skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1836::10 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Charles Whitley   24 October [1836]


Congratulates CW on his marriage. Waiting in London till Beagle arrives in Woolwich.

Describes recent visit to Henslow in Cambridge.

At a loss to arrange specimens and observations.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Thomas Whitley
Date:  24 Oct [1836]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 41567: 248–50)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-314

To J. S. Henslow   [30–1 October 1836]


CD in London to meet with naturalists about his collections. Lyell and Owen are helpful, but no one else, except R. E. Grant, seems to want to examine his specimens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [30–1 Oct 1836]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 32 DAR/1/1/32)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-317

To Josiah Wedgwood II   [5 October 1836]



Happily home, he sends thanks to his "first Lord of the Admiralty". Will visit Maer in two or three weeks.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, II
Date:  [5 Oct 1836]
Classmark:  DAR 185
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-307

To Robert FitzRoy   6 October [1836]


CD describes his happy home-coming. Finds his family and Shrewsbury unchanged.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert FitzRoy
Date:  6 Oct [1836]
Classmark:  Copy
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-310

To J. S. Henslow   6 October [1836]


His joy at being home. Anxious to see JSH for advice on his geological specimens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  6 Oct [1836]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 31 DAR/1/1/31)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-311

To Caroline Darwin   24 October [1836]


Last four days have been spent calling on naturalists. Geologists have been kind, but zoologists seem to think a number of undescribed creatures a nuisance.

Will send his belongings to Cambridge, but eventually his quarters must be London.

FitzRoy is to be married.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  24 Oct [1836]
Classmark:  Copy
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-313
Document type
letter (6)
Darwin, C. R.[X]
05 (1)
06 (2)
24 (2)
30 (1)