skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1877::04 in date [X]
31 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From W. E. Darwin   [24 April 1877?]

Summary

Sends notes made in June 1867, on Rhamnus catharticus and R. lanceolatus. Encloses diagrams and measurements relating to pollen size in R. lanceolatus.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [24 Apr 1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 109: A44, A71–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10343

From Edward Harris   April 1877

Summary

Wishes to bring CD his trained cockatoo.

Author:  Edward Harris
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 105
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10920

From Hermann Müller   2 April 1877

Summary

Is pleased that CD agrees with HM’s suggestions and criticisms of CD’s work. Will undertake experiments with Viola tricolor seeds to see if they produce both large- and small-flowered plants.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 111: A88
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10921

To Josef Kořenský   2 April 1877

Summary

"Charles Darwin Down, Kent April 2d. 1877; With Mr Darwin’s compliments. – "

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josef Kořenský
Date:  2 Apr 1877
Classmark:  Museum of Czech Literature/Památník národního písemnictví (fond Varia Literární archiv)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10922

From W. D. Fox   3 April [1877]

Summary

Reports on upward projection of Pulmonaria flowers.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Apr [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 110: B62
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10923

From W. E. Darwin   4 April 1877

Summary

Arrangements about a purchase of land.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Apr 1877
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 61)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10923F

From John Colby   9 April 1877

Summary

Notes on competition among tree species in South Wales.

Author:  John Colby
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 208
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10924

From Johannes Schön   10 April 1877

Summary

In the name of a student science club, asks whether CD’s theory of evolution applies to mental as well as physical characteristics of men and animals. Asks whether animals have free-will like humans. Do animals have a sense that humans lack?

Author:  Johannes Schön
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 62
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10925

From John Scott   12 April 1877

thumbnail

Summary

Comments on various species of Lagerstroemia.

In the series of opium poppy intercrosses made at CD’s suggestion, JS has learned that the reason they failed to intercross was the absence of insects at the period of their flowering.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 47: 207–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10928

From G. N. de Stoppelaar   14 April 1877

Summary

CD made a Foreign Member of the Zeeland Scientific Society at Middelburg.

Author:  Gerardus Nicolaas de Stoppelaar
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 230: 51
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10928A

From H. N. Ridley   15 April 1877

thumbnail

Summary

Sends specimens of Saxifraga tridactylites with insects caught by it. Asks if colour of leaves attracts insects.

Author:  Henry Nicholas Ridley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 86: B10–11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10930

To H. N. Ridley   16 April [1877]

Summary

Thanks for Saxifraga. CD had shown in Insectivorous plants [pp. 345–7] that this genus had some powers of absorption.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Nicholas Ridley
Date:  16 Apr [1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Letters to H. N. Ridley CLE–GUR, 1878–81: f. 43)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10931

To G. N. de Stoppelaar   17 April 1877

Summary

Thanks for membership of Zeeland Scientific Society at Middelburg.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gerardus Nicolaas de Stoppelaar
Date:  17 Apr 1877
Classmark:  Zeeuws Archief (Koninklijk Zeeuwsch Genootschap der Wetenschappen)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10931F

To G. H. Lewes   18 April 1877

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks GHL for a copy of his Physical basis of mind [1877].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henry Lewes
Date:  18 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 185: 45
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10932

From G. H. Darwin   19 April 1877

Summary

Has heard CD is about to be proposed again for the Académie Française, but Huxley is proposed at the same time and may succeed against CD "as being more orthodox!"

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10933

From Thomas Howie   20 April 1877

Summary

Offers key to CD’s theory: fern roots are like little grubs.

Claims to have crossed the Australian Alps where Dr Müller [Ferdinand von Mueller?] failed.

Author:  Thomas Howie
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 276
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10934

To J. D. Hooker   21 April [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

CD regrets not being able to see JDH.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  21 Apr [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 439
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10935

From Otto Zacharias   21 April 1877

Summary

Sends abnormal pig’s foot. Does abnormality occur often?

Author:  Otto Zacharias
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 184: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10936

To G. H. Darwin   [23 April 1877]

Summary

"Frank has sent the cards here."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  [23 Apr 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10937

To E. S. Morse   23 April 1877

Summary

Thanks for ESM’s address ["What American zoologists have done for evolution", Proc. Am. Assoc. Adv. Sci. 25 (1876)].

J. A. Allen’s work is important as apparently showing change through direct action of [external] conditions.

CD has given up trying to understand E. D. Cope and Alpheus Hyatt on acceleration and retardation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Sylvester Morse
Date:  23 Apr 1877
Classmark:  Peabody Essex Museum: Phillips Library (E. S. Morse Papers, E 2, Box 3, Folder 11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10938
Page: 1 2  Next
letter