skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
1875 in date disabled_by_default
Ogle, William in correspondent disabled_by_default
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To William Ogle   22 September 1875

Summary

Asks whether the twins WO reported to CD [see 5470] were named Macrae. F. Galton has told him of a similar case with twins so named who inherited crooked little fingers from the maternal side [see Variation, 2d ed., 2: 240]. [The twins referred to by WO were actually his sisters, see 10170.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  22 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 14 (EH 88205912)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10165

To William Ogle   25 September 1875

Summary

From Galton’s "twin study" he suspects that some progenitor of WO’s had the peculiarities in question.

Has collected cases of signs of assent for a revised edition of Expression.

Suggests bees visit same species because they know how far to insert proboscis and thus save time.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  25 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 15 (EH 88205913)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10171

From William Ogle   [23–4 September 1875]

thumbnail

Summary

Asks whether CD has observed that bees limit their visits to a single kind of flower on each journey from the hive, as Aristotle has said they do. What advantage would such a limitation be to the insects?

Author:  William Ogle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [23–4 Sept 1875]
Classmark:  DAR 46.2: C63–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10167
Document type
letter (3)
Addressee
Correspondent
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
Ogle, Williamdisabled_by_default
letter