skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1834 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
18 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From F. W. Hope   15 January 1834

Summary

Acknowledges CD’s letter about alpine entomology of Tierra del Fuego; discusses geographical distribution; urges CD to make a chart of vegetable and geological distribution of insects. Advises him on species to collect and assures him of all assistance in describing his captures on his return.

Tells of founding of Entomological Society, and enrolls CD.

News of J. F. Stephens’ lawsuit and continuation of his Illustrations of British entomology [1827–46]. Praises general state of zoological science in England.

Author:  Frederick William Hope
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Jan 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 127
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-235

From Susan Darwin   12[–28] February 1834

Summary

Writes on CD’s 25th birthday.

Points out "errors in orthography" in his journal.

News of family and friends, visits, and other social events.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12[–28] Feb 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 102
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-237

From J. M. Herbert   [28 March] 1834

Summary

A letter full of news of Cambridge and friends: the BAAS meeting at Cambridge; charges of corruption in the University; the Cambridge petition on behalf of Dissenters.

Author:  John Maurice Herbert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Mar] 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 126
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-240

From William Owen Sr   10 April – 1 May 1834

Summary

Writes a cordial letter with family and local news. Hopes CD will see his two sons in India.

P.S. by Catherine Darwin says no letter was written this month as all is well at home.

Author:  William Owen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Apr–1 May 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 129
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-243

From Edward Lumb   8 May 1834

Summary

Responds to CD’s queries: the bones were received from Mr Keen and shipped to Henslow; expects another collection which he will forward.

Adds news that has arrived at Buenos Aires since CD left.

Author:  Edward Lumb
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 May 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 128
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-245

From Susan Darwin   [23] May 1834

Summary

News of family and friends.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [23] May 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 103
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-246

From Robert Edward Alison   [June? 1834]

Summary

Sends some historical data to illustrate the elevation of the coast at Valparaiso in recent times.

Author:  Robert Edward Alison
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [June? 1834]
Classmark:  DAR 36: 425–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-247

From J. S. Henslow   22 July 1834

Summary

CD’s cargo is safe; the fossils have been sent to William Clift.

JSH asks for dried plants (those sent were all of greatest interest).

Sends news of Cambridge and mutual friends.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 July 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-249

From H. S. Fox   25 July 1834

Summary

Thanks CD for letter of 5 April and specimens; did not know the Falklands and Patagonia were so interesting geologically.

Will answer CD’s queries about S. Brazil in another letter. Names Friedrich Sellow, A. Saint-Hilaire, and Andrew Mathews as naturalists who travelled there. Directs CD to Alexander Caldcleugh in Santiago.

Author:  Henry Stephen Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 July 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 123
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-252

From [Alexander Caldcleugh?]   [28 August – 5 September 1834]

Summary

Gives a map of part of Chile between Santiago and San Fernando. Suggests places and people that CD might profitably visit [en route].

Author:  Alexander Caldcleugh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Aug – 5 Sept 1834]
Classmark:  DAR 35: 405
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-255

From Frederick W. Eck   [September 1834]

Summary

Heights of various places in Chile.

Author:  Frederick Andrew Eck
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Sept 1834]
Classmark:  DAR 35: 232
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-256

From W. D. Fox   1 November 1834

Summary

WDF sends news of his activities and of his family.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Nov 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 124
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-261

From Susan Darwin   [24] November 1834

Summary

The Langtons will go to Madeira for the winter. E. A. Darwin and the Hensleigh Wedgwoods enjoyed a stay in Cambridge, where they saw Professors Whewell and Sedgwick. Colonel Leighton has died. The King has dismissed the Whig Ministry; Wellington is Premier, and the country is in a strange state.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [24] Nov 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 104
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-264

From Catherine Darwin   29 October 1834

Summary

Family and local news. Tom Eyton will marry. Tells of the great fire of the Houses of Parliament.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Oct 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-260

From Caroline Darwin   29 December [1834]

Summary

Has sent all of CD’s directions to William Clift.

Erasmus has been very ill, but is now quite safe and well again. Caroline and Susan are with him.

They have heard FitzRoy is promoted and the Beagle is coming home.

Author:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Dec [1834]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 82
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-265

From Catherine Darwin   27–30 January 1834

Summary

News of family and friends: W. D. Fox will marry in the spring; private theatricals at Eaton house-party.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27-30 Jan 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 91
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-236

From Caroline Darwin   9–28 March [1834]

Summary

They learn from a garbled report in the Times that CD’s specimens have arrived in Cambridge.

William Clift, at Royal College of Surgeons, delighted by CD’s letter about the bones that were sent to Plymouth.

Strange coincidence that Royal College of Surgeons has the front portion and CD has sent home the remainder of a skull, of which a drawing can now be completed.

Other news of family and friends.

Author:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 & 28 Mar [1834]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 80
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-239

From Caroline Darwin   30 September 1834

Summary

News of family and friends.

Word that William Clift thinks CD’s latest fossils are of much value.

Author:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Sept 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 81
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-257
Document type
letter (18)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1834
01 (2)
02 (1)
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (2)
06 (1)
07 (2)
08 (1)
09 (2)
10 (1)
11 (2)
12 (1)
letter