skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1836::11 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. S. Henslow   [1 November 1836]


Alerts JSH to boxes of specimens and letter of 30 Oct on the way by wagon.

Thomas Bell has expressed interest in CD’s Crustacea and reptiles.

CD’s ignorance about his botanical specimens embarrasses him.

Asks whether JSH is disappointed with Galapagos plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [1 Nov 1836]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 33 DAR/1/1/33)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-318

To W. D. Fox   6 November [1836]


All his affairs are most prosperous. Has found many who will undertake description of animals; he will work at the geology. Lyell has been most friendly and kind.

CD has been proposed to the Geological Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  6 Nov [1836]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 49)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-319

To Charles Wilkes   [7 November 1836]


Arranges to meet CW for conversation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Wilkes
Date:  [7 Nov 1836]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-320

From J. M. Herbert   [19 November 1836]


Welcomes CD; has tried to find him. May see him in Cambridge. Reminisces about CD’s musical taste and memory. Describes Charles Whitley’s wedding and wife. Mentions friends.

Author:  John Maurice Herbert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [19 Nov 1836]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 137
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-323

To Caroline Darwin   [9 November 1836]


His fossil bones are unpacked and some are great treasures. He has some geology to do: R. I. Murchison has lent him a map and asked him to look at a part of the country he has been describing.

Their only protection against having Harriet Martineau as sister-in-law is that she works Erasmus too hard.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  [9 Nov 1836]
Classmark:  Copy DAR 154
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-321