Emma is surprised how quickly CD has moved into the new house and understands his feeling of triumph. Wants him and Fanny [Mrs Hensleigh] Wedgwood to settle on hiring a cook.

Is reading Mansfield Park [Jane Austen (1814)], which she finds "very suitable".

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [3 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 158
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-482

From Emma Wedgwood   [7 January 1839]

Summary

Still rejoices in having found the house they like.

Thinks he might enjoy Jenny [Jane Welsh] Carlyle’s company more away from Carlyle "as she must have her full swing in talking".

Says the wedding must be fixed for the 29th instead of the 24th.

Hopes he will look better than on his last visit.

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [7 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 159
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-485

From Emma Wedgwood   [9 January 1839]

Summary

Glad to have his letter; supposes she will receive only two or three more from him in her life.

Thinks he should leave the curtains for her.

Discusses Mungo Park and Sir Walter Scott’s Life.

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [9 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 160
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-486

From Emma Wedgwood   [20–1 January 1839]

Summary

Preparations for the wedding, various callers, and other bits of news.

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [20–1 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 161
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-490

From Emma Wedgwood   [23 January 1839]

Summary

Responds warmly to his very nice letter. CD need have no fear that she will not be as happy as he.

Again expresses uneasiness that their opinions on religion do not agree on all points. Hopes they will sympathise in their feelings on the subject.

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [23 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 162
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-492

From Benjamin Silliman Sr and Benjamin SIlliman Jr   24 May 1839

Summary

Thanks for copies of the Proceedings of the Geological Society of London, with a request for items (listed) missing from their set.

Offer to supply, if they can, any copies missing from the Geological Society’s run of the American Journal of Science.

Author:  Benjamin Silliman, Sr; Benjamin Silliman, Jr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin; William John Hamilton
Date:  24 May 1839
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/233)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-511F
Document type
letter (38)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Hamilton, W. J. (1)
Date
1839
01 (8)
02 (2)
03 (3)
04 (3)
05 (3)
06 (7)
07 (4)
08 (2)
09 (1)
10 (3)
11 (1)
12 (1)
Page: Prev  1 2
letter