skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1836 in date [X]
40 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2

From Charles Lyell   26 December 1836

Summary

Comments on [MS of] CD’s paper ["Elevation on the coast of Chili" (4 Jan 1837), Collected papers 1: 41–3].

Invites CD to dinner. "Don’t accept any official scientific place, if you can avoid it".

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Dec 1836
Classmark:  Published in K. M. Lyell (1881) 1: 474–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-335

From Robert FitzRoy   30 December 1836

Summary

RF has consulted W. J. Broderip, who recommended a joint three-volume publication of Captain King’s journal, FitzRoy’s, and CD’s, with profits divided by three. What does CD think of such a plan? RF promised Colburn an answer in January.

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Dec 1836
Classmark:  DAR 204: 136
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-337

From C. D. Douglas   5 January 1836

Summary

Reports in detail on the 20 Feb 1835 earthquake and on volcanic activity into December of 1835. Encloses a letter sent to him describing the earthquake.

Author:  Charles D. Douglas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Jan 1836
Classmark:  DAR 39.1: 5–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-292

To Philip Parker King   [21 January 1836]

Summary

CD informs PPK of his impending arrival at Dunheved, Penrith; news of his journey thus far.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Phillip Parker King
Date:  [21 Jan 1836]
Classmark:  Bathurst District Historical Society
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-293

To Susan Darwin   28 January 1836

Summary

CD’s impressions of Sydney and of FitzRoy’s character and temperament.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  28 Jan 1836
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-294

To J. S. Henslow   [28–9] January 1836

Summary

His joy at prospect of journey’s end in eight months’ time.

Observations on Australia.

Reports on his collecting in Galapagos – its flora and very curious birds; its instructive geology.

Tahiti and good work of missionaries.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [28–9] Jan 1836
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters 29 DAR/1/1/29)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-295

From Susan Darwin   12 February 1836

Summary

CD’s 27th birthday. News of family and friends. A niece, Mary Susan Parker, born 31 January.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Feb 1836
Classmark:  DAR 97(ser. 2): 30–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-297

To W. D. Fox   15 February 1836

Summary

Finds the voyage tedious at present.

Expects that the different scientific societies will be of the greatest use to his work in London when he returns home.

Gives some impressions of Australia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  15 Feb 1836
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 48)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-299

To Caroline Darwin   18 July 1836

Summary

In five days of geologising on St Helena, he found that the shells on high land had been mistakenly identified as seashells. They are land shells, but of species no longer living.

Can think of nothing but the return to England and his family.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  18 July 1836
Classmark:  DAR 223: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-305

To Caroline Darwin   24 October [1836]

Summary

Last four days have been spent calling on naturalists. Geologists have been kind, but zoologists seem to think a number of undescribed creatures a nuisance.

Will send his belongings to Cambridge, but eventually his quarters must be London.

FitzRoy is to be married.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  24 Oct [1836]
Classmark:  Copy
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-313

To Caroline Darwin   [9 November 1836]

Summary

His fossil bones are unpacked and some are great treasures. He has some geology to do: R. I. Murchison has lent him a map and asked him to look at a part of the country he has been describing.

Their only protection against having Harriet Martineau as sister-in-law is that she works Erasmus too hard.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  [9 Nov 1836]
Classmark:  Copy DAR 154
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-321

To Caroline Darwin   [7 December 1836]

Summary

Dinner at the Hensleigh Wedgwoods’. They have agreed to go over his journal. Henry Holland thinks it not worth publishing alone because it goes over FitzRoy’s ground.

His impressions of Harriet Martineau: "She is overwhelmed with her own projects, her own thoughts and own abilities."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  [7 Dec 1836]
Classmark:  Copy
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-325

To Anthony Carlisle   [19 December 1836]

Summary

"Read a letter [to AC] of the 19th Instant from Mr Charles Darwin of Christs College, Cambridge stating that understanding from the Conservators that a Series of fossil Bones collected during the voyage of H: M: Surveying Vessel Beagle possesses a peculiar Interest as connected with Specimens already in the Museum of this College that it had always been his intention to present such Bones to some public collection on the condition that Casts thereof should be given to the leading Public Bodies for the sake of making them more generally useful, specifying the British Museum the Geological Society and the Universities of Cambridge and Oxford, and one set for himself: and that under such Conditions he should be most happy to present the entire series to the Museum of this College."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Anthony Carlisle; Royal College of Surgeons
Date:  [19 Dec 1836]
Classmark:  The Royal College of Surgeons of England (Minute book of Board of Curators MUS/2/1/4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-330

From Catherine Darwin   27 [December 1836]

Summary

News of family and friends, Harriet Martineau’s soirée; funds deposited for him.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 [Dec 1836]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 134
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-336

To Catherine Darwin   3 June 1836

Summary

Will call on Sir J. Herschel, then take short trip in the African desert.

Horrified at the publication of "the little book of extracts" from his letters to Henslow ["Letters to Professor Henslow" (1835), Collected papers 1: 3–16].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  3 June 1836
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-302

To South African Christian Recorder   28 June 1836

Summary

A defence of the work of missionaries in the Pacific islands and Australia. [The letter was apparently written by RF with supporting evidence quoted from CD’s journal. The letter is signed by RF alone. A summary conclusion, as printed, is signed by both:] "On the whole, balancing all that we have heard, and all that we ourselves have seen concerning the missionaries in the Pacific, we are very much satisfied that they thoroughly deserve the warmest support, not only of individuals, but of the British Government."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin; Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  South African Christian Recorder
Date:  28 June 1836
Classmark:  South African Christian Recorder 2(1836): 238 Reprint in Darwin Library—CUL: ‘Philosophical tracts’
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-303

From Catherine Darwin   29 January 1836

Summary

They have been reading about the wreck of the Challenger; much impressed by Capt. FitzRoy’s bravery.

The W. D. Foxes have a daughter. Family news.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Jan 1836
Classmark:  DAR 97 (ser. 2): 28–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-296

To Catherine Darwin   14 February 1836

Summary

All prefer Hobart Town and its society to Sydney. CD’s view on emigration to colonies. All on board are homesick.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  14 Feb 1836
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-298

From Caroline Darwin   28 March 1836

Summary

News of friends and family.

Author:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Mar 1836
Classmark:  DAR 97 (ser. 2): 32–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-300

To Caroline Darwin   29 April 1836

Summary

Keeling Islands, his first coral lagoons; he has been occupied with subject of coral formation for six months.

Very busy at sea rewriting old geological notes. Has difficulties with writing.

FitzRoy has proposed joint account of the journey, combining CD’s journal with his own.

Looks forward with anxiety to Henslow’s reaction to the geological notes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  29 Apr 1836
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-301
Document type
letter (40)
Date
1836
01 (5)
02 (3)
03 (1)
04 (1)
06 (2)
07 (2)
08 (1)
10 (8)
11 (5)
12 (12)
Page: Prev  1 2
letter