skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1873::06 in date [X]
33 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To Francis Darwin   [before 26 June 1873]


Sends FD £5 for the loan of his microscope.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [before 26 June 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13794

From László Dapsy   1 June 1873


The Natural Philosophical Society [Academy of Sciences] will publish his translation of Origin in August, before Descent.

A distinguished member of the Hungarian Parliament attacked CD’s theory. LD answered, and a controversy ensued.

LD has noted many signs of public support for CD.

Author:  Laszlo Dapsy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 162: 41
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8931

To Anton Dohrn   2 June [1873]


Thanks AD for kind review of Expression. AD’s remarks on necessity of tracing development of functions are novel and valuable.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Felix Anton (Anton) Dohrn
Date:  2 June [1873]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (D.O. autogr. 12/50)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8933

To B. T. Lowne   3 June 1873


Comments on BTL’s book [The philosophy of evolution (1873)].

"You are a bold man to speak in favour of pangenesis."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Thompson Lowne
Date:  3 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 146: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8934

From George Cupples   4 June 1873


J. V. Carus’ lecture.

Edinburgh intellectual climate.

Ralph Waldo Emerson’s visit to Edinburgh.

J. H. Stirling did not write anonymous review of Expression in Edinburgh Review. Suggests T. Spencer Baynes of St Andrews. [? T. S. Baynes, "Darwin on expression", 137 (1873): 492–528.]

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 161: 299
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8935

To George Cupples   7 June [1873]


Thanks for report on J. V. Carus’ lecture.

Glad to hear suspicion about J. H. Stirling groundless.

CD has not seen R. W. Emerson. In last two or three years has seen several Yankees. Saw a good deal of the Nortons [Charles Eliot and Susan Ridley Sedgwick].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Cupples
Date:  7 June [1873]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.428)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8936

From Anton Dohrn   7 June 1873


News of Naples Zoological Station developments.

His remarks on physiology in the Academy were aimed at Prof. Ludwig and his school.

The usual "exact" methods in experimental physiology want only a little pushing to put an end to superstition.

Recounts how he had worked out the explanation of Rhizocephala morphology via the Anelasma – an example of both the power of inheritance and the power of genealogical investigation. R. Kossman’s work has now confirmed AD’s explanation.

Author:  Felix Anton (Anton) Dohrn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 162: 213
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8937

From A. A. L. P. Cochrane   7 June 1873


Invites CD on a voyage to the western coast of North and South America.

Author:  Arthur Auckland Leopold Pedro Cochrane
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 161: 191
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8938

To A. A. L. P. Cochrane   [after 7 June 1873]


Is obliged because of health to decline the invitation [see 8938] to make a voyage on the Admiral’s ship. "… I must rest contented with past memories …"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arthur Auckland Leopold Pedro Cochrane
Date:  [after 7 June 1873]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (20–1 July 1988)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8938A

From W. P. Ayres   8 June 1873


Has been discussing spontaneous generation with William Robinson of the Garden. Reports having found grubs that developed in an undamaged, hard-boiled egg. Has similarly treated eggs if CD wants to investigate.

Author:  William Port Ayres
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 159: 137
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8939

To László Dapsy   9 June 1873


Is glad to hear LD’s translation [of Origin (1873–4)] progresses well.

Offers to send a photograph of himself.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Laszlo Dapsy
Date:  9 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 96: 155
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8940

From Hermann Müller   10 June 1873



Reports on insects fertilising Viola tricolor and on the fertilisation of the two wild forms [see Cross and self-fertilisation, p. 124 n., 125].

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 77: 154–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8941

From Albert Günther   11 June 1873


Apologises for having given CD some unreliable information.

Author:  Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 165: 254
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8942

To Albert Günther   14 June [1873]


Thanks AG for information [unspecified]; so trifling an error will not alter his opinion that AG is "the most accurate of men".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Date:  14 June [1873]
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library (37)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8943

To C. H. Blackley   14 June [1873]


Thanks for sending Experimental researches. He will read it as soon as he finishes a book in hand. [See 8965.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Harrison Blackley
Date:  14 June [1873]
Classmark:  Arbor 441–2 (September–October 1982): 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8943A

From Charles Hinton   15 June 1873


Observations on expression.

Author:  Charles Hinton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 166: 222
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8944

From Federico Delpino   18 June 1873



Sends information on Lathyrus odoratus, Phaseolus multiflorus and Pisum sativum.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 77: 152–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8945

To E. W. Lane   23 June 1873


Thanks EWL for his book about hydropathy [Old medicine and new (1873)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Wickstead Lane
Date:  23 June 1873
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.429)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8946

From C. F. Martins   23 June 1873


CM and Henri Sicard have given what CM thinks is the first zoology course in France based on descent of species.

In Rome he was struck by ancient Greek statues of mythical figures which use the idea of environmental influence. Ascribes these ideas to both CD and Lamarck.

Author:  Charles Frédéric Martins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 June 1873
Classmark:  DAR 171: 61
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8947

To J. S. Burdon Sanderson   24 June 1873


Wishes JSBS to look over an abstract of his Drosera experiments and to answer some questions on it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott Burdon Sanderson, baronet
Date:  24 June 1873
Classmark:  University of British Columbia Library, Rare Books and Special Collections (Darwin - Burdon Sanderson letters RBSC-ARC-1731-1-10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8948
Page: 1 2  Next