skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1834::07 in date [X]
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From J. S. Henslow   22 July 1834


CD’s cargo is safe; the fossils have been sent to William Clift.

JSH asks for dried plants (those sent were all of greatest interest).

Sends news of Cambridge and mutual friends.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 July 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-249

To Charles Whitley   23 July 1834


Would welcome hearing Cambridge news. Impossible not to regret friends and pleasures in England, but

has much solid enjoyment and never-failing interest in geology. Tells of his first sight of a savage.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Thomas Whitley
Date:  23 July 1834
Classmark:  National Library of Australia (MS 4260)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-250

To J. S. Henslow   24 July – 7 November 1834


CD is excited by JSH’s high opinion of his collections.

Discusses his notes and some new discoveries. Summary of events since leaving Falklands.

Geology of Patagonia.

Corallines at Tierra del Fuego convince him of artificiality of arrangement of their families by Lamarck and Cuvier.

Geological expedition in Andes, ending with serious illness. Specimens being sent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  24 July & 28 Oct & 7 Nov 1834
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 22 DAR/1/1/22)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-251

From H. S. Fox   25 July 1834


Thanks CD for letter of 5 April and specimens; did not know the Falklands and Patagonia were so interesting geologically.

Will answer CD’s queries about S. Brazil in another letter. Names Friedrich Sellow, A. Saint-Hilaire, and Andrew Mathews as naturalists who travelled there. Directs CD to Alexander Caldcleugh in Santiago.

Author:  Henry Stephen Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 July 1834
Classmark:  DAR 204: 123
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-252

To Catherine Darwin   20–9 July 1834


In the past six months he has done much geology and natural history. His geological pursuits are a source of high pleasure. Has lately determined to work chiefly on corals.

Spent three weeks going up the Santa Cruz with a party; they ran out of provisions 20 miles from the Cordilleras. Winter at present prevents his doing much natural history.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  20–9 July 1834
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-248