skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1879::02 in date [X]
70 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

To G. H. Darwin   [after 25 February 1879]

Summary

Frank [Darwin] has found a Trifolium remarkable for "bloom", but it was not in flower. If GHD knows where it grows, could he dig up the whole plant?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  [after 25 Feb 1879]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 76
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10342

To Francis Darwin   [4 February – 8 March 1879]

Summary

Requests some seeds.

Believes the leaves of Phyllanthus sleep like those of Cassia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [4 Feb – 8 Mar 1879]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 49
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11815

From C. F. Austin   February 1879

Summary

Encloses Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club, with account of a fungus that exhales chlorine;

relates his discovery in 1852 of a flowering plant that had "perfectly formed beetles" in the place of anthers.

Author:  Coe Finch Austin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 159: 130
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11853

From Karl Beger   [c. 12 February 1879]

Summary

Birthday wishes.

Author:  Friedrich Theodor Karl (Karl) Beger
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. 12 Feb 1879]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 121
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11854

From D. Appleton & Co.   1 February 1879

Summary

Statement of U.S. sales of CD’s works.

Author:  D. Appleton & Co
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 159: 104
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11855

From Henry Potonié    1 February 1879

Summary

Cites evolutionary passages by Alexander Braun in English edition of Braun’s Verjüngung [1853].

Author:  Henry Potonié
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 174: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11856

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   3 February 1879

Summary

Heliotropic movements. Is giving up experiments until the spring.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  3 Feb 1879
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 158–9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11857

To H. N. Moseley   4 February 1879

Summary

Comments on HNM’s book [Notes by a naturalist on the "Challenger" (1879)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Nottidge Moseley
Date:  4 Feb 1879
Classmark:  Christie’s, London (dealers) (online 31 October – 8 November 2018, lot 13)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11858

From Thomas Maston   5 February 1879

Summary

A stonemason who has read Origin and Descent and defends CD’s theory against theological prejudice, would like to read CD’s other books but is too poor to afford them.

Author:  Thomas Maston
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 171: 88
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11859

From H. N. Moseley   5 February 1879

Summary

Sends regards from Capt. Charles Owen, who had collected beetles for CD.

Owen’s son is going to Oregon with Wallis Nash.

Author:  Henry Nottidge Moseley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 171: 258
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11860

From Raphael Meldola   6 February 1879

Summary

Has arranged for publication of his translation of Weismann.

S. H. Scudder article on sexual dimorphism in butterflies [Proc. Am. Acad. Arts & Sci. 12 (1877): 150–8].

Author:  Raphael Meldola
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 171: 134
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11861

To Raphael Meldola   7 February 1879

Summary

Wishes to subscribe to RM’s translation of Weismann.

Has seen Scudder’s article.

A. R. Wallace’s article ["Animals and their native countries", Nineteenth Century 5 (1879): 247–59] is excellent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Raphael Meldola
Date:  7 Feb 1879
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1350: Hope/Westwood Archive, Darwin folder)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11862

From Leopold Würtenberger   7 February 1879

Summary

£100 has arrived and LW will set to work.

Author:  Leopold Würtenberger
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 181: 186
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11863

From George Henslow   8 February 1879

Summary

GH no longer believes in the value of cross-fertilisation in plants.

Author:  George Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 166: 175
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11864

To Edward Frankland   8 February 1879

Summary

Gives results of the experiments: the leaves in most cases make the water alkaline. It cannot be ammonia. He and his son, Francis, suspect potash, which is valued as a manure. Will be grateful for the analysis EF has offered.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Frankland
Date:  8 Feb 1879
Classmark:  The John Rylands Library, The University of Manchester (Frankland Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11864A

From Ernst Haeckel   9 February 1879

Summary

Sends birthday wishes.

Comments on progress of CD’s theory in Germany. Mentions opposition of Rudolf Virchow and his reply Freie Wissenschaft und freie Lehre [1878].

Describes research trip to Brittany and Normandy.

Research on Challenger Radiolaria.

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 166: 72
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11865

From Karl Alberts   9 February 1879

Summary

Birthday congratulations from the editors of Kosmos. They will mark the occasion with a special number of Kosmos.

Author:  Karl Alberts
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 99: 95
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11866

To Karl Alberts   [after 9 February 1879]

Summary

Thanks KA and the other editors of Kosmos for the issue published in honour of his birthday. Sees there is much in it that will interest him greatly.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Karl Alberts
Date:  [after 9 Feb 1879]
Classmark:  DAR 99: 95v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11867

From Ernst Krause   10 February 1879

Summary

Birthday greetings.

Author:  Ernst Ludwig (Ernst) Krause
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Feb 1879
Classmark:  DAR 92: B14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11868

To Anton de Bary   11 February 1879

Summary

Thanks ADeB for sending him Botanische Zeitung, but asks him to send it no more, as CD takes it regularly and has procured the volumes from the beginning.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Anton Heinrich (Anton) de Bary
Date:  11 Feb 1879
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR A 45)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11869
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next
letter