skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1875::09 in date [X]
42 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   23 September [1875–6?]

Summary

Encloses a photograph and [?].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  23 Sept [1875-6]
Classmark:  Remember When Auctions (dealers) (26 February 1996)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10167F

To Samuel Newington   1 September [1875]

Summary

Cannot believe in possibility that the duck is a hybrid, but correlation accords with some other facts.

Requests specimens of berries and more information about the Madresfield Court vine.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Newington
Date:  1 Sept [1875]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10143

To W. D. Whitney   1 September 1875

Summary

Regrets he will not return home in time to see WDW.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Dwight Whitney
Date:  1 Sept 1875
Classmark:  Yale University Library: Manuscripts and Archives (William Dwight Whitney Family Papers (MS 555): Box 23, folder 619 1875 Sep. 1-11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10144

To Joseph Fayrer   1 September 1875

Summary

Thanks JF for his book.

At present has no observations he wishes made in India.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Fayrer, 1st baronet
Date:  1 Sept 1875
Classmark:  Smithsonian Libraries (Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology MSS 1629 A. Gift of the Burndy Library)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10145

From Samuel Newington   2 September 1875

Summary

Tells CD of his many experiments on interarching vines, potato tubers, exudation of carbon dioxide from roots,

and the synchrony of the pulse and the step while walking.

Would like to meet CD.

Author:  Samuel Newington
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 172: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10148

From A. J. Stuart   2 September 1875

Summary

Has observed a dun pony with black stripes.

Intends breeding native fowls and will happily furnish CD with any information he can.

Discusses the domestication of animals.

Author:  Andrew John Stuart, 6th Earl Castlestewart
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 177: 268
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10149

To George Rolleston   2 September [1875]

Summary

Thanks for GR’s "Address" [see 10141].

Wishes he had not quoted Bagehot’s remark [in Descent 1: 239] about decrease in savage populations. Interest in subject.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Rolleston
Date:  2 Sept [1875]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection (MS.6119/68)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10150

To F. J. Cohn   2 September 1875

thumbnail

Summary

Further discussion of the process of aggregation in response to [10137].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ferdinand Julius Cohn
Date:  2 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 185: 100
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10150A

From F. J. Morphy   6 September 1875

Summary

Reports a hybrid ram and sow, the cuino of Mexico, which is very common and fertile.

Author:  Ferdinand Jamison Morphy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 171: 243
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10152

From Lawson Tait   7 September [1875]

Summary

RLT speculates on the "moral nature" of parental protection shown by humans and traces it back to its first occurrence in the animal world.

Author:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Sept [1875]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10153

From Francis Darwin   [1 September 1875 or later]

Summary

Proofs have come. It will be jolly coming down to Southampton.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Sept 1875 or later]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10153F

To Lawson Tait   10 September [1875]

Summary

CD gives a few instances of various animals (starfish, earwigs, spiders) that take charge of their young.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Date:  10 Sept [1875]
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10154

From Federico Delpino   11 September 1875

Summary

Thanks for Thomas Belt’s Naturalist in Nicaragua [1874], which confirms some of his observations,

and for Insectivorous plants, which he praises.

Suggests that a book integrating knowledge of plant–animal interactions be written by a Darwinist.

Defines biology as the science of external interactions.

German reception is far more positive than Italian.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 162: 154
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10155

From Fritz Müller   12 September 1875

Summary

Has read CD’s book on Drosera [Insectivorous plants] and found that it presents new material and is very interesting.

Has discovered that the parasites he thought he had found in Melipona nests are in fact true females. It is remarkable that they differ so greatly from the sterile females and males of their species.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Sept 1875
Classmark:  Möller ed. 1915–21, 2: 318; Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (PrP 08-0011)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10155A

To G. H. Darwin   13 September [1875]

Summary

Sends comments and suggestions for Huth’s experiment on crossbreeding rabbits.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  13 Sept [1875]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10156

From M. C. Stanley   14 September 1875

Summary

Thanks CD for telling her "such exact truth". She saw Thomas Carlyle at Keston – the country air has done him good – "he is half sorry to have been so unsociable on his first arrival".

Author:  Mary Catherine Stanley, countess of Derby
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 162: 167
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10157

From J. W. Clark   16 September 1875

Summary

Examples of pupillary dilation.

Author:  Joseph Warner Clark
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 161: 155
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10158

To Samuel Newington   17 September 1875

Summary

Thanks SN for his explanation of vines.

Discusses SN’s observation on roots secreting carbonic acid.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Newington
Date:  17 Sept 1875
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.475)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10159

From Woodward Emery   17 September 1875

Summary

Informs CD of Chauncey Wright’s death.

Author:  Woodward Emery
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 163: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10160

From R. D. Fitzgerald   20 September 1875

Summary

On fertilisation in certain orchids.

Author:  Robert David Fitzgerald
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Sept 1875
Classmark:  DAR 164: 130
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10161
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter