skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1836 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
40 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From William Owen Sr   19 December 1836

Summary

Asks CD’s help in finding a tutor for his son Charles.

Author:  William Owen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Dec 1836
Classmark:  DAR 204: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-331

From Hensleigh Wedgwood   [20 December 1836]

Summary

Has returned CD’s Beagle journal MS. Thinks it would be an interesting account even if they did not know CD, and that it will be successful if published; the less it is mixed up with FitzRoy’s journal, the better.

Author:  Hensleigh Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [20 Dec 1836]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 140
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-332

From Sarah Elizabeth (Sarah) Wedgwood   23 December [1836]

Summary

Has been presenting wedding gifts to her nieces and nephews during CD’s absence, without asking whether they are ready for them, so she sends him £40.

Caroline says CD has taken a lecture room for his work at Cambridge.

Author:  Sarah Elizabeth (Sarah) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Dec [1836]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 149
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-333

From Anthony Carlisle   23 December 1836

Summary

The Royal College of Surgeons’ Board of Curators approve the terms and conditions under which CD has offered his S. American fossil bones to the College, and have sent their recommendation to the Council.

Author:  Anthony Carlisle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Dec 1836
Classmark:  DAR 204: 133
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-334

From Charles Lyell   26 December 1836

Summary

Comments on [MS of] CD’s paper ["Elevation on the coast of Chili" (4 Jan 1837), Collected papers 1: 41–3].

Invites CD to dinner. "Don’t accept any official scientific place, if you can avoid it".

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Dec 1836
Classmark:  Published in K. M. Lyell (1881) 1: 474–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-335

From Robert FitzRoy   30 December 1836

Summary

RF has consulted W. J. Broderip, who recommended a joint three-volume publication of Captain King’s journal, FitzRoy’s, and CD’s, with profits divided by three. What does CD think of such a plan? RF promised Colburn an answer in January.

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Dec 1836
Classmark:  DAR 204: 136
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-337

To Charles Whitley   24 October [1836]

Summary

Congratulates CW on his marriage. Waiting in London till Beagle arrives in Woolwich.

Describes recent visit to Henslow in Cambridge.

At a loss to arrange specimens and observations.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Thomas Whitley
Date:  24 Oct [1836]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 41567: 248–50)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-314

To The Master & Fellows, Caius College   [19 December 1836 – 6 March 1837]

Summary

"Mr Darwin presents his compliments to the Master & Fellows of Caius Coll. and is extremely sorry he is prevented by a previous engagement the honor of dining with them on Thursday."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caius College
Date:  [19 Dec 1836 – 6 Mar 1837]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.7)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-326

To W. D. Fox   15 December [1836]

Summary

Informs WDF of his activities since the Beagle landed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  15 Dec [1836]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 50)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-327

To Richard Owen   19 December [1836]

Summary

Has written to Royal College of Surgeons, exactly as RO recommended, concerning disposition of his South American fossil bones. He fixed on the British Museum, rather than Paris, to receive plaster casts, because he was on board a King’s ship. Suggests RO propose another set for Paris, where they would be more useful than at BM. Has scarcely begun unpacking his cases.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  19 Dec [1836]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-329

From C. D. Douglas   5 January 1836

Summary

Reports in detail on the 20 Feb 1835 earthquake and on volcanic activity into December of 1835. Encloses a letter sent to him describing the earthquake.

Author:  Charles D. Douglas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Jan 1836
Classmark:  DAR 39.1: 5–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-292

To Philip Parker King   [21 January 1836]

Summary

CD informs PPK of his impending arrival at Dunheved, Penrith; news of his journey thus far.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Phillip Parker King
Date:  [21 Jan 1836]
Classmark:  Bathurst District Historical Society
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-293

To Susan Darwin   28 January 1836

Summary

CD’s impressions of Sydney and of FitzRoy’s character and temperament.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  28 Jan 1836
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-294

To J. S. Henslow   [28–9] January 1836

Summary

His joy at prospect of journey’s end in eight months’ time.

Observations on Australia.

Reports on his collecting in Galapagos – its flora and very curious birds; its instructive geology.

Tahiti and good work of missionaries.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [28–9] Jan 1836
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters 29 DAR/1/1/29)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-295

From Susan Darwin   12 February 1836

Summary

CD’s 27th birthday. News of family and friends. A niece, Mary Susan Parker, born 31 January.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Feb 1836
Classmark:  DAR 97(ser. 2): 30–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-297

To W. D. Fox   15 February 1836

Summary

Finds the voyage tedious at present.

Expects that the different scientific societies will be of the greatest use to his work in London when he returns home.

Gives some impressions of Australia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  15 Feb 1836
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 48)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-299

To J. S. Henslow   9 July 1836

Summary

Asks JSH to propose him for Geological Society. His meeting with Sir John Herschel and Andrew Smith at Cape of Good Hope.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  9 July 1836
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 30 DAR/1/1/30)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-304

To Susan Darwin   4 August [1836]

Summary

Beagle is again in Brazil because of need to check on "singular disagreements in the Longitudes".

Pleased by Sedgwick’s praise.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  4 Aug [1836]
Classmark:  DAR 223: 37
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-306

To Josiah Wedgwood II   [5 October 1836]

thumbnail

Summary

Happily home, he sends thanks to his "first Lord of the Admiralty". Will visit Maer in two or three weeks.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, II
Date:  [5 Oct 1836]
Classmark:  DAR 185
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-307

From William Owen Sr   5 October [1836]

Summary

Welcomes CD home; urges him to come to Woodhouse.

Author:  William Owen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Oct [1836]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 138
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-309
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1836
01 (5)
02 (3)
03 (1)
04 (1)
06 (2)
07 (2)
08 (1)
10 (8)
11 (5)
12 (12)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter